This page has been translated from English

وينبغي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية محاكمة البابا؟

في الأسبوع الماضي ، قدم مركز الحقوق الدستورية (CCR) جنبا إلى جنب مع شبكة الناجين من تلك التي يتعاطاها الكهنة a شكوى يحث المحكمة الجنائية الدولية (ICC) للتحقيق في ادعائها أن ثلاثة من كبار مسؤولي الفاتيكان ارتكبوا جرائم ضد الانسانية في التستر على الاغتصاب والاعتداء الجنسي التي يرتكبها القساوسة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

The Vatican

الفاتيكان

هناك سابقة لمحاكمات جنائية من رجال الدين لارتكاب الفظائع الجماعية. محكمة رواندا أدين إيمانويل روكوندو ، وهو كاهن كاثوليكي ، بتهمة ارتكاب جرائم ضد الإنسانية وحكمت عليه بالسجن لمدة 25 عاما. القضاء البلجيكي ادين راهبتين ، الأخت جيرترود Mukangango والاخت ماريا Kisito لدورهم في ذبح المدنيين التوتسي في رواندا في 7000. المعتقلين اليهود في أوشفيتز وضع الله نفسه في المحاكمة التي احتلتها ببراعة في اللعب بجدارة الله المسماة على المحاكمة. ويمكن الاطلاع على إنتاج برنامج تلفزيوني للمسرحية على يوتيوب ، وحجة إغلاق عشر دقائق أمر لا بد منه انظر : http://www.youtube.com/watch؟v=eD5HslPrBKc .

على الرغم من سابقة ، ومحاكمة البابا هو قانوني وغير بداية لمجموعة من الأسباب. أولا ، في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية جريمة ضد الإنسانية يتطلب وجود هجوم واسع النطاق أو منهجي ضد السكان المدنيين. في حين أن تستر يبعث على الأسى ، فإنه لا يرقى إلى مستوى هجوم في سياق جريمة ضد الإنسانية. ثانيا ، نظام روما الأساسي والمحرض المسؤولية ، ولكن فقط عندما يتم إجراء التحريض لغرض تيسير ارتكاب الجريمة الرئيسية. هنا ، لم يكن التحريض على القيام به لغرض تيسير ارتكاب الاعتداء الجنسي ، ولكن لأسباب أخرى مثل إنقاذ سمعتها. الثالث ، والمحكمة الجنائية الدولية اختصاصها إلا عن الجرائم التي ارتكبت بعد تاريخ يوليو 2002. هذا يمنع الكثير من سلوك الكنيسة الكاثوليكية المخالف من اختصاص المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. الرابع ، والمحكمة الجنائية الدولية اختصاصها إلا عن الجرائم التي ارتكبت في أراضي الدول الموقعة أو التي يرتكبها مواطنون من البلدان الموقعة. لا الفاتيكان ولا الولايات المتحدة الموقعة بالنسبة للمبتدئين. الخامسة ، وملاحقة اثنين إجرائية "عموميات". يمكن أن ينخفض ​​إلى التحقيق في المسألة إذا رأت ذلك لا قدر كاف من الخطورة ، أو ليس في مصلحة العدالة. المحكمة الجنائية الدولية ، لا يزال في مراحله الأولى ، سوف تستفيد من واحد من هذه الخيارات بدلا من أن تتخذ على سمكة بهذا الحجم في هذه المرحلة المبكرة. السادسة ، ومجلس الأمن لديه الحق الإجرائي بوقف التحقيق في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لمدة سنة قابلة للتجديد.

حتى لو كانت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية يمكن أن يبرر قانونيا في التحقيق ، سيكون من الحماقة أن تأخذ على الكنيسة الكاثوليكية في هذه المرحلة وتنفق الكثير من المصداقية على مثل هذه الحالة الهامشية. هناك حالات أقوى بكثير ضد المنظمات الدينية / الحكومات ، مثل حركة الشباب في الصومال أو طالبان في أفغانستان والتي تتطلب اهتماما بهم.

آخر إلى تويتر

3 الردود على "هل المحكمة الجنائية الدولية محاكمة البابا؟"

  1. تيسا منديز يقول :

    أوافق على أن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لجمهورية يوغوسلافيا الاتحادية أكبر الأسماك في هذه النقطة. لكن الشكوى يثير تساؤلات حول مستقبل القانون الدولي. فإنه سيتم تطوير أي وقت مضى إلى النقطة التي من شأنها أن حتى هذا النوع من التفكير تكون الشكوى؟ شعوري الداخلي هو ، لا.

    هذا يبدو وكأنه هو القضية التي من الأفضل تركها للقانون الجنائي المحلي.

    يحبون أو يكرهون : Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. جون Gaudette يقول :

    البابا هو مواطن من الفاتيكان؟ وقال انه نبذ جنسيته الألمانية ليصبح الاسقف او البابا؟ توليت كانت الشكوى إيجاد اختصاص على أساس الجنسية.

    يحبون أو يكرهون : Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    • ديفيد Akerson يقول :

      نقطة جيدة جون. أنت على حق ، فإن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لها اختصاص على جنسيته الألمانية إذا لم يكن قد تخلت.

      يحبون أو يكرهون : Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

ال trackbacks / pingbacks


    ترك رد

    زيارة مركز الأنباء DJILP

    @ View_From_Above

    المشاركات التي كتبها التاريخ

    أكتوبر 2011
    M T W T F S S
    «سبتمبر
    1 2
    3 4 5 6 7 8 9
    10 11 12 13 14 15 16
    17 18 19 20 21 22 23
    24 25 26 27 28 29 30
    31
    جامعة دنفر شتورم كلية القانون

Categorized | David Akerson, TVFA Posts

Should the ICC prosecute the Pope?

Last week, the Center for Constitutional Rights (CCR) along with the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests filed a complaint urging the International Criminal Court (ICC) to investigate their allegation that the three top Vatican officials committed crimes against humanity in covering up rape and sexual assault committed by priests around the world.

The Vatican

The Vatican

There is precedent for criminal trials of clergy for the commission of mass atrocities.   The Rwanda Tribunal convicted Emmanuel Rukundo, a Catholic Priest, for committing crimes against humanity and sentenced him to 25 years.  A Belgian court convicted two nuns, Sister Gertrude Mukangango and Sister Maria Kisito for their role in the slaughter of 7000 Tutsi civilians in Rwanda.  Interned Jews at Auschwitz put God himself on trial, captured brilliantly in the aptly-named play God on Trial.  A PBS production of the play can be found on Youtube, and the ten minute closing argument is a must see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eD5HslPrBKc.

Despite the precedent, prosecuting the Pope is a legal non-starter for a host of reasons.  First, at the ICC a crime against humanity requires that there is a widespread or systematic attack against a civilian population.   While a cover-up is deplorable, it does not rise to the level of an attack in the crime against humanity context.  Second, the Rome Statute has abettor liability, but only when the abetting conduct is done for the purpose of facilitating the commission of the principal crime.  Here, the abetting was not done with the purpose of facilitating the commission of sexual abuse, but for other reasons such as salvaging its reputation.  Third, the ICC only has jurisdiction for crimes committed after July 2002.  This precludes much of the Catholic church’s offending behavior from the ICC’s jurisdiction.  Fourth, the ICC only has jurisdiction for crimes committed in the territory of signatory countries or perpetrated by nationals from signatory countries.  Neither the Vatican nor the United States are signatories for starters.  Fifth, the prosecution has two procedural “outs”.  They can decline to investigate a matter if they deem it not of sufficient gravity or not in the interests of justice.  The ICC, still in its infancy, would avail itself of one of these options rather than take on such a big fish at this early stage.  Sixth, the Security Council has the procedural right to suspend an investigation at the ICC for one year which can be renewed.

Even if the ICC could justify legally an investigation, it would be foolish to take on the Catholic Church at this stage and expend so much credibility on such a marginal case.  There are much stronger cases against religious organizations/governments, such as al Shabaab in Somalia or the Taliban in Afghanistan that demand their attention.

 

 

3 Responses to “Should the ICC prosecute the Pope?”

  1. Tessa Mendez says:

    I agree that the ICC has bigger fish to fry at this point. But the complaint raises questions about the future of international law. Will it ever develop to the point that this type of complaint would even be contemplated? My gut feeling is, no.

    This seems like an issue that is best left to domestic criminal law.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. John Gaudette says:

    Is the Pope a citizen of the Vatican? Did he renounce his German citizenship to become a bishop or Pope? I assumed the complaint was finding jurisdiction based on the nationality.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors