This page has been translated from English

ليبيا و "مسؤولية الحماية"

انتشار الانتفاضات الأخيرة التي أطاحت زين العابدين بن علي في تونس ومبارك في مصر بسرعة في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. تفوقت ليبيا أنها كذلك. ملأت المحتجين والمتظاهرين مستوحاة من الثورات في تونس ومصر ، في شوارع المدن الليبية عدة. ودعا القذافي معارضي نظامه القمعي الوحشي "الصراصير" و "الفئران" الذي لا يستحق أن يعيش ، وقواته متعطش للدماء ، بما في ذلك المرتزقة ، نفذت بشكل عشوائي أي المتمردين المشتبه بهم. استدعاء مجلس الامن الدولي للمرة الأولى على الإطلاق "مسؤولية الحماية" (R2P) ، وهو المعيار الناشئة الجديدة للقانون الدولي.

اعتمد مجلس الامن الدولي يدين اعمال العنف واستخدام القوة من قبل الحكومة الليبية ضد المدنيين والترحيب ادانة مماثلة في وقت مبكر من قبل الجامعة العربية والاتحاد الأفريقي والأمين العام لمنظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي ، قرارا في 26 شباط ، عام 2011 ، تطالب بوضع حد فوري لأعمال العنف ، ويحث السلطات الليبية للعمل "بأقصى درجات ضبط النفس ، واحترام حقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي". كما قرر إحالة الوضع إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية ، والعقوبات المفروضة على ليبيا ، بما في ذلك فرض حظر على الأسلحة ، وفرض حظر على السفر ضد 16 يدعى مسؤولون في الحكومة الليبية ، بما في ذلك القذافي وأبناءه وابنته ، وتجميد أصول عائلة القذافي.

Libyans celebrate their freedom

الليبيون يحتفلون بحريتهم

كما ساءت الحالة الليبية والقذافي استمر القمع الوحشي في تحد لقرار مجلس الأمن ، اتخذ المجلس القرار 1973 في 17 مارس ، 2011 ، يخول الدول الأعضاء "اتخاذ جميع التدابير اللازمة. . . لحماية المدنيين والمناطق المأهولة بالسكان المدنيين تحت تهديد هجوم ". كما أنشأت منطقة حظر الطيران ، ومواصلة تعزيز العقوبات التي فرضت في وقت سابق من هذا القرار. في وقت لاحق ، في 27 حزيران ، أصدرت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية مذكرات اعتقال بحق القذافي ، أحد أبنائه ، ورئيس المخابرات في ليبيا ، بتهمة ارتكاب جرائم ضد الإنسانية (القتل والاضطهاد) التي ترتكب من خلال أجهزة الدولة وقوات الأمن. منذ ليبيا ليست طرفا في نظام روما الأساسي الذي أنشأ المحكمة ، لأنه يخضع لاختصاص المحكمة الجنائية الدولية من خلال قرار مجلس الامن الدولي.

وفقا للدعوة في عام 1973 الدول الأعضاء قرار يجيز "اتخاذ جميع التدابير اللازمة. . . لحماية المدنيين "، سرعان ما بدأت منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي حملتها الجوية ضد قوات القذافي. كان السياق هجوم وشيك على قوات بنغازي القذافي ومجزرة يخشى الناتجة عن ذلك.

بعد ستة أشهر من المساعدة لحلف الناتو للمتمردين ، ان الادارة الجديدة المدعومة من حلف شمال الاطلسي ومعترف بها دوليا ، وقد تم تأسيسها في ليبيا المجلس الوطني الانتقالي (NTC) ، في طرابلس. وقد اعترفت الولايات المتحدة وأكثر من 80 بلدا في NTC باعتبارها الحكومة الشرعية في ليبيا ، التي حلت محل نظام القذافي أيضا القديمة في الأمم المتحدة. وقد تلقت الحكومة المؤقتة ليبيا جزء من الأصول الليبية المجمدة وأنه يتلقى المساعدات السياسية والتقنية والاقتصادية تجاه المهمة الصعبة المتمثلة في اعادة اعمار البلاد بعد 42 سنوات من سوء المعاملة في ظل نظام القذافي.

"مسؤولية الحماية" ، والمعيار الجديد الاحتجاج ضد ليبيا ، هو تطور واعدة. وينبغي التذكير بأن المجتمع الدولي كان المراقب الصامت تشهد حقول القتل في كمبوديا. والإبادة الجماعية في رواندا ، ودفعت مجزرة سريبرينيتسا وغيرها من الفظائع الجماعية ثم الأمين العام للامم المتحدة كوفي عنان لوضع تدابير فعالة "لاتخاذ إجراءات سريعة وحاسمة" لمنع أعمال الإبادة الجماعية وجبل استجابة مناسبة.

اللجنة الدولية ومقرها كندا المعنية بالتدخل وسيادة الدول في تقرير "مسؤولية الحماية" ، وكان أساس المناقشات اللاحقة في الامم المتحدة. في نهاية المطاف ، في أيلول 2005 ، ومؤتمر القمة العالمي للأمم المتحدة لرؤساء الدول والحكومات التي اعتمدت في مؤتمر القمة العالمي في الوثيقة الختامية للعناصر الأساسية للR2P. العنصر الأساسي لهذا المفهوم هو أن الدولة تتحمل مسؤولية حماية سكانها من الإبادة الجماعية وجرائم الحرب والتطهير العرقي والجرائم ضد الإنسانية ، فضلا عن تحريضهم. وأضاف أن زعماء العالم عندما الوسائل السلمية غير كافية والسلطات الوطنية هي "البين" لحماية سكانها من هذه الجرائم ، وانهم مستعدون للعمل بشكل جماعي ، "في الوقت المناسب وبطريقة حاسمة" ، من خلال مجلس الأمن ، وفقا ميثاق الأمم المتحدة وعلى أساس كل حالة على حدة.

بعد عام 2005 ، أحال مجلس الأمن لمفهوم R2P في اثنين من القرارات السابقة للعمل في ليبيا. وقد حددت بان كي مون ، الأمين العام الحالي ، والركائز الثلاث للR2P : 1) مسؤولية الدولة في حماية مواطنيها من هذه الجرائم ؛ 2) المساعدة الدولية وبناء القدرات في الدول بحيث يمكن توفير تلك الحماية ، و 3) الاستجابة في الوقت المناسب والحاسم عندما تكون الدولة "البين" لحماية سكانها. كانت الجمعية العامة تناقش مفهوم بغية استكشاف الوسائل الفعالة لوضعها موضع التنفيذ.

لقد حان عمل حلف الناتو في ليبيا تحت التمحيص والنقد. ولايتها لحماية السكان المدنيين في ليبيا ، ويؤكد النقاد ، قد امتدت الى تغيير النظام. لماذا تم استدعاء R2P لدعم عمل عسكري في ليبيا وليس في سوريا ، يسألون. وسوف اقول ما اذا كان الوقت الناتو تجاوز ولايته في ليبيا قد أضرت المفهوم. في أي حال ، لا يزال يتعين القيام أكثر من ذلك بكثير لضمان تفعيل هذا المفهوم من خلال وضع معايير لتحديد ما إذا كان العمل العسكري هو الخيار المناسب. R2P هو التقدم في العمل ، ولكن لا يمكن إنكار أن هذا المفهوم هو خطوة عملاقة إلى الأمام.

آخر إلى تويتر

ترك الرد

زيارة مركز الأنباء DJILP

@ View_From_Above

المشاركات حسب التاريخ

أكتوبر 2011
M T W T F S S
«سبتمبر
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
جامعة دنفر شتورم كلية القانون

Categorized | 1TVFA Posts, Ved Nanda

Libya and the “Responsibility to Protect”

The recent uprisings which toppled Ben Ali in Tunisia and Mubarak in Egypt spread fast throughout the Middle East and North Africa.  They overtook Libya, as well.  Inspired by the revolutions in Tunisia and Egypt, protesters and demonstrators filled the streets in several Libyan cities.  Qaddafi called those opposing his brutally repressive regime, “cockroaches” and “rats” who did not deserve to live, and his bloodthirsty forces, including mercenaries, indiscriminately executed any suspected rebel.  The UN Security Council invoked for the first time ever the “Responsibility to Protect” (R2P), an emerging new norm of international law.

Condemning the violence and use of force by the Libyan government against civilians and welcoming the similar early condemnation by the Arab League, the African Union and the Secretary-General of the Organization of Islamic Conference, the UN Security Council adopted a resolution on February 26, 2011, demanding an immediate end to the violence, and urging the Libyan authorities to act “with the utmost restraint, respect human rights and international humanitarian law.”  It also decided to refer the situation to the International Criminal Court and imposed sanctions on Libya, including an arms embargo, a travel ban against 16 named Libyan government officials, including Qaddafi, his sons and daughter, and freezing the Qaddafi family assets.

Libyans celebrate their freedom

Libyans celebrate their freedom

As the Libyan situation worsened and Qaddafi continued his brutal oppression in defiance of the Security Council’s resolution, the Council adopted Resolution 1973 on March 17, 2011, authorizing member states “to take all necessary measures . . .  to protect civilians and civilian populated areas under threat of attack.”  It also established a no-fly zone and further strengthened the sanctions imposed in the earlier resolution.  Subsequently, on June 27, the International Criminal Court issued warrants of arrest for Qaddafi, one of his sons, and Libya’s intelligence chief, on charges of crimes against humanity (murder and persecution) committed through the state apparatus and security forces.  Since Libya is not a party to the Rome Statute that created the Court, it is subject to the ICC’s jurisdiction through the UN Security Council resolution.

Pursuant to the call in Resolution 1973 authorizing Member States “to take all necessary measures . . . to protect civilians,” NATO soon began its air campaign against Qaddafi’s forces.  The context was the imminent attack on Benghazi by Qaddafi’s forces and the feared resulting massacre.

After six months of NATO’s assistance to the rebels, the new NATO-backed and internationally recognized administration, the Libyan National Transitional Council (NTC), was established in Tripoli.  The United States and more than 80 countries have recognized the NTC as the legitimate government of Libya, which has also replaced the old Qaddafi regime at the UN.  The interim Libyan government has received part of Libya’s frozen assets and it is receiving political, technical and economic assistance toward the challenging task of rebuilding the country after 42 years of abuse under the Qaddafi regime.

The “responsibility to protect,” the new norm invoked against Libya, is a promising development.  It should be recalled that the international community was a silent observer witnessing the killing fields of Cambodia.  And the genocide in Rwanda, the Srebrenica massacre and other mass atrocities prompted then-Secretary-General Kofi Annan to seek effective measures for “swift and decisive action” to prevent genocidal actions and to mount an appropriate response.

The Canada-based International Commission on Intervention and State Sovereignty’s report, “Responsibility to Protect,” was the basis of subsequent discussions in the UN.  Eventually, in September 2005, the UN World Summit of Heads of State and Government adopted in its World Summit Outcome Document the core elements of R2P.  The basic element of the concept is that the state has the responsibility to protect its population from genocide, war crimes, ethnic cleansing, and crimes against humanity, as well as their incitement.  The world leaders added that when peaceful means are inadequate and national authorities are “manifestly failing” to protect their populations from these crimes, they are prepared to act collectively, “in a timely and decisive manner,” through the Security Council, in accordance with the Charter and on a case-by-case basis.

After 2005, the Security Council referred to the R2P concept in two resolutions prior to its action in Libya.  Ban Ki Moon, the current Secretary General, has outlined the three pillars of R2P: 1) the responsibility of the state to protect its population from these crimes; 2) international assistance and capacity building in states so that they can provide that protection; and 3) timely and decisive response when a state is “manifestly failing” to protect its population.  The General Assembly has been discussing the concept in order to explore effective means to operationalize it.

NATO’s action in Libya has come under scrutiny and criticism.  Its mandate to protect the civilian population in Libya has, critics assert, been stretched to changing the regime.  Why has R2P been invoked to support military action in Libya and not in Syria, they ask.  Time will tell whether NATO by overstepping its mandate in Libya may have damaged the concept.  In any event, much more needs to be done to ensure that the concept is operationalized by setting standards to determine when military action is appropriate.  R2P is a work in progress, but it is undeniable that the concept is a monumental step forward.

Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Resources