This page has been translated from English

Kategorisiert | CDR Associates , TVFA Beiträge

Bahrain National Consensus Dialogue

Helen Clark meets King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa (courtesy of UNDP)

Helen Clark trifft König Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa (mit freundlicher Genehmigung von UNDP)

Wie viele andere Länder im Nahen Osten, ist Bahrain unterziehen Spannungen und Veränderungen in den "arabischen Frühling" Aufständen manifestiert. Bahrain Monarchie und Bürger engagiert arbeiten, um die zukünftige Gestalt der Regierung des Landes durch einen Dialog zu akzeptablen Formen der Regierung, die Beteiligung der Bürger und Möglichkeiten, um die Position des Landes als wirtschaftliche Drehscheibe in der Region nachhaltig zentriert zu bestimmen. Während einige Engagement findet auf den Straßen, internationale Bewertungen der staatlichen Maßnahmen in Bezug auf die Menschenrechte während der Demonstrationen auch eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

Im Juni, als Teil der nationalen Reaktion auf öffentliche Proteste berief einen nationalen Konsens Dialog mit Vertretern der Fraktionen, der Zivilgesellschaft, der Wirtschaft, und Expats in die Diskussion und Empfehlungen an die Monarchie für die vorgeschlagenen Änderungen in dem Land, in dem engagieren Bereichen Politik, Recht, Wirtschaft und soziale Dienste. Auf Ersuchen der Regierung, sicherte sich die Bahrain Chamber of Dispute Resolution (BCDR) die Dienste von CDR Associates Partners, Christopher Moore und Susan Wildau, um den Dialog-Prozess zu beraten und leiten ein Fünf-Tages-Seminar über die Erleichterung der Multiparty Dialoggruppen. Das Trainingsprogramm vorbereitet 17 Bahraini Staatsangehörigen eine 300 Person Dialog-Gruppe und mehrere 70-Person Arbeitsgruppen zu erleichtern. Der Dialog hat ihren Bericht an Seine Majestät König Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa am Ende des Juli. Im Oktober begann die Monarchie ihre Reaktionen auf die Empfehlungen.

Während die Ergebnisse des Dialogs noch nicht in die Änderungen von einigen führenden politischen Vereinigungen und Gruppen der Zivilgesellschaft aufgefordert geführt, und es wurden Fragen über die Einbeziehung und Beteiligung am Prozess wurde, hat er einen politischen Raum für eine Reihe von Governance eröffnet wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Fragen zu erheben und angegangen werden und einen Vorschlag für eine Änderung der Regierung vorgelegt werden. Es liegt nun an der Regierung zu reagieren.

Für weitere Informationen über CDR Arbeit mit dem Bahrain National Dialogue, wenden Sie sich Christopher Moore oder Susan Wildau bei 1-800-MEDIATE oder cmoore@mediate.org .

Post to Twitter

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Besuchen Sie die DJILP Newsroom

@ View_From_Above

Beiträge nach Datum

November 2011
M T W T F S S
«Oktober
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Die University of Denver Sturm College of Law

Categorized | CDR Associates, TVFA Posts

Bahrain National Consensus Dialogue

Helen Clark meets King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa (courtesy of UNDP)

Helen Clark meets King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa (courtesy of UNDP)

Like many countries in the Middle East, Bahrain is undergoing tensions and changes manifested in the “Arab Spring” uprisings.  Bahrain’s monarchy and citizens are engaged working to to determine the future shape of the country’s government through a dialogue centered on acceptable forms of government, citizen participation, and ways to sustain the country’s position as an economic hub in the region.  While some engagement is taking place on the streets, international reviews of the government’s actions regarding human rights during demonstrations also play an important role.

In June, as part of the national response to public protests, convened a National Consensus Dialogue to engage representatives from political groups, civil society, the economic sector, and expats in discussing and making recommendations to the monarchy for proposed changes in the country in the areas of politics, rights, economy, and social services. At the request of the government, the Bahrain Chamber of Dispute Resolution (BCDR) secured the services of CDR Associates Partners, Christopher Moore and Susan Wildau, to consult on the dialogue process and conduct a five-day seminar on Facilitation of Multiparty Dialogue Groups.  The training program prepared 17 Bahraini nationals to facilitate a 300 person dialogue group and multiple 70-person working groups.  The Dialogue presented its report to His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa at the end of July.  In October, the monarchy began its responses to the recommendations.

While the results of the dialogue have not yet resulted in the changes requested by some leading political associations and civil society groups, and there have been questions about the inclusiveness and participation in the process, it has opened a political space for a range of governance, economic and social issues to be raised and addressed and proposal for change to be presented to the government.  It is now up to the government to respond.

For more information on CDR’s work with the Bahrain National Dialogue, contact Christopher Moore or Susan Wildau at 1-800-MEDIATE or cmoore@mediate.org.

 

One Response to “Bahrain National Consensus Dialogue”

  1. Mike says:

    This is all well and good, but as you point out it is up to the monarch to respond to the proposed reforms. As evidenced by the may and june crackdown on protests in the tiny country, it seems far fetched to believe the government is ready to reform. The government continues to try and convict activists in secret as well as medical personnel who have helped the protests. Why have faith that they will buck their authoritarian trend all of a sudden?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors