This page has been translated from English

美國將在起訴海盜方面發揮的角色“牽引銷?”

索馬里有沒有生產盜版的麻煩。 1中央政府控制摩加迪沙首都城市,經濟機會完全缺乏年輕男子和13025英里獲得世界上最繁忙的運輸走廊長的海岸線,在海上捕獲的每個索馬里海盜以後少之間,那裡有許多更多的等待接替他的位置。 因此,最有前途的手段來制止這一全球性的威脅之一是起訴和拘留海盜行動小組的金融家 - 那些船受惠最無法無天,在印度洋,但實際上從未設置腳。

穆罕默德Saaili士彬(美聯社圖片)

弗吉尼亞州東區和第四巡迴上訴法院在聽到兩個獨立的情況下,一起服用,可能會決定美國是否將有任何起訴這些所謂的“頭目的作用過程“盜版。

一案, 美國訴世斌 ,剛開始審判階段,是美國第一次嘗試起訴盜版高的水平調解人。 案件涉及穆罕默德Saaili士彬在M / V略談瑪格麗特和S / V任務的劫機事件中的作用。 在兩起襲擊事件,士彬的角色是翻譯和人質談判代表。 洪仕斌他在M / V略談瑪格麗特攻擊的角色支付30,000元之間及50,000元,但沒有在支付他的作用在S / V任務,所有人質被殺害前可以談判贖金。 洪仕斌供認了他的角色在兩個美國當局的劫機事件。

問題是, 除其他外 ,是否可以收取士彬與盜版下18 USC§1651,水滸傳“盜版所界定的國家的法律”和進行強制性終身監禁。

因為法官羅伯特·Doumar否認被告的動議,以壓制他的供詞,將很難世斌先生爭辯說,他沒有參加在指稱方式的劫持。 相反,他的案件將上升和下降第四巡迴的方式解決的法律問題,是否“由國家法律所界定的盜版”是一個不斷發展的一個靜態的概念的分裂。

在一個在弗吉尼亞州東區兩例分裂本質上是相同的事實的情況下,這個法律問題,涉及到第四巡迴。 在這兩個美國訴說美國訴哈桑 ,被告載掠奪商船後,他們認為是這樣的船隻開火。 在這兩種情況下,海盜常會後,一位美國的海軍艦艇發射。

,原審法院裁定§1651應解釋在十九世紀盜版的定義,只包括“海上搶劫”。由於被告射擊船,從來沒有真正偷東西,他們的行為沒有上升到盜版的水平。

哈桑審判法庭,另一方面,發現“的”國家法“蘊含的法律改變身體”和國會的意思跟上這些變化的步伐,因為這涉及到海盜時,他們起草§1651。 法院還發現,根據習慣國際法的一般盜版的當代定義體現在公海公約“和”聯合國海洋法公約“,這兩個定義盜版:

(一)(1)(2)任何暴力或拘留,或任何掠奪行為的非法行為;致力於為私人目的;(4)(3)在公海或任何國家管轄範圍以外的地方;船員或私人船舶或私人飛機的乘客;(5)對另一船舶或飛機,或對板等船舶或飛機上的人員或財產;

(二)(1)(2)與海盜船的事實的知識;或任何自願參與的船舶或飛機的操作行為;

(三)(1)任何行為,煽動或故意便利(2)項所述的行為(一)或(B)。

美國訴士彬美國訴案件 哈桑因此被無情地綁到另一個。 如果第四巡迴法院推翻了哈桑的審判法庭和持有,§1651的目的,盜版不僅包括海上武裝搶劫,沒有哈桑被告, 說,士彬是有罪的犯罪根據該規約。 如果它肯定哈桑審判法庭的控股,盜版的,根據國家的法律定義,已擴大到包括在“聯合國海洋法公約”所體現的定義和“公海公約”的結果幾乎肯定會是相反的。 哈桑的被告,並表示會從公海,和穆罕默德Saaili士彬將犯故意便利盜版的暴力行為造成的盜版犯罪。 雖然世斌,作為一名翻譯和人質談判代表,將被認為是最好的中層的海盜,同樣的法律適用於他的推理,將適用於更高層次的推動者誰“incit [E]。 ,故意facilitat [E]“盜版,但不承諾在海上搶劫。

§1651體現了盜版的演變定義的解釋,將使美國的一個很好的場所起訴金融家和盜版的主持人,作為給予被告的正當程序的水平將是無懈可擊和強制性終身監禁刑罰,判處§ 1651將是一個強有力的威懾。 起訴這些“毒梟”,除了解決索馬里問題的更廣泛的治理問題,最可靠的方法將在印度洋和阿拉伯海海域的海盜結束。 希望美國的司法體系可以適應現代海盜的現實。

  1. 其實,這種概念化的盜版首次宣布在1932年的研究由哈佛大學進行,後來被納入1958年海洋法公約“,並轉載於1982年在”聯合國海洋法公約“對盜版的國際法律。

張貼到Twitter

3回應“將在美國播放”牽引銷在起訴海盜的角色?“

  1. 馬特 說:

    政府會說,哈桑和賽義德不影響士彬情況。 哈桑/說是不完整的攻擊,在問題直接把盜版的定義根據1651。 然而,在的士彬情況,海盜實際上設法抓住船。 政府認為,等完成的發作至少未成年人搶劫(燃料,物資等)的結果,意義士彬(以及其他調解人)可能被起訴哈桑的,要么根據1651或者說盜版的定義。 當然,這可能是有點太多的“尾巴搖狗,但它是政府的立場。

    無論如何,我覺得在1651檢控困擾。 美國有更現代的法規,如第2280,覆蓋在海上的暴力。 “章程”都在他們的元素定義,並提供了一系列的句子,讓法官施加適當比例的懲罰。 相比之下,1651年是一個法規,是近200年的歷史,是表面上的模糊,不允許比例判刑。 它的應用引發了嚴重的憲法問題沒有額外的好處,除了給檢察官認罪談判中使用自動無期徒刑錘。 (想像一下,一個橫掃海盜拘捕行動Eyl餐飲服務的低級別的僱員,第三年似乎很難提供大米和羊肉海盜和人質相應的處罰,但這樣一個過分熱心的檢察官提出的將永遠是最好的根據1651在獄中的生活。)

    此外,事實上,1651是書本上的,純粹是歷史的偶然。 美國訴史密斯後,美國國會正式定義為海上搶劫盜版法“在1820年,和1651的定義是一紙空文,只適用於預先存在的情況下。 50年後,美國國會修訂在1874年的雕像完成了“刑法典”的總體改組,1651的前身是意外地沒有限制語言的重新整合。 到那個時候很少有盜版起訴,使這起事故被忽視和裸到目前的一天。

    在我看來,美國正在冒著失去援引這樣一個獨特的問題,而不是簡單地用一個或多個其他許多聯邦法規處理海上暴力行為是毫無疑問憲法,章程上訴盜版檢控。 這樣的結果,不僅是一個巨大的資源浪費,它會阻止其他國家進行盜版起訴,美國的反盜版政策的長期目標。

    喜歡或不喜歡: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    • 喬恩Bellish 說:

      我同意士彬比說和哈桑提出了不同的問題。 在我看來,然而,任何誠實的閱讀需要的章程和有關的案例法盜版的解釋超出僅僅“在公海搶劫”,導致在這三種情況的任何定罪。 如果國會通過了一項法令說:“誰犯了謀殺罪,應置於死地,”未遂的兇手死刑或逃走的司機受到該規約將是一個總的誤讀。 國會可以很容易地捕獲和法規,如果它希望在未遂的兇手逃走司機的行動。 如果協助及教唆的默示包含在“犯搶劫罪,在公海”為什麼不嘗試,以及? 我看不出有原則的區別。

      如果,另一方面,美國國會通過了一項法令,說這個比喻的目的,“任何人誰犯謀殺國家的法律界定應置於死地”,國際社會決定謀殺令人厭惡的國際秩序,企圖謀殺和協助及教唆他人謀殺,本身並謀殺,這種解釋是站不住腳的。

      其次,雖然我很欣賞你的歷史特性,我希望,一位聯邦法官不會聘用這樣的邏輯在一項民意。 寫在司法的說明看來,國會並不意味著保持法律的書籍,儘管事實上,它一直書本上的法律,是無視我們的憲政體制,國會通過的法律和法院解釋它們的性質,主題憲法。 我希望與保守的名聲像第四巡迴法院將特別敏感,推理。 有什麼能夠阻止國會修復錯誤的,你注意,但直到他們這樣做,1651年應進行沒有減少法律的重量比任何其他美國法典的一部分。

      說,我已經救了你去年的最佳參數,如本人同意,其他聯邦法規,特別是2280,可以用來起訴個人,如說,哈桑和士彬。 不過,我認為至少有兩個原因,申請1651盜版犯罪企業的頂部。

      首先,按照2010年美國在國際法實踐精華,在過去四年美國總統已經接受了根據習慣國際法,作為“聯合國海洋法公約”的盜版犯罪的明確定義定義。 很少有證據,國會認為靜態的和不可改變的身體作為一個法治國家的法律在1800年代中期,如果它想只是主張在公海搶劫的普遍管轄權,它可以很容易地這樣做。 二,“聯合國海洋法公約”的藝術。 100對有義務“在鎮壓盜版的合作,以最大限度地在公海。”美國應該辜負這一義務,或認為不再hostis humanis類的海盜,但應考慮共同犯罪分子。 它不能兩者兼得。

      最後,我會認為,雖然選擇在2280起訴,而不是到1651可能是更好的檢察機關的決定,司法贖使用1651將是一個“章程”的虛偽閱讀。

      喜歡或不喜歡: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. 馬特 說:

    1651的歷史,有關它的解釋,因為“規約”沒有任何元素。 最初是通過在回應美國訴帕爾默,應用現有的盜版章程,1790年法“,美國公民和船隻的情況下,限制規約。 帕爾默創造了一個國家的強烈抗議,但沒有簡單的方法來克服它,因為它是一個解釋,他們的任期應該已經閱讀普遍的通用語言規約的情況下。 (它因而歷史上正確的說,如果國會只是想以斷言過搶劫海上的普遍管轄權,它可以輕鬆地完成如此。1790年國會認為,它已經做了完全的,直到在帕爾默法院告訴它,它塗藥'T,儘管“規約”明確的語言。)為了克服這個問題,1819年美國國會通過了一個為期一年的“日落條款,迫使法院確定盜版,它在美國訴史密斯法規。 由於國會通過了1651語言給這有限的時間,它顯然沒有打算發展,但當時的法律快照。

    隨著1874年的意外重新編纂,問題是,1651語言,指(i)搶劫,只有最高法院的情況下,解釋的語言說,這意味著在1820年(二)在1874年定義的盜版,當它是意外recodified一起“盜版是搶劫”的章程;(三)在1909年全面修訂了“美國法典”中的懲罰的一部分,當處罰改變定義的盜版(四)盜版在1948年定義的,當它被recodified 1651作為一個代碼修訂的一部分;或(V)的盜版,因為它意味著每當有人恰好被起訴,一個不斷發展的標準下,?

    在你回答之前,國會通過1948年的1651說,“在國際法和外交關係,盜版的法律領域的深遠發展被視為需要一個基本的复議和完整的重述,也許是考慮在急劇變化所造成的修改和擴展的方式。 這樣的任務可能會被視為超出了這個項目的範圍內。 目前的修訂,因此,只限於一些明顯的專利更正的決策。 然而,據建議,盜版問題,在一些時機,在不久的將來,完全重新考慮和修改法律軸承上,並在根據時代的需要重申。“這樣的語句平方概念規約將自動與現代國際法發展步調一致?

    進一步考慮,法院在史密斯說,盜版是“犯罪性質的結算和確定”,這是至關重要的1819年法“的合憲。 如果它不被理解為“落戶”,然後請願人聲稱,國會未能“定義和懲罰”盜版憲法很可能已經成功的要求。 因此,國會與否的法律視為靜態的和不可改變的身體在1800年代中期,國家的法律,法院明確認為,​​盜版的法律。

    有趣的是,有一件事是在1820年“落戶”是有這樣的事情是沒有根據國家法律的企圖盜版。 相反,“攻擊掠奪”,基本上是企圖盜版禁止法“在1825年和10年徒刑(如反對盜版國家的法律規定普遍的死亡句子)。

    盜版的國際定義複利所有這些問題,據了解許多已成為純粹的司法管轄權。 也就是說,“聯合國海洋法公約”提供了哪些國家可能懲罰盜版在國內使用普遍管轄權的法律,而不是提供了實質性的盜版犯罪的元素,活動範圍。 這種認識的原因是,“聯合國海洋法公約”界定為“非法暴力行為”的含義,可根據國家法律的非法暴力行為的盜版。 創建1651 1圓的問題:根據國家的法律禁止盜版,但現代法治國家的司法和國家法律提供的元素是什麼“非法的。”

    甚至進一步加劇了這些問題,陰謀的責任,根據美國法律,是更廣泛的比大多數國家所接受。 如果串謀犯盜版不盜版,可以根據國家的法律檢察官收取下1651人,使用純粹的陰謀理論根據平克頓的責任?

    是憲法,法律必須反映一個有效的國會權力,必須按照正當程序行使權力。 在我看來,上述問題作出申請1651致命的不斷發展的觀點界定和懲罰條款,賦予國會的權力來定義的盜版,而不是懲罰盜版作為一個不斷發展的標準下由他人定義。 這也將是致命規定下的第8次修訂,這就要求立法機關作出判決,對犯罪的懲罰,在光的行為是理性的,如果禁止的行為的變化和發展,但處罰是固定的,有沒有作出這一判斷的身體。 以及是否發展與否,1651似乎致命的模糊。 如何是一個普通的人,應該根據1651導航上述問題,以確定何種行為將導致生活在監獄裡的自動,即使法官可以嗎? (值得注意的是,在史密斯的時間,其他法規處罰海上搶劫與1820年法“同樣的懲罰。然而,現在有沒有其他相關法規進行自動無期徒刑比1651。)

    喜歡或不喜歡: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

搬場/包括引用


    發表評論

    丹佛大學斯特姆學院法學

    文章日期

    2012年7月
    中號 ţ W ţ F 小號 小號
    «六月
    1
    2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    9 10 11 12 13 14 15
    16 17 18 19 20 21 22
    23 24 25 26 27 28 29
    30 31

    @ View_From_Above

    資源
    訪問DJILP新聞

Categorized | Jon Bellish, TVFA Posts

Will the United States Play a Role in Prosecuting Pirate “Kingpins?”

Somalia has no trouble producing pirates. Between a central government that controls little beyond the capitol city of Mogadishu, an utter lack of economic opportunity for young men, and a 3,025 mile long coastline with access to the world’s busiest shipping corridors, for every Somali pirate captured at sea, there are many more waiting to take his place. Accordingly, one of the most promising means to put an end to this global menace is the prosecution and detention of the financiers of pirate action groups – those benefitting most from lawlessness in the Indian Ocean but never actually setting foot on a boat.

Mohammad Saaili Shibin (AP Image)

The Eastern District of Virginia and the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals are in the process of hearing two separate cases that, taken together, could decide whether or not the United States of America will have any role in the prosecution of these so-called “kingpins” of piracy.

One case, United States v. Shibin, is just beginning the trial phase and is the United States first attempt to prosecute a high level facilitator of piracy. The case concerns Mohammad Saaili Shibin’s role in the hijackings of the M/V Marida Marguerite and the S/V Quest. In both attacks, Shibin’s role was that of translator and hostage negotiator. Shibin was paid between $30,000 and $50,000 for his role in the M/V Marida Marguerite attack but was paid nothing in for his role in the S/V Quest, as all hostages were killed before a ransom could be negotiated. Shibin confessed to his role in both hijackings to American authorities.

At issue is, inter alia, whether Shibin can be charged with Piracy under 18 U.S.C. § 1651, which outlaws “piracy as defined by the law of nations” and carries with it a mandatory life sentence.

Because Judge Robert G. Doumar denied the defendant’s motion to suppress his confessions, it will be difficult for Mr. Shibin to argue that he did not participate in the hijackings in the manner alleged. Instead, his case will rise and fall on the way the Fourth Circuit settles a split on the legal question of whether “piracy as defined by the law of nations” is an evolving or a static concept.

This legal question comes to the Fourth Circuit in the context of a split within the Eastern District of Virginia on two cases with essentially the same set of facts. In both United States v. Said and United States v. Hasan, the defendants set out to plunder a merchant vessel and fired upon what they believed to be such a vessel. In both cases, the would-be pirates were actually firing upon a United States Naval vessel.

In Said, the trial court held that § 1651 should be interpreted in light of the nineteenth century definition of piracy, which included only “robbery at sea.” Because the defendants in Said only fired upon a ship and never actually stole anything, their acts did not rise to the level of piracy.

The Hasan trial court, on the other hand, found that “the ‘law of nations’ connotes a changing body of law,” and that Congress meant to keep pace with those changes as they relate to maritime piracy when they drafted § 1651. The court went on to find that the contemporary definition of general piracy under customary international law is embodied in the High Seas Convention and UNCLOS,1 both of which define piracy as:

(A) (1) any illegal act of violence or detention, or any act of depredation; (2) committed for private ends; (3) on the high seas or a place outside the jurisdiction of any state; (4) by the crew or the passengers of a private ship or a private aircraft; (5) and directed against another ship or aircraft, or against persons or property on board such ship or aircraft; or

(B) (1) any act of voluntary participation in the operation of a ship or an aircraft; (2) with knowledge of the facts making it a pirate ship; or

(C) (1) any act of inciting or of intentionally facilitating (2) an act described in subparagraph (A) or (B).

The cases of United States v. Shibin and United States v. Hasan are therefore inexorably tied to one another. If the Fourth Circuit overrules the Hasan trial court and holds that, for the purposes of § 1651, piracy only includes armed robbery at sea, none of the defendants in Hasan, Said, and Shibin are guilty of a crime under that statute. If it affirms the Hasan trial court’s holding that that the definition of piracy under the law of nations has expanded to include the definition embodied in UNCLOS and the High Seas Convention the result will almost certainly be the opposite. The defendants in Hasan and Said would be guilty of piracy resulting from acts of violence on the high seas, and Mohammad Saaili Shibin would be guilty of intentionally facilitating piracy. Though Shibin, as a translator and hostage negotiator, would be considered a mid-level pirate at best, the same legal reasoning that applies to him will apply to higher level facilitators who “incit[e] or . . . intentionally facilitat[e]” piracy but do not themselves commit robbery at sea.

An interpretation of § 1651 as embodying an evolving definition of piracy would make the United States an excellent venue to prosecute the financiers and facilitators of piracy, as the level of due process afforded to the defendants would be unassailable and the mandatory life sentence imposed by § 1651 would be a strong deterrent. Prosecuting these “kingpins” is, apart from solving Somalia’s broader governance problems, the surest way to put an end to maritime piracy in the Indian Ocean and Arabian Seas. Hopefully the American judicial system can adapt to this modern realities of maritime piracy.

  1. Actually, this conceptualization of piracy was first announced in a 1932 study on the international law of piracy conducted by Harvard University and later incorporated into the Law of the Sea Treaty in 1958 and reproduced in UNCLOS in 1982.

3 Responses to “Will the United States Play a Role in Prosecuting Pirate “Kingpins?””

  1. Matt says:

    The government would argue that Hasan and Said don’t impact the Shibin case. Hasan/Said were incomplete attacks, putting the definition of piracy under 1651 directly at issue. In the Shibin case, however, the pirates actually managed to seize the ships. The government has argued that such completed seizures result in at least minor robberies (of fuel, supplies, etc.), meaning Shibin (and other facilitators) could be prosecuted under 1651 under either of Hasan’s or Said’s definitions of piracy. Of course, that may be a bit too much of the tail wagging the dog, but it is the position of the government.

    Regardless, I find prosecutions under 1651 to be troubling. The U.S. has more modern statutes covering violence at sea, such as Section 2280. The statutes are both well-defined in their elements and provide a range of sentences, allowing judges to impose appropriately proportional punishments. By contrast, 1651 is a statute that is nearly 200 years old, is vague on its face, and does not allow for proportional sentencing. Its application raises serious constitutional problems with no added benefit, other than to give prosecutors the hammer of an automatic life sentence to use in plea negotiations. (Imagine being a low-level employee of an Eyl caterer swept up in a pirate arrest operation. Thirty-years hardly seems the appropriate punishment for delivering rice and lamb to pirates and hostages, but such an offer by an overzealous prosecutor would always be preferable to life in prison under 1651.)

    Moreover, the fact that 1651 is on the books is sheer historical accident. After U.S. v. Smith, Congress formally defined piracy as sea robbery in the Act of 1820, and 1651′s definition was made dead letter applicable only to pre-existing cases. Fifty years later, Congress completed a general restructuring of the criminal code in the Revised Statues of 1874, and 1651′s predecessor was accidentally reincorporated without its limiting language. By that time there was little piracy to prosecute, allowing this accident to go unnoticed and uncorrected to the present day.

    In my opinion, the U.S. is risking losing piracy prosecutions on appeal by invoking such a uniquely problematic statute, rather than simply using one or more of the many other federal statutes addressing violence at sea that are unquestionably constitutional. Such a result would not only be a massive waste of resources, it would discourage other countries from undertaking piracy prosecutions, a longstanding goal of U.S. anti-piracy policy.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    • Jon Bellish says:

      I agree that Shibin presents a different issue than Said and Hasan. It seems to me, however, that any honest reading of the statute and relevant case law requires an interpretation of piracy that goes beyond mere “robbery on the high seas” to result in a conviction in any of these three cases. If Congress passed a statute saying “those who commit the crime of murder shall be put to death,” subjecting the an attempted murderer or a getaway driver to the death penalty would be a gross misreading of that statute. Congress could easily have captured the actions of the attempted murderer and the getaway driver in that statute if it wished. If aiding and abetting are impliedly encompassed in “committing robbery on the high seas,” why not attempts as well? I fail to see a principled distinction.

      If, on the other hand, Congress passed a statute that said (for the purposes of this analogy) that “anyone who commits murder as defined by the law of nations shall be put to death,” and the international community decided that murder was so repugnant to the international order that attempted murder and aiding and abetting a murder is, in and of itself, murder, such an interpretation would be defensible.

      Second, while I appreciate your historical characterization, I would hope that a federal judge would never employ such logic in an opinion. To write in a judicial opinion stating that Congress did not mean to keep a law on the books despite the fact that it kept a law on the books is to ignore the nature of our constitutional system whereby Congress passes laws and the courts interpret them, subject to the constitution. I would hope that a court with a conservative reputation like the Fourth Circuit would be especially sensitive to that line of reasoning. There is nothing stopping Congress from fixing the error that you note, but until they do so, 1651 should carry no less legal weight than any other part of the US Code.

      With that said, I have saved your best argument for last, as I agree that other federal statutes, particularly 2280, can be used to prosecute individuals such as Said, Hasan, and Shibin. However, I would argue that there are at least two reasons to apply 1651 to those at the top of the piracy criminal enterprise.

      First, per the 2010 Digest of US Practice in International Law, the last four US presidents have accepted UNCLOS’s definition of piracy under customary international law as the definitive definition of the crime. There is little evidence that Congress viewed the law of nations as a static and immutable body of law in the mid-1800′s, and if it wanted merely to assert universal jurisdiction over robbery on the high seas, it could have easily done so. Second, UNCLOS art. 100 imposes an affirmative duty to “cooperate to the fullest possible extent in the repression of piracy on the high seas.” The United States should either live up to this obligation or argue that pirates are no longer hostis humanis generis, but should be considered common criminals. It cannot have it both ways.

      In the end, I would argue that while choosing to prosecute under 2280 as opposed to 1651 may be the better prosecutorial decision, judicial foreclosure to the use of 1651 would be a disingenuous reading of the statute.

      Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. Matt says:

    The history of 1651 is relevant to its interpretation, because the statute has no elements. The statute was originally passed in response to U.S. v. Palmer, a case that restricted the application of the existing piracy statute, the Act of 1790, to U.S. citizens and ships. Palmer created a national outcry, yet there was no easy way to overcome it, since it was a case interpreting a statute of universal language that by their terms should have been read universally. (It’s thus not historically correct to say that if Congress merely wanted to assert universal jurisdiction over robbery at sea, it could have easily done so. The Congress of 1790 thought that it had done exactly that, until the Palmer Court told it that it hadn’t, despite the clear language of the statute.) To overcome this problem, the Congress of 1819 passed a statute with a one-year sunset clause to force the Court to define piracy, which it did in U.S. v. Smith. Since the Congress that passed the language of 1651 gave it this limited duration, it clearly did not intend for it to evolve, but to be a snapshot of the law at that time.

    With the accidental recodification in 1874, the question is, should the language of 1651 mean (i) robbery, as the only Supreme Court case interpreting the language says it meant in 1820; (ii) piracy as defined in 1874, when it was accidentally recodified alongside the “piracy is robbery” statute; (iii) piracy as defined in 1909, when the punishment was changed as part of a general revision of punishments in the US Code; (iv) piracy as defined in 1948, when it was recodified as 1651 as part of a general revision of the code; or (v) piracy as it means whenever someone happens to be prosecuted, under an evolving standard?

    Before you answer, consider that the Congress that passed 1651 in 1948 stated, “In the light of far-reaching developments in the field of international law and foreign relations, the law of piracy is deemed to require a fundamental reconsideration and complete restatement, perhaps resulting in drastic changes by way of modification and expansion. Such a task may be regarded as beyond the scope of this project. The present revision is, therefore, confined to the making of some obvious and patent corrections. It is recommended, however, that at some opportune time in the near future, the subject of piracy be entirely reconsidered and the law bearing on it modified and restated in accordance with the needs of the times.” Can such a statement be squared with the notion that the statute would evolve automatically in lockstep with modern international law?

    Consider further that the Court in Smith said that piracy was “a crime of a settled and determinate nature,” which was crucial to the constitutionality of the Act of 1819. If it wasn’t understood as “settled,” then the petitioner’s claim–that Congress had failed to “define and punish” piracy as required by the constitution–may well have succeeded. So whether or not Congress viewed the law of nations as a static and immutable body of law in the mid-1800′s, the Court expressly held that the law of piracy was.

    Interestingly, one thing that was “settled” in 1820 was that there was no such thing as attempted piracy under the law of nations. Rather, “attack to plunder”–essentially attempted piracy–was prohibited in the Act of 1825 and given a 10 year sentence (as opposed to the universal sentence of death provided for piracy under the law of nations).

    Compounding all these problems, the international definition of piracy is understood by many to have become purely jurisdictional. That is, UNCLOS provides the scope of activity over which nations may punish piracy under domestic law using universal jurisdiction, rather than providing elements for a substantive crime of piracy. The reason for this understanding is that UNCLOS defines piracy as “illegal acts of violence,” meaning that acts of violence can be made illegal under national legislation. That creates a circularity problem for 1651: it prohibits piracy under the law of nations, but the modern law of nations is jurisdictional and looks to national law to supply the elements of what is “illegal.”

    Even further compounding these problems, conspiratorial liability under U.S. law is much broader than most nations accept. If conspiracy to commit piracy is not piracy under the law of nations, can prosecutors charge someone under 1651 using a purely conspiratorial theory of liability under Pinkerton?

    To be constitutional, a law must reflect a valid Congressional power, and that power must be exercised in accordance with due process. It seems to me that the aforementioned issues make applying an evolving view of 1651 fatal under the define and punish clause, which grants Congress the power to define piracy, not to punish piracy as defined by others under an evolving standard. It would also be fatal under the 8th Amendment, which requires the legislature to make a judgment that the punishment for a crime is rational in light of the conduct prescribed–if the conduct proscribed changes and evolves, but the punishment is fixed, there is no body making that determination. And whether evolving or not, 1651 seems fatally vague. How is an ordinary person supposed to navigate the aforementioned questions in order to determine what conduct will result in automatic life in prison under 1651, even if judges can? (Notably, at the time of Smith, other statutes punished robbery at sea with the same punishment as the Act of 1820. Now, however, there is no other relevant statute that carries an automatic life sentence other than 1651.)

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors