This page has been translated from English

分類| 地球的未來TVFA

海盜:從民航借款

在索馬里沿海的海盜活動日益威脅著國際危機持續螺旋進入,在亞丁灣在2011年上半年增加攻擊。 當越來越多的國家已在本國法庭起訴海盜在過去一年中,聯合國官員表示,多達 90%的國家的海軍抓獲的海盜隨後釋放,由於複雜的法律和金融相關的負擔與起訴。 在尋找解決當前的海盜問題,國際民用航空安全的法律措施可能提供的洞察力

航空公司劫機事件的一個全球趨勢,在20世紀 60年代後期開始,並最終在2001年9月11日,恐怖襲擊事件,催化各種舉措,提高了航空安全的療效。 國際民用航空安全的法律制度,通過各項國際條約,公約,協議,和重要的國際機構的宣言和決議。 在特別的國際協定,體現了法律的格言或引渡審判,各國有義務起訴或引渡被告是國際航空保安制度的重要組成部分。 美國,作為世界上最大的航空市場,也有助於國際民用航空安全制度通過其國內立法。 在當今時代的不同時期,美國利用經濟槓桿推動其國內聯邦航空局安全審計監察非各國遵守禁止進入機場的安全標準的遵守情況。

這種廣泛的法律框架提供了一個寶貴的各種利益相關者,以解決國際犯罪的趨勢之間的合作和協作的例子。 雖然有航空公司劫機事件和海盜之間由於背景和法律的區別,在制定一個比喻,必須考慮的限制,有利於法律比較顯著的相似之處。

Borrowing from Civil Aviation

借用民航

特別是,消除劫機者的避風港,似乎是一種有效的威懾因素,可通知有關海盜的舉措。 在航空安全,起訴或引渡的做法已經取得了明顯遏制劫機事件的影響。 例如,在20世紀 60年代和70年代在美國航空公司劫持危機的大部分是由冷戰時期的涉及古巴政治難民尋求避風港在美國或古巴(取決於他們的政治傾向)的動機驅動。 1973年,美國和古巴交換了外交照會,構成了一項諒解備忘錄,這兩個國家都將作為一個劫機者的避風港。 根據這一協議,企圖劫持飛機在美國的數量下降到每年25劫機顯著之前只有一個下一年的協議。 這種顯著的變化表明了劫機者的避難所民族的存在使古巴劫持的問題。

海盜的國際法律制度存在類似的引渡或起訴的規定,但與國際遵守這些規定沒有得到匹配。 無法依靠索馬里起訴在其邊界內的海盜,國際社會必須至少暫時,尋求制止和消除通過起訴索馬里目前的司法系統之外的避風港。 國際協定的規定,迫使國家起訴盜版犯罪嫌疑人,或將他們引渡到另一個國家願意起訴的執法是一個解決方案的重要組成部分。 為了確保遵守,國際社會或美國應考慮,如在民用航空安全的用於驅動這些重要的國際協議的遵守的強制機制。

鏡子機場的保安措施,旨在阻止滲透在機場的安全基礎設施的舉措也可能提供反盜版解決方案。 雖然增加了港口安全可能低於其機場對口的有效,港口可能作為檢查站,以確定是否船舶裝備,實施盜版的威懾戰略,如國際公認的最佳管理實踐(BMPS)。 目前,它認為,船公司不總是聘請海事安全專家建議 BMPs的。 船舶仍然脆弱的強盜行為和攻擊繼續取得成功,盜版問題延續。

已使用的經濟制裁,以打擊恐怖主義航空公司也可能被用來針對盜版犯罪的金融家。 這些措施已經落實到某種程度上通過美國財政部外國資產控制,管理和執行外交政策和國家安全目標的基礎上的經濟和貿易制裁辦公室的國內一級。 一個執行令奧巴馬總統年4月12,二零一零年發出的,授權對制裁“誰搞在或支持盜版行為索馬里海岸,包括誰提供武器,通訊設備,或小型船隻和其他設備海盜的。 “,請這種做法是令人鼓舞的,制裁可能效果有限,因為海盜往往與流動性資產運作。

盜版危機影響的各利益相關者之間的溝通,也可能是由國際航空公司安全制度的通知。 有論者認為,國際民用航空組織(ICAO)和其在航空運輸中的作用可以作為一個安全合作的模式,可以在海上共同翻譯通過現有的機構,如國際海事組織。 特別是國際民航組織的成功可以作為一個國際機構的模型,以支持增強國際海上態勢感知能力和安全合作的全球框架。

必須全面,有效地解決了在索馬里沿海的海盜危機的任何解決方案。 雖然港口安全,以確保遵守與 BMPs的,針對盜版的金融家的經濟制裁,並增強利益相關者之間的溝通是重要的考慮因素,盜版問題是不可能被根除,而國家海軍繼續追趕,並釋放盜版犯罪嫌疑人。 民用航空安全的法律規定適用於國際社會的能力,以加強起訴或引渡恐怖分子和劫機者的例子。 反盜版的利益相關者,包括各國政府,航運業,並負責確保國際和平與安全的國際組織,應考慮在通過的法律責任限制航空公司劫機,這些成功的,因為他們攜手合作,在亞丁灣盜版統治。

-

除了 ​​盜版工作題為“ 從民航借用海洋這篇文章被改編的國際法關閉索馬里海岸海盜流行的現代海洋航空公司劫持提供解決方案 ? “請聯繫理查德L ·基爾帕特里克,小在或問題rkilpatr@tulane.edu

投遞到Twitter

“海盜 2對策:從民航借款”

  1. 丹聖約翰 說:

    由於海盜活動違反了國際法的強制性規範,我不知道國際法庭可以發揮什麼樣的作用在控制盜版。 一個國際海軍特遣部隊已經在亞丁灣,海盜被捕獲時,他們可以被發送到一個國際法庭。 國際刑事法院或特設法庭對盜版或許能聽到盜版檢控。 這似乎解決的司法管轄權的關注。 雖然,建立一個新的法庭或國際刑事法院提交案件的成本,這有點不切實際,因為大量的“小時間”海盜。

    喜歡或不喜歡: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. RLK 說:

    成本是一個主要問題國際法庭。 這就是說,盧旺達問題國際法庭的(盧旺達問題國際刑事法庭),預計包裝的東西,在未來幾年,在坦桑尼亞的這些訴訟使用的設施可能安置在該地區的國際化盜版法庭可因此降低成本。 秘書長的報告,7月開始討論這在一定程度上。 在這裡看到: http://daccess-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/N11/358/22/PDF/N1135822.pdf?OpenElement

    喜歡或不喜歡: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

引用/ Pingbacks


    留下!

    訪問 DJILP新聞

    @ View_From_Above

    職位日期

    2011年10月
    中號 T W T F 小號 小號
    «九月
    1 2
    3 4 5 6 7 8 9
    10 11 12 13 14 15 16
    17 18 19 20 21 22 23
    24 25 26 27 28 29 30
    31
    丹佛大學斯特姆學院法學

Categorized | One Earth Future, TVFA Posts

Maritime Piracy: Borrowing from Civil Aviation

Maritime piracy off the coast of Somalia continues to spiral into an increasingly threatening international crisis, with attacks in the Gulf of Aden increasing during the first half of 2011. While more states have been prosecuting pirates in their national courts during the last year, United Nations officials have indicated that as many as 90% of pirates captured by national navies are subsequently released due to complicated legal and financial burdens associated with prosecution. In the search for solutions to the current maritime piracy problem, international legal initiatives addressing civil aviation security may offer insight

A global trend of airline hijackings beginning in the late 1960s and culminating in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, catalyzed various initiatives that have improved the efficacy of aviation security. The international legal regime governing civil aviation security developed through various international treaties, conventions, agreements, and declarations and resolutions from important international institutions. In particular, international agreements embodying the legal maxim aut dedere aut judicare—the obligation of states to prosecute or extradite the accused—are an important component of the international aviation security regime. The United States, as the world’s largest aviation market, has also contributed to the international civil aviation security regime through its domestic legislation. At various times in the modern era, the United States has used economic leverage to propel compliance with its domestic security standards monitored by Federal Aviation Administration security audits by barring non-complying states from access to its airports.

This broad legal framework offers a valuable example of cooperation and collaboration between various stakeholders to address a trend in international crime. While there are limitations that must be considered in drawing an analogy between airline hijackings and maritime piracy due to contextual and legal distinctions, there are significant similarities conducive to legal comparison.

Borrowing from Civil Aviation

Borrowing from Civil Aviation

In particular, the elimination of safe havens for airline hijackers appears to be an effective deterring factor that may inform initiatives relevant to maritime piracy. In aviation security, prosecute-or-extradite approaches have made a discernible impact on deterring hijackings. For example, much of the airline hijacking crisis in the United States during the 1960s and 1970s was driven by Cold War-era motivations involving Cuban political refugees seeking a safe haven in the United States or Cuba (depending on their political orientation). In 1973, the United States and Cuba exchanged diplomatic notes constituting a Memorandum of Understanding that neither country would serve as a safe haven for hijackers. Following this agreement, the number of attempted hijackings of aircraft in the United States dropped significantly from 25 hijackings per year prior to the agreement to only one the following year. This remarkable change suggests that the existence of a sanctuary nation for hijackers enabled the Cuban hijacking problem.

Similar extradite-or-prosecute provisions exist in the international legal regime governing maritime piracy, yet these provisions have not been matched with international compliance. Being unable to rely on Somalia to prosecute pirates within its borders, the international community must, at least temporarily, seek to deter and eliminate safe havens through prosecution outside the current Somali judicial system. The enforcement of international agreements with provisions obliging states to prosecute piracy suspects or extradite them to another state willing to prosecute is a vital part of the solution. To ensure compliance, the international community or the United States should consider coercive mechanisms such as those used in civil aviation security to drive compliance with these important international agreements.

Initiatives that mirror airport security measures designed to deter infiltration of the security infrastructure at airports may also offer anti-piracy solutions. While increased port security may be less effective than its airport counterpart, ports may serve as checkpoints to determine whether ships are outfitted to implement piracy-deterring strategies, such as internationally recognized Best Management Practices (BMPs). Currently, it is believed that shipping companies do not always employ BMPs as suggested by maritime security experts. As ships remain vulnerable to piratical acts and attacks continue to be successful, the piracy problem is perpetuated.

Economic sanctions that have been used to fight airline terrorism may also being used to target financers of piracy crimes. Such measures have already be implemented to some degree on the domestic level through the United States Department of Treasury Office of Foreign Assets Control, which administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on foreign policy and national security goals. An Executive Order issued by President Obama on April 12, 2010, authorized sanctions on “those who engage in or support acts of piracy off Somalia’s coast, including those who provide weapons, communication devices, or small boats and other equipment to pirates.” While this approach is encouraging, sanctions may have limited effect because pirates often operate with liquid assets.

Communication between various stakeholders affected by the piracy crisis may also be informed by the international airline security regime. Some commentators have suggested that the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and its role in air transportation could serve as a model for security cooperation that could translate in the maritime commons through existing bodies such as the International Maritime Organization. In particular, ICAO’s success may serve as a model for an international agency to support an enhanced global framework for international maritime situational awareness and security cooperation.

Any solution to effectively address the maritime piracy crises off the coast of Somalia must be comprehensive. While port security to ensure compliance with BMPs, economic sanctions targeted at piracy financers, and enhanced communication among stakeholders are important considerations, the problem of piracy is unlikely to be eradicated while national navies continue to catch and release piracy suspects. Civil aviation security law provides an applicable example of the international community’s capacity to enforce prosecution or extradition of terrorists and hijackers. Anti-piracy stakeholders, including national governments, the shipping industry, and international organizations tasked with ensuring international peace and security, should consider these successes in limiting airline hijackings through legal accountability as they work together to reign in piracy in the Gulf of Aden.

This post was adapted from the Oceans Beyond Piracy working paper entitled “Borrowing from Civil Aviation: Does International Law Governing Airline Hijacking Offer Solutions to the Modern Maritime Piracy Epidemic off the Coast of Somalia?” Please contact Richard L. Kilpatrick, Jr. with comments or questions at rkilpatr@tulane.edu.

2 Responses to “Maritime Piracy: Borrowing from Civil Aviation”

  1. Dan St. John says:

    Since maritime piracy violates a peremptory norm of international law, I wonder what role international tribunals could play in controlling piracy. An international naval task force is already operating on the Gulf of Aden, so when pirates are captured, they could be sent to an international tribunal. Perhaps the International Criminal Court or an ad hoc Tribunal for Piracy could hear piracy prosecutions. This would seem to address the jurisdictional concerns. Although, the cost of establishing a new tribunal or referring cases to the ICC would make this somewhat impractical given the large number of “small time” pirates.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. RLK says:

    Cost is a major problem for the international tribunals. That said, the ICTR (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda) is expected to wrap things up in the next couple of years and the facilities in Tanzania used for those proceedings could potentially house an internationalized piracy tribunal in the region which could consequently cut costs. The Secretary General report that came out in July discussed this to some degree. See here: http://daccess-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/N11/358/22/PDF/N1135822.pdf?OpenElement

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors