This page has been translated from English

听取自由贸易三部曲唤醒的教训

奥巴马总统目前正在加紧与哥伦比亚,巴拿马和韩国关于提议的自由贸易协定(FTA),从布什政府继承的会谈。 总统希望向国会提交今年年底,所有三项协议。 令人担忧的是,类似的规定给予前体的协议,如北美自由贸易区和东盟自由贸易区,撰写的大量投资者权利,包括在每个准协定,从而威胁到国际社会的公共利益。

在过去15年来,已有世界各地的双边和多边自由贸易协定的爆炸。 贸易协定的支持者认为,这些协定是增加对外投资的有价值的工具,促进公平竞争,并鼓励透明的法规。 但是,为了鼓励外国跨国公司在签字国的投资,自由贸易协定纳入投资者保护规定,藐视公众利益的政策,绕过国内法规。 包括在自由贸易协定,特别是损害公众利益的具体规定包括:(1)规定,“征用和补偿”为投资者提供当投资者认为,主办国违反其职责下的自由贸易协定;和(2)项的规定包含宽松的规定,投资者希望把对签约国的仲裁请求有关国籍要​​求。

President Barack Obama

总统奥巴马

PAC环开曼公司诉共和国,萨尔瓦多 ,这是目前中美洲自由贸易协定仲裁小组前等候 ,由国家出资的执行方面所带来的风险的一个很好的例证是显而易见的。 加拿大矿业公司,太平洋沿岸地区,寻求建立“埃尔多拉多”,在萨尔瓦多的最大的分水岭,里约热内卢Lempa,流动不仅是通过萨尔瓦多,而是通过危地马拉和洪都拉斯的邻国也金矿。 太平洋沿岸地区的计划, 使用水和氰化物的骇人听闻的挖掘,它计划从矿石中提取黄金。

在拉丁美洲人口最稠密的国家,超过96%在萨尔瓦多的地表水被污染,150万人,人口的四分之一,缺乏获得清洁的水。 金加工到里约热内卢Lempa化学品泄漏的威胁会影响成千上万的里约Lempa依靠清洁用水和农业,以满足其基本需要。 坚定对环太平洋地区的建议金矿开采的当地激进提示萨尔瓦多政府进行调查,并最终拒绝发出开采许可证,允许建立“埃尔多拉多”。

2008年,萨尔瓦多总统埃利亚斯安东尼奥萨卡宣布,萨尔瓦多将不给予任何采矿许可证,直至政府现代化目前的采矿法,除了认真分析,提出矿山环境影响。 同年,太平洋沿岸地区停止勘探钻井,加拿大矿业公司改变其行动方针。 认识到萨尔瓦多成为到中美洲自由贸易协定的签署国,太平洋沿岸地区选择reinc​​orporate PAC环开曼有限责任公司,其附属公司,内华达州。 现在在美国注册成立的附属公司,环太平洋论坛店抓住机遇,从而使该公司文件对萨尔瓦多 - 东盟自由贸易区的投资者与国家执法规定的诉讼。 具体来说,PAC RIM声称,否认采矿许可证,萨尔瓦多征用任何未来收益和数百数以百万计,因此要求在未来的收益可能造成的损失的补偿。

因此,一个合法的恐惧包围的概念,如果投资者索赔成功,如经Pac环提起萨尔瓦多,具有较强的投资者与国家执行方面的自由贸易协定的签署国政府将避免实施新的法律,由于担心在促进公众利益百万外国公司通过仲裁提出的索赔要求下的自由贸易协定。 的风险,因此,是长期的不利影响时,有投资者权益纳入自由贸易协定,以防止国内政策的变化,旨在保护生态环境或进一步的公共卫生和人权倡议。 随着黄金价格的飞涨,许多外国矿业投资者申请征用许可证仅在萨尔瓦多。 无论仲裁委员会的决定,在太平洋沿岸地区的开曼群岛 ,萨尔瓦多,西半球最贫穷的国家之一, 将被迫支付数百万投资者坚持保护土著人权利,公共健康和环境的政策,来抵御本身。

国会不能忽视的负面影响,投资者与国家执法方面曾经在国际法庭适用。 美国 - 韩国自由贸易区创建一个额外的组成部分,是有关这种话语。 不同于美国与发展中国家的协定,如美国,韩国,是一个主要的资本输出国。 韩国有85个跨国公司在美国经营业务的机构超过250个。 洛瑞瓦拉赫,公共公民的全球贸易观察主任,说的建议韩美自由贸易协定下,“ 经营[在美国]韩国企业将获得新的权利,以裙子[美国]法院系统和法律,并使用外国法庭要求纳税人赔偿的法律,他们不喜欢的,就像精灵环,是萨尔瓦多。“

美国必须通过仲裁和目前正在等待的情况,说明在自由贸易协定增加了投资者权利的危险,前批准未来更大的公共利益的贸易协定,藐视暴露了经验教训。 国会必须实现国有投资者执行方面的变化,国际习惯法的最低标准,以确保自由贸易协定的表现。

投递到Twitter

留下!

访问DJILP新闻

@ View_From_Above

职位日期

2011年10月
中号 T W T F 小号 小号
«九月
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
丹佛大学斯特姆学院法学

Lessons to Heed in the Wake of the Free Trade Trilogy

President Barack Obama is currently intensifying talks with Colombia, Panama and South Korea regarding proposed free trade agreements (FTA) inherited from the Bush Administration. The President hopes to submit all three agreements to Congress by the end of the year.  Worrisome is that similar provisions granting substantial investor rights as those written in precursor agreements, such as NAFTA and CAFTA, are included within each of the prospective pacts, which threaten the public good of the international community.

Within the last 15 years, there has been an explosion of bilateral and multilateral FTAs around the world.  Proponents of trade agreements argue that such pacts are valuable tools for increasing foreign investment, promoting fair competition and encouraging transparent regulations.  However, in order to encourage investments by foreign multinational corporations in signatory nations, FTAs incorporate investor protection provisions that defy public interest policy by bypassing domestic regulations.  Specific provisions included in FTAs that are particularly damaging to the public interest include: (1) provisions that provide for “expropriation and compensation” to investors when the investor feels that the host nation has breached its duties under the FTA; and (2) provisions that contain relaxed regulations regarding nationality requirements for investors wishing to bring arbitration claims against signatory nations.

President Barack Obama

President Barack Obama

A good illustration of the risks posed by state-investor enforcement terms is apparent in Pac Rim Cayman LLC v. Republic of El Salvador, which is currently pending before a CAFTA arbitration panel.  The Canadian mining company, Pacific Rim, sought to establish “El Dorado”, a gold mine in El Salvador’s largest watershed, the Rio Lempa, which flows not only through El Salvador but also through the neighboring countries of Guatemala and Honduras.  Pacific Rim planned to use appalling amounts of water and cyanide to extract gold from the ore it plans to excavate.

Within the most densely populated country in Latin America, over 96% of the surface water in El Salvador is contaminated and 1.5 million people, a quarter of the population, lack access to clean water.  The threat of gold processing chemicals leaking into the Rio Lempa would affect thousands that rely on the Rio Lempa for clean water and farming to meet their basic needs.  Staunch local activism against the exploitation of Pacific Rim’s proposed gold mine prompted the Salvadoran Government to investigate and eventually refuse to issue an exploitation permit that would allow the establishment of “El Dorado”.

In 2008, the Salvadoran President, Elias Antonio Saca, announced that El Salvador would not grant any exploitation permits until the government modernized current mining laws, in addition to critically analyzing the environmental impact of proposed mines.  That same year, Pacific Rim ceased exploratory drilling, and the Canadian-based mining company changed its course of action.  Aware that El Salvador became a signatory nation to CAFTA, Pacific Rim chose to reincorporate one of its subsidiaries, Pac Rim Cayman LLC, to Nevada.  With a subsidiary now incorporated within the United States, Pacific Rim seized the opportunity to forum shop, thus permitting the corporation to file suit against El Salvador under CAFTA’s investor-state enforcement provisions.  Specifically, Pac Rim is claiming that by denying the mining permit, El Salvador expropriated any future earnings and therefore demanded hundreds of millions in compensation for possible losses in future earnings.

Thus, a legitimate fear surrounds the notion that if investor claims succeed, such as those brought by Pac Rim against El Salvador, signatory governments of FTAs with strong investor-state enforcement terms will avoid implementing new laws that promote the public interest in fear of owing millions to foreign corporations through arbitration claims brought under the FTA.  The risk, therefore, is the long term, detrimental impact that investor rights have when incorporated into FTAs, preventing domestic policy change that aim to protect the ecosystem or further public health and human rights initiatives. With the price of gold now soaring, numerous foreign mining investors have filed for expropriation permits in El Salvador alone.  Irrespective of the arbitration panel’s decision in Pacific Rim Cayman, El Salvador, one of the hemisphere’s poorest nations, will be forced to pay millions to defend itself against investor to uphold policy that protects indigenous rights, public health and the environment.

Congress cannot simply ignore the negative impact investor-state enforcement terms have once applied in international tribunals.  The United States – Korea FTA creates an additional component that is relevant to this discourse.  Unlike U.S. pacts with developing nations, South Korea, like the U.S., is a major capital exporter.  South Korea has 85 multinational companies with over 250 establishments operating in the United States.  Lori Wallach, director of Public Citizen’s Global Trade Watch, stated that under the proposed U.S.-Korea FTA, “Korean firms operating [in the U.S.] would get new rights to skirt [the U.S.] court system and laws and use foreign tribunals to demand taxpayer compensation for laws that they do not like, just like Pac Rim is doing to El Salvador.”

The United States must take note of the lessons exposed through previously arbitrated and currently pending cases that elucidate the danger of increased investor-rights in FTAs before it ratifies future trade agreements that defy the greater public good.  Congress must implement changes to state-investor enforcement terms to ensure that FTAs comport with the minimum standards of international customary law.

Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

October 2015
« Sep