This page has been translated from English

避免在蘇丹南部的國家失敗

The South Sudanese Flag

蘇丹南部標誌

7月14日,聯合國大會一致投票批准蘇丹南部的聯合國第193個成員。 作為聯合國歡迎蘇丹南部的新的國家, 一些評論家聲稱,蘇丹南部是注定要成為一個失敗的國家。 這就提出了一個問題:什麼是一個失敗的國家,蘇丹南部以及如何才能避免成為一個嗎?

第1條中的權利和義務的蒙得維的亞公約“編纂建國的四個基本要素。 被視為一個國家的領土單位,必須有:

  • 常住人口;
  • 政府;
  • 確定的領土;
  • 進入與其他國家關係的能力。

國家發生故障時,該國失去控制超過一個或多個這些特點。 例如, 為和平基金 ,與外交政策“雜誌合作組織創建的”失敗國家
指數“,認識到國家失敗的屬性包括:

  • 人口壓力和大量湧入的難民和流離失所者;
  • 無法提供合理的公共服務;
  • 身體失去控制的領土或合法使用武力的壟斷;
  • 無法與其他國家作為國際社會的正式成員互動。

作為蘇丹南部建立一個新的國家本身,它面臨著這些領域可能導致國家失敗的內部和外部的障礙。 在接下來的幾個段落,我會分析每個人都可能會導致這些部隊在蘇丹南部的失敗說明,一般步驟,蘇丹南部將需要採取防止這種情況。

減輕大和脆弱人群所面臨的問題是蘇丹南部面臨的最大挑戰之一。 雖然蘇丹南部的確切人數仍然不明,據估計超過800萬人 該地區的暴力歷史悠久的人口創造了巨大的不穩定,和蘇丹南部的獨立前,據估計,超過一半的萬蘇丹尋求鄰近非洲國家難民的保護。 另外一個和一百五十萬蘇丹已在國內流離失所。 這些人口壓力是對症該地區的暴力和貧困的。 蘇丹南部是世界最不發達國家之一,與最壞的孕產婦死亡率低於13不上學的兒童的比例最高;女性文盲比例最高之一。

南部蘇丹政府將努力向這個預應力人口提供公共服務。 國家是大於西班牙和葡萄牙的結合,但有少於100英里鋪平道路 雖然該地區的石油儲備,這些儲備充其量是喜憂參半。 政府依賴石油收入的95% ,使它非常容易在石油價值的波動。 為了避免成為一個失敗的國家,蘇丹南部必須建立基礎設施,以支持它的人口。 這必須包括其經濟多樣化,使國家的前途不銬油。 由於國家失敗,所以往往由弱政府和貧困人口的特點,蘇丹南部的首要任務將包括建立安全,基本服務和石油部門以外的有意義的工作機會。

國家的失敗也往往伴隨著身體失去控制領土或合法使用武力的壟斷。 因此,蘇丹南部還必須解決其與北方領土爭端和工作,以控制內部暴力。 阿卜耶伊地區,特別是蘇丹南部最棘手的地區之一。 蘇丹和蘇丹南部的索賠阿卜耶伊 ,一個地區是已知的石油儲量。 儘管事實上,雙方接受仲裁決定,從 2009年7月在海牙常設仲裁法院發出 ,阿卜耶伊邊界仍然是有爭議的。 今年早些時候,在該地區的暴力行為的報告導致聯合國安理會批准的4200埃塞俄比亞維和部隊的部署六個月。 希望這些可以協助維持和平部隊的蘇丹南部,以確保這些領土爭端的一個長期解決辦法。 邊境資源,保護長期南北之間的長期協議,將是對防止國家失敗的重要一步。

一個國家失敗的另一個指標是無法與其他國家的互動,作為國際社會的正式成員。 蘇丹南部的入口進入聯合國是對鞏固國際認可的第一步。 為了促進發展,蘇丹南部將需要國際關係的進一步發展。 例如,蘇丹南部將可能看,國際金融機構,安全的一攬子援助,訪問的資源和吸引外國直接投資。 美國,尤其是可能發揮關鍵作用,在促進國際社會的支持。 普林斯頓萊曼,美國的蘇丹問題特使,強調這一點,在他之前,參議院外交關係委員會最近所作的證詞

[T]的他對蘇丹南部政府也將取決於國際社會的支持,因為它旨在解決其諸多挑戰。 美國多年來一直提供支持蘇丹南部的重大,蘇丹南部尋求以和平方式迎接這些挑戰,我們將繼續堅定的合作夥伴。 我們兩國人民之間的緊密聯繫,回到幾十年來,我們要繼續建立這種夥伴關係。

蘇丹南部的獨立安全是國際外交的一個重大勝利,但重大的挑戰依然存在提前。 續支持是必要的,如果蘇丹南部是要發展成為一個強大的國家,可以作為在該地區的領導者。

作為這個簡短的分析顯示,顯示故障狀態的​​特徵,往往有一種共生的關係。 例如,領土爭端,削弱了政府和弱政府不能提供基本服務。 因此,需要廣泛的多邊辦法,以促進發展和防止崩潰。

張貼到Twitter

發表評論

丹佛大學斯特姆學院法學

文章日期

2012年7月
中號 ţ W ţ F 小號 小號
«六月
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31

@ View_From_Above

資源
訪問DJILP新聞

Averting State Failure in South Sudan

The South Sudanese Flag

The South Sudanese Flag

On July 14, the U.N. General Assembly voted unanimously to approve South Sudan as the 193rd member of the United Nations. As the United Nations welcomes the new country of South Sudan, some critics are claiming that South Sudan is destined to become a failed state. This raises the question: what is a failed state, and how can South Sudan avoid becoming one?

The Montevideo Convention on Rights and Duties of States codifies the four basic elements of statehood in article 1. To be considered a state, the territorial unit must have:

  • a permanent population;
  • government;
  • defined territory;
  • capacity to enter into relations with other states.

State failure occurs when the country loses control over one or more of these characteristics. For example, The Fund for Peace, the organization that collaborated with Foreign Policy Magazine to create the “Failed State
Index”, recognizes that the attributes of state failure include:

  • demographic pressures and large influxes of refugees and IDPs;
  • the inability to provide reasonable public services;
  • physical loss of control over territory or the monopoly on the legitimate use of force; and
  • the inability to interact with other states as a full member of the international community.

As South Sudan establishes itself as a new nation, it faces both internal and external obstacles in each of these areas that could precipitate state failure. In the next few paragraphs I will analyze how each of these forces could lead to state failure in South Sudan, and what general steps South Sudan will need to take to prevent this.

Alleviating the problems facing its large and vulnerable population is one of the biggest challenges that South Sudan faces. While the exact population of South Sudan remains unknown, it is estimated to be in excess of eight million people. The long history of violence in the region has created enormous instability in the population, and prior to South Sudan’s independence it was estimated that over one half million Sudanese had sought protection as refugees in neighboring African states. A further one and a half million Sudanese had been internally displaced. These population pressures are symptomatic of the violence and poverty of the region. South Sudan is one of the least developed countries in the world, with the worst maternal mortality rate; the highest percentage of children below 13 not attending school; and one of the highest percentages of female illiteracy.

South Sudan’s government will have to work hard to provide public services to this stressed population. The country is larger than Spain and Portugal combined but has less than 100 miles of paved roads. While the region has oil reserves, these reserves are at best a mixed blessing. The government depends on oil for 95% of its revenue, making it extremely susceptible to fluctuations in the value of oil. To avoid becoming a failed state, South Sudan must create infrastructure to support its population. This must include diversifying its economy so the country’s future is not handcuffed to oil. Because state failure is so often characterized by weak government and poor populations, South Sudan’s top priorities will include the establishment of security, basic services, and meaningful work opportunities outside of the oil sector.

State failure is also often accompanied by physical loss of control over territory or the monopoly on the legitimate use of force. Thus, South Sudan must also resolve its territorial disputes with the north and work to control internal violence. The Abyei region, in particular, is one of the most problematic areas for South Sudan. Both Sudan and South Sudan have claims to Abyei, an area that is known to have oil reserves. Despite the fact that both sides accepted an arbitration decision issued from The Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague in July 2009, the Abyei boundary is still disputed. Earlier this year, reports of violence in the area led the UN Security Council to approve the deployment of 4,200 Ethiopian peacekeepers for six months. Hopefully, these peacekeeping forces can assist South Sudan to secure a long term solution to these territorial disputes. Securing a long term agreement between the north and the south over the resources on the border will be an essential step towards preventing state failure.

A further indicator of state failure is an inability to interact with other states on as a full member of the international community. South Sudan’s entry into the United Nations is the first step towards solidifying international recognition. To promote development, South Sudan will need to further develop international ties. For example, South Sudan will probably look to access the resources of International Financial Institutions, secure aid packages, and attract foreign direct investment. The United States, in particular, may play a critical role in facilitating international support. Princeton Lyman, the US’s Special Envoy to Sudan, emphasized this point in his recent testimony before the Senate Foreign Relations committee:

[T]he government of South Sudan will also depend on international support as it seeks to address its many challenges . . . . The United States has provided significant support for South Sudan over the years, and we will remain a steadfast partner as South Sudan seeks to peacefully meet these challenges. The strong ties between our peoples go back many decades, and we want to continue to build on that partnership.

Securing South Sudan’s independence was a major victory for international diplomacy, but significant challenges remain ahead. Continued support is necessary if South Sudan is to develop into a strong state that can act as a leader in the region.

As this brief analysis shows, the characteristics indicating state failure often have a symbiotic relationship. For example, territorial disputes weaken the government and a weak government cannot provide basic services. Therefore, a broad multilateral approach is needed to foster development and prevent collapse.

Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Resources