This page has been translated from English

تجنب فشل الدولة في جنوب السودان

The South Sudanese Flag

الجنوب السوداني العلم

يوم 14 يوليو ، والجمعية العامة للامم المتحدة بالاجماع الموافقة على جنوب السودان حيث من 193 عضوا في الأمم المتحدة. كما ترحب الأمم المتحدة القطري الجديد لجنوب السودان ، بعض النقاد يدعون أن كانت متجهة الى جنوب السودان أصبح دولة فاشلة. هذا يطرح السؤال : ما هي الدولة الفاشلة ، وكيف يمكن تجنب الوقوع في جنوب السودان واحد؟

اتفاقية مونتيفيديو على حقوق الدول وواجباتها يقنن العناصر الأربعة الأساسية للدولة في المادة 1. أن تعتبر الدولة ، ويجب على الوحدة الاقليمية لديك :

  • يبلغ عدد سكانها الدائمين ؛
  • الحكومة ؛
  • تعريف الإقليم ؛
  • القدرة على الدخول في علاقات مع الدول الأخرى.

فشل الدولة يحدث عندما يفقد السيطرة على بلد واحد أو أكثر من هذه الخصائص. على سبيل المثال ، والصندوق من أجل السلام ، وهي المنظمة التي تعاونت مع مجلة السياسة الخارجية لإنشاء دولة "فشل
مؤشر "، تعترف بأن سمات فشل الدولة ما يلي :

  • الضغوط الديمغرافية وتدفقات كبيرة من اللاجئين والمشردين داخليا ؛
  • عدم القدرة على توفير الخدمات العامة معقولة ؛
  • فقدان السيطرة الفعلية على أرض أو على احتكار الاستخدام المشروع للقوة ، و
  • عدم القدرة على التفاعل مع الدول الأخرى باعتبارها عضوا كامل العضوية في المجتمع الدولي.

كما يضع نفسه في جنوب السودان كدولة جديدة ، إلا أنها تواجه عقبات داخلية وخارجية في كل من هذه المجالات التي يمكن أن يتسبب في فشل الدولة. في الفقرات القليلة القادمة سوف يحلل كيف أن كل هذه القوات يمكن أن تؤدي إلى فشل الدولة في جنوب السودان ، وما هي الخطوات العامة في جنوب السودان سوف تحتاج إلى اتخاذها للحيلولة دون ذلك.

التخفيف من حدة المشاكل التي يواجهها السكان الكبير والضعيفة هي واحدة من أكبر التحديات التي تواجه جنوب السودان. في حين أن سكان جنوب السودان الدقيق لا يزال غير معروف ، فمن المقدر أن ما يزيد على ثمانية ملايين شخص . أنشأت تاريخ طويل من العنف في المنطقة عدم الاستقرار الهائل في السكان ، وقبل استقلال جنوب السودان ويقدر أن أكثر من نصف مليون سوداني قد سعت الحماية كلاجئين في الدول الأفريقية المجاورة. وكذلك واحد ونصف مليون سوداني قد نزحوا داخليا. هذه الضغوط السكانية هي من أعراض العنف والفقر في المنطقة. جنوب السودان هي واحدة من أقل البلدان نموا في العالم ، مع معدل وفيات الأمهات أسوأ ، وأعلى نسبة من الأطفال أقل من 13 مدرسة لا يحضرون ، واحدة من أعلى نسب الأمية بين الإناث.

وحكومة جنوب السودان أن تعمل جاهدة لتوفير الخدمات العامة لهذه الفئة من السكان وشدد. البلد هو أكبر من اسبانيا والبرتغال مجتمعة ولكنها أقل من 100 كيلومتر من الطرق المعبدة . في حين ان المنطقة لديها احتياطيات النفط ، وهذه الاحتياطيات هي في أحسن الأحوال نعمة ونقمة. الحكومة تعتمد على النفط في 95 ٪ من ايراداتها ، مما يجعلها عرضة لتقلبات شديدة في قيمة النفط. لتجنب أن تصبح دولة فاشلة ، ويجب تهيئة البنية التحتية في جنوب السودان لدعم سكانها. يجب أن يشمل هذا تنويع اقتصادها بحيث لا يتم مكبل اليدين مستقبل البلاد على النفط. لأنه غالبا ما تتسم فشل الدولة من قبل الحكومة الضعيفة والفئات الفقيرة ، والأولويات في جنوب السودان تشمل إنشاء أعلى من الأمن والخدمات الأساسية ، وتوفير فرص عمل مجدية خارج قطاع النفط.

هو أيضا فشل الدولة كثيرا ما يكون مصحوبا الخسائر المادية من السيطرة على الإقليم أو على احتكار الاستخدام الشرعي للقوة. وبالتالي ، يتعين على جنوب السودان أيضا حل نزاعاتها الاقليمية مع الشمال ، والعمل على السيطرة على العنف الداخلي. منطقة أبيي ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ، هي واحدة من المناطق الأكثر إشكالية لجنوب السودان. كل من السودان وجنوب السودان لديهم مطالبات ل أبيي ، وهي المنطقة التي من المعروف أن لديها احتياطيات النفط. على الرغم من أن كلا الجانبين قبلت قرار التحكيم الصادر من محكمة التحكيم الدائمة في لاهاي في تموز 2009 ، لا يزال هناك نزاع حدود أبيي. في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، أدت تقارير عن أعمال عنف في المنطقة ان مجلس الامن الدولي الموافقة على نشر قوات حفظ السلام الاثيوبية من 4200 لمدة ستة أشهر. نأمل ، يمكن لهذه القوات لحفظ السلام في جنوب السودان المساعدة في تأمين التوصل إلى حل طويل الأمد لهذه النزاعات الإقليمية. وتأمين اتفاق طويل الأمد بين الشمال والجنوب على الموارد على الحدود سيكون خطوة أساسية نحو منع فشل الدولة.

وثمة مؤشر آخر على فشل الدولة هو عدم القدرة على التفاعل مع الدول الأخرى على أن يكون عضوا كامل العضوية في المجتمع الدولي. دخول جنوب السودان الى الامم المتحدة هو الخطوة الأولى نحو ترسيخ الاعتراف الدولي. لتعزيز التنمية ، وجنوب السودان بحاجة إلى مزيد من تطوير العلاقات الدولية. على سبيل المثال ، سوف ننظر في جنوب السودان على الارجح الى الحصول على الموارد من المؤسسات المالية الدولية ، وحزم المساعدات آمنة ، واجتذاب الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر. الولايات المتحدة ، وبخاصة ، قد تلعب دورا حاسما في تسهيل الدعم الدولي. وأكد برينستون ليمان ، المبعوث الخاص للولايات المتحدة إلى السودان ، هذه النقطة في كتابه الأخير شهادة أمام لجنة العلاقات الخارجية بمجلس الشيوخ :

[إن حكومة جنوب السودان سيعتمد أيضا على الدعم الدولي في سعيها لمواجهة التحديات الكثيرة. . . . وقد قدمت الولايات المتحدة دعما كبيرا لجنوب السودان على مدى سنوات ، ونحن سوف تظل شريكا ثابتا في جنوب السودان يسعى لمواجهة هذه التحديات بطريقة سلمية. العلاقات القوية بين شعبينا تعود عقود عديدة ، ونحن نريد أن نواصل البناء على تلك الشراكة.

تأمين استقلال جنوب السودان وكان انتصارا كبيرا للدبلوماسية الدولية ، ولكن تظل هناك تحديات كبيرة أمامنا. الدعم المستمر أمر ضروري إذا كان جنوب السودان لتتطور الى دولة قوية يمكنها أن تعمل كشركة رائدة في المنطقة.

كما يبين هذا التحليل وجيزة ، مشيرا إلى الخصائص فشل الدولة في كثير من الأحيان وجود علاقة تكافلية. على سبيل المثال ، والنزاعات الإقليمية اضعاف الحكومة وتشكيل حكومة ضعيفة لا تستطيع أن توفر الخدمات الأساسية. لذا ، هناك حاجة إلى نهج واسع متعدد الأطراف لتعزيز التنمية ومنع الانهيار.

آخر إلى تويتر

ترك الرد

@ View_From_Above

زيارة مركز الأنباء DJILP

المشاركات حسب التاريخ

يوليو 2011
M T W T F S S
«يونيو
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Averting State Failure in South Sudan

The South Sudanese Flag

The South Sudanese Flag

On July 14, the U.N. General Assembly voted unanimously to approve South Sudan as the 193rd member of the United Nations. As the United Nations welcomes the new country of South Sudan, some critics are claiming that South Sudan is destined to become a failed state. This raises the question: what is a failed state, and how can South Sudan avoid becoming one?

The Montevideo Convention on Rights and Duties of States codifies the four basic elements of statehood in article 1. To be considered a state, the territorial unit must have:

  • a permanent population;
  • government;
  • defined territory;
  • capacity to enter into relations with other states.

State failure occurs when the country loses control over one or more of these characteristics. For example, The Fund for Peace, the organization that collaborated with Foreign Policy Magazine to create the “Failed State
Index”, recognizes that the attributes of state failure include:

  • demographic pressures and large influxes of refugees and IDPs;
  • the inability to provide reasonable public services;
  • physical loss of control over territory or the monopoly on the legitimate use of force; and
  • the inability to interact with other states as a full member of the international community.

As South Sudan establishes itself as a new nation, it faces both internal and external obstacles in each of these areas that could precipitate state failure. In the next few paragraphs I will analyze how each of these forces could lead to state failure in South Sudan, and what general steps South Sudan will need to take to prevent this.

Alleviating the problems facing its large and vulnerable population is one of the biggest challenges that South Sudan faces. While the exact population of South Sudan remains unknown, it is estimated to be in excess of eight million people. The long history of violence in the region has created enormous instability in the population, and prior to South Sudan’s independence it was estimated that over one half million Sudanese had sought protection as refugees in neighboring African states. A further one and a half million Sudanese had been internally displaced. These population pressures are symptomatic of the violence and poverty of the region. South Sudan is one of the least developed countries in the world, with the worst maternal mortality rate; the highest percentage of children below 13 not attending school; and one of the highest percentages of female illiteracy.

South Sudan’s government will have to work hard to provide public services to this stressed population. The country is larger than Spain and Portugal combined but has less than 100 miles of paved roads. While the region has oil reserves, these reserves are at best a mixed blessing. The government depends on oil for 95% of its revenue, making it extremely susceptible to fluctuations in the value of oil. To avoid becoming a failed state, South Sudan must create infrastructure to support its population. This must include diversifying its economy so the country’s future is not handcuffed to oil. Because state failure is so often characterized by weak government and poor populations, South Sudan’s top priorities will include the establishment of security, basic services, and meaningful work opportunities outside of the oil sector.

State failure is also often accompanied by physical loss of control over territory or the monopoly on the legitimate use of force. Thus, South Sudan must also resolve its territorial disputes with the north and work to control internal violence. The Abyei region, in particular, is one of the most problematic areas for South Sudan. Both Sudan and South Sudan have claims to Abyei, an area that is known to have oil reserves. Despite the fact that both sides accepted an arbitration decision issued from The Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague in July 2009, the Abyei boundary is still disputed. Earlier this year, reports of violence in the area led the UN Security Council to approve the deployment of 4,200 Ethiopian peacekeepers for six months. Hopefully, these peacekeeping forces can assist South Sudan to secure a long term solution to these territorial disputes. Securing a long term agreement between the north and the south over the resources on the border will be an essential step towards preventing state failure.

A further indicator of state failure is an inability to interact with other states on as a full member of the international community. South Sudan’s entry into the United Nations is the first step towards solidifying international recognition. To promote development, South Sudan will need to further develop international ties. For example, South Sudan will probably look to access the resources of International Financial Institutions, secure aid packages, and attract foreign direct investment. The United States, in particular, may play a critical role in facilitating international support. Princeton Lyman, the US’s Special Envoy to Sudan, emphasized this point in his recent testimony before the Senate Foreign Relations committee:

[T]he government of South Sudan will also depend on international support as it seeks to address its many challenges . . . . The United States has provided significant support for South Sudan over the years, and we will remain a steadfast partner as South Sudan seeks to peacefully meet these challenges. The strong ties between our peoples go back many decades, and we want to continue to build on that partnership.

Securing South Sudan’s independence was a major victory for international diplomacy, but significant challenges remain ahead. Continued support is necessary if South Sudan is to develop into a strong state that can act as a leader in the region.

As this brief analysis shows, the characteristics indicating state failure often have a symbiotic relationship. For example, territorial disputes weaken the government and a weak government cannot provide basic services. Therefore, a broad multilateral approach is needed to foster development and prevent collapse.

Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Resources