This page has been translated from English

فإن الولايات المتحدة أن تلعب دورا في ملاحقة القراصنة "زعماء عصابات"؟

الصومال ليس لديه مشكلة انتاج القراصنة. بين الحكومة المركزية التي تسيطر على مناطق كثيرة خارج المدينة العاصمة مقديشو، الغياب الكامل من الفرص الاقتصادية للشباب، ويبلغ طول سواحلها 3025 ميل طويلة من الحصول على ممرات العالم ازدحاما، على كل القراصنة الصوماليين القبض في عرض البحر، وهناك العديد من مزيد من الانتظار ليقوم مقامه. وفقا لذلك، واحدة من أكثر الوسائل الواعدة لوضع حد لهذا الخطر العالمي هو ملاحقة واعتقال من الممولين للجماعات عمل القراصنة - الذين قدم تستفيد أكثر من غيرها من الفوضى في المحيط الهندي، لكنه لم يحدد في الواقع على متن قارب.

محمد Saaili شبين (ا ف ب صورة)

المنطقة الشرقية من ولاية فرجينيا، ومحكمة الاستئناف في الدائرة الرابعة في عملية السمع قضيتين منفصلتين ذلك، مجتمعة، يمكن أن تقرر ما إذا كانت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية سيكون لها أي دور في ملاحقة هؤلاء زعماء عصابات "ما يسمى "من أعمال القرصنة.

حالة واحدة، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ضد شبين، هي مجرد بداية لمرحلة المحاكمة وهي محاولة الولايات المتحدة الأول لمقاضاة ميسر مستوى عال من القرصنة. القضية تتعلق بدور محمد Saaili شبين في الخطف من مارغريت Marida M / V والسعي S / V. في كلا الهجومين، وكان دور شبين بأن المترجم والمفاوض رهينة. وقد دفع شبين بين 30000 $ و 50،000 دولار لدوره في الهجوم M / V مارغريت Marida لكن تم دفع أي شيء في لدوره في السعي S / V، كما قتل جميع الرهائن قبل أن يتم التفاوض على فدية. اعترف شبين لدوره في خطف الطائرات على حد سواء إلى السلطات الأمريكية.

في قضية هي، في جملة أمور، ما إذا كان يمكن توجيه الاتهام شبين مع القرصنة تحت 18 USC § 1651، الذي يحظر "القرصنة على النحو الذي حدده القانون من الأمم"، ويحمل في طياته حكما بالسجن مدى الحياة إلزامي.

لأن القاضي روبرت دومار G. نفت حركة المدعى عليه في قمع اعترافاته، سيكون من الصعب على السيد شبين أن يزعم أنه لم يشارك في عمليات خطف الطائرات في الطريقة المزعومة. بدلا من ذلك، فإن قضيته صعود وهبوط على طريقة الدائرة الرابعة يستقر انقسام بشأن المسألة القانونية سواء من "القرصنة على النحو الذي حدده القانون للدول" هو التطور أو مفهوما جامدا.

هذه مسألة قانونية يأتي الى الدائرة الرابعة في سياق انقسام داخل المنطقة الشرقية من ولاية فرجينيا في حالتين مع مجموعة نفسها أساسا من الحقائق. في كل من الولايات المتحدة ضد سعيد والولايات المتحدة ضد حسن، المتهمين المبينة لنهب سفينة تجارية وأطلقوا النار على ما اعتقدوا أن تكون مثل هذه السفينة. في كلتا الحالتين، كان القراصنة شأنه ان يكون في الواقع اطلاق النار على سفينة البحرية الأمريكية.

وقال في وعقدت المحكمة أنه ينبغي تفسير § 1651 في ضوء تعريف القرن التاسع عشر من القرصنة، والتي شملت فقط "السرقة في عرض البحر." لأن المتهمين في بورسعيد أطلق النار فقط على السفينة وسرق أبدا في الواقع أي شيء، وأفعالهم لم يرتفع إلى مستوى القرصنة.

المحكمة محاكمة حسن، من ناحية أخرى، وجدت بأن "قانون الأمم" ضمنا هيئة المتغيرة للقانون "، وأن المؤتمر يهدف الى مواكبة هذه التغيرات من حيث صلتها القرصنة البحرية عندما صاغوا § 1651. ومضت المحكمة لتجد أن يتجسد تعريف المعاصرة للقرصنة عام بموجب القانون الدولي العرفي في اتفاقية أعالي البحار، واتفاقية قانون البحار، 1 على حد سواء من القرصنة التي تحدد على النحو التالي:

(أ) (1) أي عمل غير قانوني من أعمال العنف أو الاحتجاز أو أي عمل من أعمال النهب، (2) ارتكبت لأغراض خاصة، (3) في أعالي البحار أو مكان خارج ولاية أية دولة، (4) من قبل طاقم أو ركاب سفينة خاصة أو طائرة خاصة، (5) وموجها ضد سفينة أو طائرة أخرى، أو ضد الأشخاص أو الممتلكات على متن هذه السفينة أو الطائرة، أو

(ب) (1) أي عمل من أعمال الاشتراك الطوعي في تشغيل سفينة أو طائرة، (2) مع معرفة الحقائق مما يجعل من سفينة القراصنة، أو

(C) (1) أي عمل من أعمال التحريض على أو تيسير عمدا (2) فعل وصفها في الفقرة الفرعية (أ) أو (B)

قضايا ضد الولايات المتحدة والولايات المتحدة شبين ضد الولايات ولذلك فإن حسن مرتبطة لا محالة إلى واحد آخر. ولم يقل اي من المتهمين في حسن، إذا كانت الدائرة الرابعة ينقض المحكمة محاكمة حسن، ويذهب الى ان، لأغراض § 1651، والقرصنة ويشمل فقط السطو المسلح في البحر، وشبين هي مذنب بارتكاب جريمة بموجب هذا النظام الأساسي. إذا كان يؤكد على المحكمة حسن القابضة أن أن تعريف القرصنة بموجب قانون الأمم توسعت لتشمل تعريف الوارد في اتفاقية قانون البحار واتفاقية أعالي البحار نتيجة شبه المؤكد أن تكون عكس ذلك. وقال المتهمون في حسن وسيكون مذنبا من القرصنة الناتجة عن أعمال العنف في أعالي البحار، ومحمد Saaili شبين سيكون مذنبا لتسهيل عمدا القرصنة. على الرغم من شبين، كمترجم والمفاوض رهينة، من شأنه أن يعتبر قرصان من المستوى المتوسط ​​في أحسن الأحوال، فإن نفس المنطق القانوني الذي ينطبق عليه ينطبق على الميسرين مستوى أعلى من "incit [ه] أو. . . عمدا facilitat [ه] "القرصنة ولكن لا أنفسهم ارتكاب السرقة في عرض البحر.

وتفسيرا لل§ 1651 باعتبارها تجسد تعريف المتطور للقرصنة جعل الولايات المتحدة مكانا ممتازا لملاحقة الممولين والوسطاء من القرصنة، كما على مستوى الإجراءات القانونية الممنوحة للمتهمين سيكون لا يمكن تعويضه، وعقوبة السجن مدى الحياة الإلزامية التي فرضها § سوف 1651 يكون رادعا قويا. ملاحقة هذه "زعماء عصابات" هو، بصرف النظر عن حل مشاكل الصومال أوسع الحكم، وأضمن طريقة لوضع حد لأعمال القرصنة البحرية في المحيط الهندي وبحر العرب. نأمل أن لا يمكن للنظام القضائي الأميركي على التكيف مع هذا الواقع الحديث من القرصنة البحرية.

  1. في الواقع، تم الإعلان عن هذا التصور من القرصنة في 1932 دراسة حول القانون الدولي للقرصنة التي أجرتها جامعة هارفارد، وأدرجت في وقت لاحق إلى قانون معاهدة البحار لعام 1958 والواردة في اتفاقية قانون البحار في عام 1982.

إضافة إلى التغريد

3 ردود على "هل الولايات المتحدة أن تلعب دورا في ملاحقة القراصنة" زعماء عصابات "؟"

  1. مات يقول:

    فإن الحكومة يقولون ان الحسن وسعيد لم يكن ليؤثر على حالة شبين. وقال حسن / وكانت الهجمات غير مكتملة، ووضع تعريف للقرصنة تحت 1651 مباشرة في القضية. في حالة شبين، ومع ذلك، فإن القراصنة تمكنت فعلا من الاستيلاء على السفن. وقالت الحكومة أن هذه النتيجة المضبوطات الانتهاء منها في ما لا يقل عن سرقات بسيطة (من الإمدادات والوقود، وما إلى ذلك)، يمكن مقاضاة معنى شبين (والميسرين أخرى) تحت 1651 تحت أي من لحسن أو سعيد تعريفات للقرصنة. بالطبع، قد تكون بعض الشيء الكثير من الذيل الذي يهز الكلب، ولكن هذا هو موقف الحكومة.

    بغض النظر، وأجد الملاحقات القضائية تحت 1651 إلى أن تكون مثيرة للقلق. الولايات المتحدة لديها قوانين أكثر الحديثة التي تغطي أعمال العنف في عرض البحر، مثل قسم (2280). النظام الأساسي على حد سواء واضحة المعالم في عناصرها وتقديم مجموعة من الجمل، مما يسمح للقضاة لفرض عقوبات تتناسب بشكل مناسب. على النقيض من ذلك، 1651 هو النظام الأساسي الذي هو ما يقرب من 200 سنة، غير واضح على وجهها، ولا تسمح لإصدار الحكم النسبي. تطبيقه يثير مشاكل دستورية خطيرة مع عدم وجود فائدة إضافية، بخلاف لمنح المدعين والمطرقة لعقوبة السجن مدى الحياة التلقائية لاستخدامها في المفاوضات حجة. (تخيل أن تكون موظفا على مستوى منخفض من متعهد الحفلات ايل اكتسحت في عملية اعتقال القراصنة. وثلاثون عاما ويبدو من الصعب العقوبة المناسبة لتقديم الارز ولحم الضأن على القراصنة والرهائن، ولكن مثل هذا العرض من قبل المدعي مفرط سيكون دائما الأفضل السجن مدى الحياة تحت 1651.)

    وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن حقيقة أن 1651 هي في الكتب هو حادث تاريخي محض. بعد الولايات المتحدة ضد سميث، الكونجرس محددة رسميا القرصنة والسطو البحري في القانون الصادر في عام 1820، وجاء في تعريف 1651 حبرا على ورق لا ينطبق إلا على الحالات الموجودة من قبل. وبعد خمسين سنة، أكملت الكونغرس لإعادة هيكلة عامة للقانون الجنائي في التماثيل المنقحة لعام 1874، وكان السلف أعادته بطريق الخطأ 1651 من دون تحديد لغته. بحلول ذلك الوقت كان هناك القليل لملاحقة القرصنة، مما يسمح هذا الحادث لتمر مرور الكرام ودون تصحيح وحتى يومنا هذا.

    في رأيي، فإن الولايات المتحدة المخاطرة بفقد الملاحقات القرصنة في الاستئناف من خلال التذرع مثل هذا النظام الأساسي للمشاكل بشكل فريد، بدلا من مجرد استخدام واحد أو أكثر من عدة قوانين اتحادية أخرى التصدي للعنف في عرض البحر التي هي بلا شك الدستورية. مثل هذه النتيجة لن يكون سوى مضيعة هائلة للموارد، فإنه اثناء الدول الاخرى عن القيام الملاحقات القرصنة، وهو هدف منذ فترة طويلة من سياسة الولايات المتحدة لمكافحة القرصنة.

    يحبون أو يكرهون: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    • جون Bellish يقول:

      انني اوافق على ان يقدم شبين مسألة مختلفة من سعيد وحسن. يبدو لي، مع ذلك، أن أي قراءة صادقة من النظام الأساسي والسوابق القضائية ذات الصلة يتطلب تفسيرا للقرصنة التي تتجاوز "سرقة في أعالي البحار" مجرد أن يؤدي إلى قناعة في أي من هذه الحالات الثلاث. إذا أقر الكونغرس قانون قائلا "لا يجوز وضع أولئك الذين يرتكبون جريمة القتل حتى الموت"، وإخضاع القاتل 1 محاولة الفرار أو سائق لعقوبة الاعدام سيكون من سوء قراءة الجسيمة لهذا النظام الأساسي. ويمكن بسهولة الكونجرس قد استحوذت على تصرفات قاتل محاولة والسائق المهرب في هذا النظام الأساسي إذا أرادت. إذا ضمنا المساعدة والتحريض وشملت في "ارتكاب عملية سطو في أعالي البحار،" لماذا لا يحاول كذلك؟ لا أستطيع أن أرى فرقا المبدئي.

      إذا، من ناحية أخرى، أقر الكونغرس القانون الذي قال (لأغراض هذا التشبيه) أنه "لا يجوز وضع أي شخص يرتكب جريمة قتل على النحو المحدد في القانون من الأمم حتى الموت"، وقرر المجتمع الدولي هو أن القتل حتى بغيض للنظام الدولي أن الشروع في القتل والمساعدة والتحريض على جريمة القتل هو، في حد ذاته، والقتل، مثل هذا التفسير سيكون الدفاع عنها.

      الثانية، في حين وأنا أقدر هذا التوصيف التاريخي، وآمل أن قاض اتحادي لن تستخدم هذا المنطق في رأي. أن يكتب في الرأي القضائي مشيرا إلى أن الكونجرس لا يعني للحفاظ على القانون في الكتب على الرغم من حقيقة أنها حافظت على القانون في الكتب هو تجاهل لطبيعة نظامنا الدستوري حيث الكونغرس بتمرير القوانين والمحاكم تفسيرها، وذلك رهنا للدستور. وآمل أن المحكمة ذات سمعة المحافظين مثل الدائرة الرابعة ستكون حساسة بشكل خاص إلى أن الخط من التفكير. لا يوجد شيء وقف الكونغرس من تحديد الخطأ الذي لاحظ، ولكن حتى يفعلوا ذلك، 1651 وينبغي أن تحمل أي وزن قانوني أقل من أي جزء آخر من قانون الولايات المتحدة.

      مع أن قال، أنقذت أنا حجة أفضل للحصول على آخر، كما انني اوافق على ان يمكن استخدام القوانين الفيدرالية الأخرى، لا سيما 2280، لمقاضاة الأفراد مثل سعيد، حسن، وشبين. ومع ذلك، فإنني أزعم أن هناك سببين على الأقل لتطبيق 1651 إلى تلك التي في أعلى الإجرامية القرصنة.

      أولا، لكل من دايجست عام 2010 لممارسة الولايات المتحدة في مجال القانون الدولي، وافقت على مشاركة أربعة رؤساء الولايات المتحدة اتفاقية قانون البحار لتعريف القرصنة بموجب القانون الدولي العرفي كما في تعريف محدد للجريمة. هناك القليل من الأدلة التي ينظر الكونغرس في قانون الأمم كهيئة ثابت وغير قابل للتغيير القانون في في منتصف 1800، واذا ارادت فقط لتأكيد الولاية القضائية العالمية على السرقة في أعالي البحار، يمكن أن يكون عليها القيام به بسهولة. الثانية فن اتفاقية قانون البحار،. 100 يفرض واجبا عمليا الى "التعاون لأقصى حد ممكن في قمع القرصنة في أعالي البحار." ان الولايات المتحدة يجب أن يعيش إما تصل إلى هذا الالتزام أو القول بأن القراصنة لم تعد hostis humanis الفريدة، ولكن ينبغي النظر المشتركة المجرمين. لا يمكن أن يكون ذلك في كلا الاتجاهين.

      في النهاية، أنا أزعم أنه في حين أن اختيار لمحاكمة تحت 2280 في مقابل 1651 قد يكون أفضل قرار النيابة العامة، والرهن القضائي على استخدام 1651 ستكون القراءة مخادع من النظام الأساسي.

      يحبون أو يكرهون: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. مات يقول:

    التاريخ من 1651 وثيقة الصلة إلى تفسيرها، وذلك لأن النظام الأساسي لا يوجد لديه العناصر. صدر أصلا في النظام الأساسي للاستجابة إلى الولايات المتحدة ضد بالمر، وهي القضية التي تقتصر على تطبيق النظام الأساسي القرصنة القائمة، والقانون الصادر في 1790، لمواطني الولايات المتحدة والسفن. خلق بالمر غضبا وطني، ولكن لم يكن هناك طريقة سهلة للتغلب عليها، نظرا لأنه كان حالة تفسير نظام أساسي من لغة عالمية من قبل ولايتهم وكان ينبغي أن يقرأ عالميا. (انها بالتالي غير صحيح تاريخيا أن نقول أنه إذا كان الكونغرس يريد فقط لتأكيد الولاية القضائية العالمية على السرقة في عرض البحر، يمكن أن يكون عليها القيام به بسهولة. الكونغرس من 1790 يعتقد أنها فعلت ذلك بالضبط، وحتى المحكمة بالمر وقال أن هذا hadn أقر الكونغرس عام 1819 'ر، على الرغم من لغة واضحة من النظام الأساسي.) وللتغلب على هذه المشكلة، وهو النظام الأساسي مع شرط غروب الشمس لمدة عام لإجبار المحكمة لتعريف القرصنة، وهذا ما حدث في الولايات المتحدة ضد سميث. منذ المؤتمر التي مرت اللغة من 1651 أعطاه هذه المدة، فإنه لم يكن يقصد بوضوح من أجل أن تتطور، ولكن أن تكون لقطة من القانون في ذلك الوقت.

    مع إعادة تدوين عرضي في عام 1874 وينبغي، والسؤال هو، واللغة من 1651 يعني (ط) سرقة، والمحكمة العليا فقط قضية تفسير لغة تقول انها تعني في عام 1820، (الثاني) القرصنة على النحو المحدد في عام 1874، عندما كان بطريق الخطأ recodified الى جانب "القرصنة هي سرقة" النظام الأساسي، (ج) القرصنة على النحو المحدد في عام 1909، عندما تم تغيير العقاب كجزء من مراجعة عامة للعقوبات في قانون الولايات المتحدة، (الرابع) القرصنة على النحو المحدد في عام 1948، عندما كان هو recodified كما 1651 كجزء من مراجعة عامة للقانون، أو (ت) القرصنة لأنه يعني كلما شخص ما يحدث للمحاكمة، بموجب معيار الآخذ في التطور؟

    قبل الرد، والنظر في هذا المؤتمر الذي أقر في عام 1948 1651 وقال: "في ضوء التطورات بعيدة المدى في مجال القانون الدولي والعلاقات الخارجية، والقانون من أعمال القرصنة ويعتبر أن يطلب إعادة النظر الأساسية، وإعادة صياغة كاملة، وربما مما يؤدي إلى تغييرات جذرية عن طريق تعديل والتوسع. ويمكن اعتبار هذه المهمة ويخرج عن نطاق هذا المشروع. و، التنقيح الحالي فكانت تقتصر على صنع بعض التصحيحات واضح وبراءات الاختراع. فمن المستحسن، مع ذلك، أنه في بعض الوقت المناسب في المستقبل القريب، أن يعاد النظر كليا في موضوع القرصنة وتعديل القانون الحاملة على ذلك، وكرر وفقا لاحتياجات العصر. "هل يمكن ان يكون مثل هذا البيان مع تربيع فكرة أن النظام الأساسي سوف تتطور تلقائيا في ببراعة مع القانون الدولي الحديث؟

    تنظر كذلك إلى أن محكمة في سميث قال ان القرصنة هو "جريمة ذات طابع تسويتها والحاسم"، والذي كان حاسما في مدى دستورية القانون الصادر في 1819. إذا لم يفهم على أنه "استقر"، ثم المطالبة، أن مقدم البلاغ الكونجرس قد فشل في "تحديد ومعاقبة" القرصنة على النحو المطلوب في الدستور قد نجحت وبشكل جيد. لذلك أم لا ينظر الكونغرس في قانون الأمم كهيئة ثابت وغير قابل للتغيير القانون في في منتصف 1800، قضت المحكمة صراحة على أن القانون من القرصنة.

    ومن المثير للاهتمام، وكان الشيء الوحيد الذي كان "تسوية" في عام 1820 أنه لم يكن هناك شيء مثل القرصنة وحاول وفقا لقانون الأمم. بدلا من ذلك، "هجوم لنهب"، أساسا محاولة القرصنة كان محظورا في القانون الصادر في 1825 وحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنة (بدلا من الحكم العالمي لموت المنصوص عليها القرصنة بموجب قانون الأمم).

    يضاعف كل هذه المشاكل، ومن المفهوم التعريف الدولي للقرصنة من قبل العديد من وأصبحت الولاية القضائية البحتة. وهذا هو، وتنص الاتفاقية على نطاق نشاط أكثر من الأمم التي قد تعاقب القرصنة بموجب القانون المحلي استخدام الولاية القضائية العالمية، بدلا من تقديم عناصر لجريمة القرصنة الفنية. والسبب في هذا الفهم هو أن اتفاقية قانون البحار تحدد القرصنة بأنها "أعمال العنف غير المشروعة"، بمعنى أن أعمال العنف ويمكن إجراء غير قانوني بموجب التشريعات الوطنية. أن يخلق مشكلة دائرية ل1651: فهو يحظر القرصنة بموجب قانون الأمم، ولكن قانون عصري للدول غير قضائية، ويتطلع إلى قانون وطني لتوفير عناصر ما هو "غير قانوني".

    حتى مما زاد من تفاقم هذه المشاكل، والمسؤولية التآمرية بموجب قانون الولايات المتحدة هي أوسع بكثير من معظم الدول تقبل. إذا التآمر لارتكاب القرصنة ليست القرصنة بموجب قانون الأمم، يستطيع المدعي العام توجيه الاتهام شخص ما تحت 1651 باستخدام نظرية المؤامرة بحتة من المسؤولية بموجب بينكرتون؟

    أن تكون دستورية، يجب أن تعكس قوة القانون ساري المفعول في الكونغرس، ويجب أن تمارس هذه السلطة وفقا للإجراءات القانونية الواجبة. يبدو لي أن القضايا المذكورة آنفا جعل تطبيق وجهة نظر التطور من 1651 إلى الوفاة تحت بند تحديد ومعاقبة، والذي يمنح الكونغرس سلطة تحديد القرصنة، وليس لمعاقبة أعمال القرصنة على النحو المحدد من قبل الآخرين تحت مستوى التطور. سيكون أيضا قاتلة بموجب التعديل 8، الأمر الذي يتطلب المشرع على إصدار حكم بأن العقاب عن جريمة غير منطقي في ضوء سلوك المنصوص عليها، إذا كان سلوك يكون محظورا التغييرات وتتطور، ولكن يتم إصلاح العقاب، وليس هناك هيئة اتخاذ ذلك القرار. وعما إذا كانت تتطور أم لا، 1651 يبدو غامضا قاتلة. كيف هو شخص عادي من المفترض أن تنقل على الأسئلة المذكورة أعلاه من أجل تحديد ما هو السلوك سيؤدي في الحياة التلقائية في السجن تحت 1651، حتى لو كان يمكن للقضاة؟ (والجدير بالذكر، في وقت سميث والأنظمة الأخرى يعاقب السرقة في عرض البحر مع نفس العقوبة على قانون 1820. الآن، ومع ذلك، لا يوجد أي قانون آخر ذي صلة أن يحمل عقوبة السجن مدى الحياة التلقائي غير 1651.)

    يحبون أو يكرهون: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

تركبكس / pingbacks


    ترك الرد

    جامعة دنفر شتورم كلية الحقوق

    مترجم

    EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

    مشاركات تاريخ

    يوليو 2012
    M تي W تي F S S
    «يونيو
    1
    2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    9 10 11 12 13 14 15
    16 17 18 19 20 21 22
    23 24 25 26 27 28 29
    30 31

    @ View_From_Above

    موارد
    زيارة مركز أنباء DJILP

Categorized | Jon Bellish, TVFA Posts

Will the United States Play a Role in Prosecuting Pirate “Kingpins?”

Somalia has no trouble producing pirates. Between a central government that controls little beyond the capitol city of Mogadishu, an utter lack of economic opportunity for young men, and a 3,025 mile long coastline with access to the world’s busiest shipping corridors, for every Somali pirate captured at sea, there are many more waiting to take his place. Accordingly, one of the most promising means to put an end to this global menace is the prosecution and detention of the financiers of pirate action groups – those benefitting most from lawlessness in the Indian Ocean but never actually setting foot on a boat.

Mohammad Saaili Shibin (AP Image)

The Eastern District of Virginia and the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals are in the process of hearing two separate cases that, taken together, could decide whether or not the United States of America will have any role in the prosecution of these so-called “kingpins” of piracy.

One case, United States v. Shibin, is just beginning the trial phase and is the United States first attempt to prosecute a high level facilitator of piracy. The case concerns Mohammad Saaili Shibin’s role in the hijackings of the M/V Marida Marguerite and the S/V Quest. In both attacks, Shibin’s role was that of translator and hostage negotiator. Shibin was paid between $30,000 and $50,000 for his role in the M/V Marida Marguerite attack but was paid nothing in for his role in the S/V Quest, as all hostages were killed before a ransom could be negotiated. Shibin confessed to his role in both hijackings to American authorities.

At issue is, inter alia, whether Shibin can be charged with Piracy under 18 U.S.C. § 1651, which outlaws “piracy as defined by the law of nations” and carries with it a mandatory life sentence.

Because Judge Robert G. Doumar denied the defendant’s motion to suppress his confessions, it will be difficult for Mr. Shibin to argue that he did not participate in the hijackings in the manner alleged. Instead, his case will rise and fall on the way the Fourth Circuit settles a split on the legal question of whether “piracy as defined by the law of nations” is an evolving or a static concept.

This legal question comes to the Fourth Circuit in the context of a split within the Eastern District of Virginia on two cases with essentially the same set of facts. In both United States v. Said and United States v. Hasan, the defendants set out to plunder a merchant vessel and fired upon what they believed to be such a vessel. In both cases, the would-be pirates were actually firing upon a United States Naval vessel.

In Said, the trial court held that § 1651 should be interpreted in light of the nineteenth century definition of piracy, which included only “robbery at sea.” Because the defendants in Said only fired upon a ship and never actually stole anything, their acts did not rise to the level of piracy.

The Hasan trial court, on the other hand, found that “the ‘law of nations’ connotes a changing body of law,” and that Congress meant to keep pace with those changes as they relate to maritime piracy when they drafted § 1651. The court went on to find that the contemporary definition of general piracy under customary international law is embodied in the High Seas Convention and UNCLOS,1 both of which define piracy as:

(A) (1) any illegal act of violence or detention, or any act of depredation; (2) committed for private ends; (3) on the high seas or a place outside the jurisdiction of any state; (4) by the crew or the passengers of a private ship or a private aircraft; (5) and directed against another ship or aircraft, or against persons or property on board such ship or aircraft; or

(B) (1) any act of voluntary participation in the operation of a ship or an aircraft; (2) with knowledge of the facts making it a pirate ship; or

(C) (1) any act of inciting or of intentionally facilitating (2) an act described in subparagraph (A) or (B).

The cases of United States v. Shibin and United States v. Hasan are therefore inexorably tied to one another. If the Fourth Circuit overrules the Hasan trial court and holds that, for the purposes of § 1651, piracy only includes armed robbery at sea, none of the defendants in Hasan, Said, and Shibin are guilty of a crime under that statute. If it affirms the Hasan trial court’s holding that that the definition of piracy under the law of nations has expanded to include the definition embodied in UNCLOS and the High Seas Convention the result will almost certainly be the opposite. The defendants in Hasan and Said would be guilty of piracy resulting from acts of violence on the high seas, and Mohammad Saaili Shibin would be guilty of intentionally facilitating piracy. Though Shibin, as a translator and hostage negotiator, would be considered a mid-level pirate at best, the same legal reasoning that applies to him will apply to higher level facilitators who “incit[e] or . . . intentionally facilitat[e]” piracy but do not themselves commit robbery at sea.

An interpretation of § 1651 as embodying an evolving definition of piracy would make the United States an excellent venue to prosecute the financiers and facilitators of piracy, as the level of due process afforded to the defendants would be unassailable and the mandatory life sentence imposed by § 1651 would be a strong deterrent. Prosecuting these “kingpins” is, apart from solving Somalia’s broader governance problems, the surest way to put an end to maritime piracy in the Indian Ocean and Arabian Seas. Hopefully the American judicial system can adapt to this modern realities of maritime piracy.

  1. Actually, this conceptualization of piracy was first announced in a 1932 study on the international law of piracy conducted by Harvard University and later incorporated into the Law of the Sea Treaty in 1958 and reproduced in UNCLOS in 1982.

3 Responses to “Will the United States Play a Role in Prosecuting Pirate “Kingpins?””

  1. Matt says:

    The government would argue that Hasan and Said don’t impact the Shibin case. Hasan/Said were incomplete attacks, putting the definition of piracy under 1651 directly at issue. In the Shibin case, however, the pirates actually managed to seize the ships. The government has argued that such completed seizures result in at least minor robberies (of fuel, supplies, etc.), meaning Shibin (and other facilitators) could be prosecuted under 1651 under either of Hasan’s or Said’s definitions of piracy. Of course, that may be a bit too much of the tail wagging the dog, but it is the position of the government.

    Regardless, I find prosecutions under 1651 to be troubling. The U.S. has more modern statutes covering violence at sea, such as Section 2280. The statutes are both well-defined in their elements and provide a range of sentences, allowing judges to impose appropriately proportional punishments. By contrast, 1651 is a statute that is nearly 200 years old, is vague on its face, and does not allow for proportional sentencing. Its application raises serious constitutional problems with no added benefit, other than to give prosecutors the hammer of an automatic life sentence to use in plea negotiations. (Imagine being a low-level employee of an Eyl caterer swept up in a pirate arrest operation. Thirty-years hardly seems the appropriate punishment for delivering rice and lamb to pirates and hostages, but such an offer by an overzealous prosecutor would always be preferable to life in prison under 1651.)

    Moreover, the fact that 1651 is on the books is sheer historical accident. After U.S. v. Smith, Congress formally defined piracy as sea robbery in the Act of 1820, and 1651′s definition was made dead letter applicable only to pre-existing cases. Fifty years later, Congress completed a general restructuring of the criminal code in the Revised Statues of 1874, and 1651′s predecessor was accidentally reincorporated without its limiting language. By that time there was little piracy to prosecute, allowing this accident to go unnoticed and uncorrected to the present day.

    In my opinion, the U.S. is risking losing piracy prosecutions on appeal by invoking such a uniquely problematic statute, rather than simply using one or more of the many other federal statutes addressing violence at sea that are unquestionably constitutional. Such a result would not only be a massive waste of resources, it would discourage other countries from undertaking piracy prosecutions, a longstanding goal of U.S. anti-piracy policy.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    • Jon Bellish says:

      I agree that Shibin presents a different issue than Said and Hasan. It seems to me, however, that any honest reading of the statute and relevant case law requires an interpretation of piracy that goes beyond mere “robbery on the high seas” to result in a conviction in any of these three cases. If Congress passed a statute saying “those who commit the crime of murder shall be put to death,” subjecting the an attempted murderer or a getaway driver to the death penalty would be a gross misreading of that statute. Congress could easily have captured the actions of the attempted murderer and the getaway driver in that statute if it wished. If aiding and abetting are impliedly encompassed in “committing robbery on the high seas,” why not attempts as well? I fail to see a principled distinction.

      If, on the other hand, Congress passed a statute that said (for the purposes of this analogy) that “anyone who commits murder as defined by the law of nations shall be put to death,” and the international community decided that murder was so repugnant to the international order that attempted murder and aiding and abetting a murder is, in and of itself, murder, such an interpretation would be defensible.

      Second, while I appreciate your historical characterization, I would hope that a federal judge would never employ such logic in an opinion. To write in a judicial opinion stating that Congress did not mean to keep a law on the books despite the fact that it kept a law on the books is to ignore the nature of our constitutional system whereby Congress passes laws and the courts interpret them, subject to the constitution. I would hope that a court with a conservative reputation like the Fourth Circuit would be especially sensitive to that line of reasoning. There is nothing stopping Congress from fixing the error that you note, but until they do so, 1651 should carry no less legal weight than any other part of the US Code.

      With that said, I have saved your best argument for last, as I agree that other federal statutes, particularly 2280, can be used to prosecute individuals such as Said, Hasan, and Shibin. However, I would argue that there are at least two reasons to apply 1651 to those at the top of the piracy criminal enterprise.

      First, per the 2010 Digest of US Practice in International Law, the last four US presidents have accepted UNCLOS’s definition of piracy under customary international law as the definitive definition of the crime. There is little evidence that Congress viewed the law of nations as a static and immutable body of law in the mid-1800′s, and if it wanted merely to assert universal jurisdiction over robbery on the high seas, it could have easily done so. Second, UNCLOS art. 100 imposes an affirmative duty to “cooperate to the fullest possible extent in the repression of piracy on the high seas.” The United States should either live up to this obligation or argue that pirates are no longer hostis humanis generis, but should be considered common criminals. It cannot have it both ways.

      In the end, I would argue that while choosing to prosecute under 2280 as opposed to 1651 may be the better prosecutorial decision, judicial foreclosure to the use of 1651 would be a disingenuous reading of the statute.

      Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. Matt says:

    The history of 1651 is relevant to its interpretation, because the statute has no elements. The statute was originally passed in response to U.S. v. Palmer, a case that restricted the application of the existing piracy statute, the Act of 1790, to U.S. citizens and ships. Palmer created a national outcry, yet there was no easy way to overcome it, since it was a case interpreting a statute of universal language that by their terms should have been read universally. (It’s thus not historically correct to say that if Congress merely wanted to assert universal jurisdiction over robbery at sea, it could have easily done so. The Congress of 1790 thought that it had done exactly that, until the Palmer Court told it that it hadn’t, despite the clear language of the statute.) To overcome this problem, the Congress of 1819 passed a statute with a one-year sunset clause to force the Court to define piracy, which it did in U.S. v. Smith. Since the Congress that passed the language of 1651 gave it this limited duration, it clearly did not intend for it to evolve, but to be a snapshot of the law at that time.

    With the accidental recodification in 1874, the question is, should the language of 1651 mean (i) robbery, as the only Supreme Court case interpreting the language says it meant in 1820; (ii) piracy as defined in 1874, when it was accidentally recodified alongside the “piracy is robbery” statute; (iii) piracy as defined in 1909, when the punishment was changed as part of a general revision of punishments in the US Code; (iv) piracy as defined in 1948, when it was recodified as 1651 as part of a general revision of the code; or (v) piracy as it means whenever someone happens to be prosecuted, under an evolving standard?

    Before you answer, consider that the Congress that passed 1651 in 1948 stated, “In the light of far-reaching developments in the field of international law and foreign relations, the law of piracy is deemed to require a fundamental reconsideration and complete restatement, perhaps resulting in drastic changes by way of modification and expansion. Such a task may be regarded as beyond the scope of this project. The present revision is, therefore, confined to the making of some obvious and patent corrections. It is recommended, however, that at some opportune time in the near future, the subject of piracy be entirely reconsidered and the law bearing on it modified and restated in accordance with the needs of the times.” Can such a statement be squared with the notion that the statute would evolve automatically in lockstep with modern international law?

    Consider further that the Court in Smith said that piracy was “a crime of a settled and determinate nature,” which was crucial to the constitutionality of the Act of 1819. If it wasn’t understood as “settled,” then the petitioner’s claim–that Congress had failed to “define and punish” piracy as required by the constitution–may well have succeeded. So whether or not Congress viewed the law of nations as a static and immutable body of law in the mid-1800′s, the Court expressly held that the law of piracy was.

    Interestingly, one thing that was “settled” in 1820 was that there was no such thing as attempted piracy under the law of nations. Rather, “attack to plunder”–essentially attempted piracy–was prohibited in the Act of 1825 and given a 10 year sentence (as opposed to the universal sentence of death provided for piracy under the law of nations).

    Compounding all these problems, the international definition of piracy is understood by many to have become purely jurisdictional. That is, UNCLOS provides the scope of activity over which nations may punish piracy under domestic law using universal jurisdiction, rather than providing elements for a substantive crime of piracy. The reason for this understanding is that UNCLOS defines piracy as “illegal acts of violence,” meaning that acts of violence can be made illegal under national legislation. That creates a circularity problem for 1651: it prohibits piracy under the law of nations, but the modern law of nations is jurisdictional and looks to national law to supply the elements of what is “illegal.”

    Even further compounding these problems, conspiratorial liability under U.S. law is much broader than most nations accept. If conspiracy to commit piracy is not piracy under the law of nations, can prosecutors charge someone under 1651 using a purely conspiratorial theory of liability under Pinkerton?

    To be constitutional, a law must reflect a valid Congressional power, and that power must be exercised in accordance with due process. It seems to me that the aforementioned issues make applying an evolving view of 1651 fatal under the define and punish clause, which grants Congress the power to define piracy, not to punish piracy as defined by others under an evolving standard. It would also be fatal under the 8th Amendment, which requires the legislature to make a judgment that the punishment for a crime is rational in light of the conduct prescribed–if the conduct proscribed changes and evolves, but the punishment is fixed, there is no body making that determination. And whether evolving or not, 1651 seems fatally vague. How is an ordinary person supposed to navigate the aforementioned questions in order to determine what conduct will result in automatic life in prison under 1651, even if judges can? (Notably, at the time of Smith, other statutes punished robbery at sea with the same punishment as the Act of 1820. Now, however, there is no other relevant statute that carries an automatic life sentence other than 1651.)

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors