This page has been translated from English

القرصنة البحرية : الاقتراض من الطيران المدني

القرصنة البحرية قبالة سواحل الصومال في دوامة لا تزال أزمة دولية تهدد على نحو متزايد ، مع الهجمات في خليج عدن زيادة خلال النصف الأول من عام 2011. في حين أن أكثر الدول وقد تم ملاحقة القراصنة في محاكمها الوطنية خلال العام الماضي ، وأشار مسؤولون من الامم المتحدة التي تم إصدارها في وقت لاحق ما يصل الى 90 ٪ من القراصنة التي استولت عليها القوات البحرية الوطنية بسبب تعقيد الأعباء القانونية والمالية المرتبطة الملاحقة القضائية. في البحث عن حلول لمشكلة القرصنة البحرية الحالية ، قد المبادرات القانونية الدولية التي تعالج أمن الطيران المدني تقدم رؤية

وهناك اتجاه عالمي للاختطاف الناقلة بداية في أواخر 1960s وبلغت ذروتها في هجمات 11 سبتمبر الارهابية عام 2001 ، حفز المبادرات المختلفة التي عملت على تحسين فعالية أمن الطيران. النظام القانوني الدولي الذي يحكم أمن الطيران المدني وضعت من خلال العديد من المعاهدات الدولية والاتفاقيات والاتفاقات والإعلانات والقرارات من المؤسسات الدولية الهامة. في الاتفاقات ، ولا سيما الدولية التي تجسد المبدأ القانوني مبدأ التسليم أو المحاكمة ، واجب الدول في محاكمة أو تسليم المتهمين ، وعنصرا هاما من عناصر أمن النظام الدولي للطيران. الولايات المتحدة ، والسوق الأكبر في العالم والطيران ، وساهمت أيضا في نظام أمن الطيران المدني الدولي من خلال تشريعها الداخلي. في أوقات مختلفة في العصر الحديث ، وقد استخدمت الولايات المتحدة قوتها الاقتصادية لدفع الامتثال للمعايير الأمنية المحلية ترصدها الطيران الاتحادية التدقيقات الأمنية التي تمنع الإدارة غير تمتثل الدول من الوصول الى مطاراتها.

هذا الإطار القانوني واسعة مثالا قيما للتعاون والتآزر بين مختلف الجهات المعنية للتصدي لهذا الاتجاه في الجريمة الدولية. في حين أن هناك حدودا يجب النظر في الرسم وجود تشابه بين شركات الطيران وعمليات الاختطاف القرصنة البحرية بسبب الفروق السياقية والقانونية ، وهناك أوجه تشابه كبيرة تفضي إلى المقارنة القانونية.

Borrowing from Civil Aviation

الاقتراض من الطيران المدني

على وجه الخصوص ، والقضاء على الملاذات الآمنة لمختطفي الطائرات ويبدو أن عامل ردع فعال يمكن أن تبلغ من المبادرات ذات الصلة للقرصنة البحرية. في مجال أمن الطيران ، جعلت المحاكمة أو تسليمهم النهج له تأثير يذكر على ردع عمليات الاختطاف. على سبيل المثال ، كان مدفوعا بكثير من أزمة اختطاف الناقلة في الولايات المتحدة خلال 1960s و 1970s الدوافع التي حقبة الحرب الباردة التي تشمل اللاجئين السياسيين الكوبيين الذين يبحثون عن ملاذ آمن في الولايات المتحدة أو في كوبا (اعتمادا على ميولهم السياسية). في عام 1973 ، تبادلت الولايات المتحدة وكوبا المذكرات الدبلوماسية التي تشكل مذكرة التفاهم التي لا تخدم البلاد كملاذ آمن للخاطفين. بعد هذا الاتفاق ، وانخفض عدد عمليات خطف الطائرات في محاولة للولايات المتحدة بشكل ملحوظ في الفترة من 25 خطف في السنة السابقة على اتفاق لسنة واحدة فقط التالي. هذا التغيير الملحوظ يشير إلى أن وجود الأمة ملاذا للخاطفين تمكين المشكلة الكوبية الخطف.

تسليم مماثلة أو محاكمة ، الأحكام موجودة في النظام القانوني الدولي الذي يحكم القرصنة البحرية ، ولكن لم تكن هذه الأحكام المتطابقة مع الالتزام الدولي. عدم القدرة على الاعتماد على الصومال لملاحقة القراصنة داخل حدودها ، يجب على المجتمع الدولي ، على الأقل مؤقتا ، والسعي لردع والقضاء على الملاذات الآمنة من خلال الملاحقة القضائية خارج النظام القضائي الحالي في الصومال. تطبيق الاتفاقيات الدولية مع أحكام تلزم الدول لمحاكمة المشتبه بهم القرصنة أو تسليمهم إلى دولة أخرى مستعدة لمقاضاة هو جزء حيوي من الحل. لضمان الامتثال ، وينبغي للمجتمع الدولي أو الولايات المتحدة النظر في آليات قسرية مثل تلك المستخدمة في مجال أمن الطيران المدني لدفع هذه الامتثال للاتفاقات الدولية الهامة.

المبادرات التي يمكن أن التدابير التي تستهدف أمن المطارات مرآة لردع عمليات التسلل من البنية التحتية الأمنية في المطارات كما تقدم الحلول لمكافحة القرصنة. في حين زادت أمن الموانئ قد يكون أقل فعالية من نظيره مطارها ، قد تكون بمثابة منافذ نقاط التفتيش لتحديد ما إذا كان يتم تجهيزه لتنفيذ سفن القرصنة ردع استراتيجيات ، مثل أفضل الممارسات المعترف بها دوليا لإدارة (أفضل الممارسات الإدارية). حاليا ، يعتقد أن شركات الشحن لا تستخدم دائما أفضل الممارسات الإدارية على النحو المقترح من قبل خبراء الأمن البحري. كما لا تزال السفن عرضة لأعمال القرصنة والاعتداءات لا تزال ناجحة ، ويديم على مشكلة القرصنة.

ويمكن أيضا العقوبات الاقتصادية التي تم استخدامها في مكافحة الإرهاب شركة طيران تستخدم لاستهداف الممولين من جرائم القرصنة. بالفعل مثل هذه التدابير أن تنفذ إلى حد ما على الصعيد المحلي من خلال وزارة خارجية الولايات المتحدة لمكتب وزارة الخزانة لمراقبة الأصول الأجنبية ، والذي يدير ويفرض عقوبات اقتصادية وتجارية على أساس أهداف السياسة الخارجية والأمن القومي. أذن الأمر التنفيذي الصادر عن الرئيس أوباما في 12 نيسان ، 2010 ، عقوبات على "أولئك الذين ينخرطون في أو دعم أعمال القرصنة قبالة سواحل الصومال ، بما في ذلك أولئك الذين يقدمون الأسلحة وأجهزة الاتصالات ، أو قوارب صغيرة ومعدات أخرى للقراصنة." في حين هذا النهج هو مشجع ، قد يكون لها تأثير عقوبات محدودة لأن القراصنة غالبا ما تعمل مع الأصول السائلة.

ويمكن أيضا الاتصال بين مختلف الجهات المعنية المتضررة من أزمة القرصنة يكون أبلغ من قبل النظام طيران الأمن الدولي. وقد اقترح بعض المعلقين أن منظمة الطيران المدني الدولي (الايكاو) ودورها في مجال النقل الجوي يمكن أن يكون نموذجا للتعاون الأمني ​​والتي قد تتحول في المشاعات البحرية من خلال الهيئات القائمة مثل المنظمة البحرية الدولية. على وجه الخصوص ، قد نجاح الايكاو نموذجا في وكالة دولية لدعم وضع إطار عالمي لتعزيز الوعي الدولي الظرفية البحري والتعاون الأمني.

لا بد لأي حل من أجل التصدي بفعالية للأزمات القرصنة البحرية قبالة سواحل الصومال تكون شاملة. بينما أمن الموانئ لضمان الامتثال لأفضل الممارسات الإدارية ، والعقوبات الاقتصادية التي تستهدف الممولين القرصنة ، وتعزيز الاتصال بين أصحاب المصلحة هي اعتبارات هامة ، ومشكلة القرصنة من غير المحتمل أن يتم استئصاله في حين تواصل القوات البحرية الوطنية للقبض على المشتبه بهم والافراج عن القرصنة. قانون أمن الطيران المدني مثالا للتطبيق من قدرة المجتمع الدولي على فرض محاكمة أو تسليم الإرهابيين والخاطفين. وينبغي لمكافحة القرصنة أصحاب المصلحة ، بما في ذلك الحكومات الوطنية ، وصناعة النقل البحري ، والمنظمات الدولية المكلفة ضمان السلم والأمن الدوليين ، والنظر في الحد من هذه النجاحات من خلال خطف الناقلة للمساءلة القانونية كما أنهم يعملون معا لكبح جماح القرصنة في خليج عدن.

--

وقد تم تكييف هذه الوظيفة من وراء المحيطات القرصنة ورقة عمل بعنوان " الاقتراض من الطيران المدني : هل القانون الدولي التي تحكم العرض حلول الطيران لاختطاف وباء القرصنة البحرية الحديثة قبالة سواحل الصومال؟ "يرجى الاتصال ريتشارد لام كيلباتريك ، الابن مع تعليقات أو أسئلة في rkilpatr@tulane.edu .

آخر إلى تويتر

2 الردود على "القرصنة البحرية : الاقتراض من الطيران المدني"

  1. دان القديس يوحنا يقول :

    منذ القرصنة البحرية يخالف قاعدة آمرة من قواعد القانون الدولي ، وأتساءل ما هو الدور الذي يمكن أن تؤديه المحاكم الدولية في مكافحة القرصنة. مهمة قوة بحرية دولية تعمل بالفعل على خليج عدن ، وذلك عندما يتم التقاط القراصنة ، ويمكن إرسالها إلى محكمة دولية. ربما يمكن للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية أو محكمة مخصصة لسماع الدعاوى القرصنة القرصنة. هذا من شأنه أن يبدو لمعالجة المخاوف من الولاية القضائية. وعلى الرغم من أن التكاليف المترتبة على إنشاء محكمة جديدة أو إحالة القضايا إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية تجعل من هذا إلى حد ما غير عملي نظرا للعدد الكبير من القراصنة "الوقت صغيرة".

    يحبون أو يكرهون : Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. RLK يقول :

    التكلفة هي مشكلة كبرى بالنسبة للمحاكم الدولية. وقال أنه من المتوقع أن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية (المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لرواندا) لانهاء الامور في العامين المقبلين والتسهيلات في تنزانيا تستخدم لتلك الإجراءات يمكن أن يحتمل منزل محكمة مدولة القرصنة في المنطقة والتي يمكن بالتالي خفض التكاليف. مناقشة تقرير الأمين العام التي جاءت في شهر يوليو من هذا إلى حد ما. انظر هنا : http://daccess-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/N11/358/22/PDF/N1135822.pdf؟OpenElement

    يحبون أو يكرهون : Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

ال trackbacks / pingbacks


    ترك الرد

    @ View_From_Above

    زيارة مركز الأنباء DJILP

    المشاركات حسب التاريخ

    أغسطس 2011
    M T W T F S S
    «يوليو
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    8 9 10 11 12 13 14
    15 16 17 18 19 20 21
    22 23 24 25 26 27 28
    29 30 31
    جامعة دنفر شتورم كلية القانون

Categorized | One Earth Future, TVFA Posts

Maritime Piracy: Borrowing from Civil Aviation

Maritime piracy off the coast of Somalia continues to spiral into an increasingly threatening international crisis, with attacks in the Gulf of Aden increasing during the first half of 2011. While more states have been prosecuting pirates in their national courts during the last year, United Nations officials have indicated that as many as 90% of pirates captured by national navies are subsequently released due to complicated legal and financial burdens associated with prosecution. In the search for solutions to the current maritime piracy problem, international legal initiatives addressing civil aviation security may offer insight

A global trend of airline hijackings beginning in the late 1960s and culminating in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, catalyzed various initiatives that have improved the efficacy of aviation security. The international legal regime governing civil aviation security developed through various international treaties, conventions, agreements, and declarations and resolutions from important international institutions. In particular, international agreements embodying the legal maxim aut dedere aut judicare—the obligation of states to prosecute or extradite the accused—are an important component of the international aviation security regime. The United States, as the world’s largest aviation market, has also contributed to the international civil aviation security regime through its domestic legislation. At various times in the modern era, the United States has used economic leverage to propel compliance with its domestic security standards monitored by Federal Aviation Administration security audits by barring non-complying states from access to its airports.

This broad legal framework offers a valuable example of cooperation and collaboration between various stakeholders to address a trend in international crime. While there are limitations that must be considered in drawing an analogy between airline hijackings and maritime piracy due to contextual and legal distinctions, there are significant similarities conducive to legal comparison.

Borrowing from Civil Aviation

Borrowing from Civil Aviation

In particular, the elimination of safe havens for airline hijackers appears to be an effective deterring factor that may inform initiatives relevant to maritime piracy. In aviation security, prosecute-or-extradite approaches have made a discernible impact on deterring hijackings. For example, much of the airline hijacking crisis in the United States during the 1960s and 1970s was driven by Cold War-era motivations involving Cuban political refugees seeking a safe haven in the United States or Cuba (depending on their political orientation). In 1973, the United States and Cuba exchanged diplomatic notes constituting a Memorandum of Understanding that neither country would serve as a safe haven for hijackers. Following this agreement, the number of attempted hijackings of aircraft in the United States dropped significantly from 25 hijackings per year prior to the agreement to only one the following year. This remarkable change suggests that the existence of a sanctuary nation for hijackers enabled the Cuban hijacking problem.

Similar extradite-or-prosecute provisions exist in the international legal regime governing maritime piracy, yet these provisions have not been matched with international compliance. Being unable to rely on Somalia to prosecute pirates within its borders, the international community must, at least temporarily, seek to deter and eliminate safe havens through prosecution outside the current Somali judicial system. The enforcement of international agreements with provisions obliging states to prosecute piracy suspects or extradite them to another state willing to prosecute is a vital part of the solution. To ensure compliance, the international community or the United States should consider coercive mechanisms such as those used in civil aviation security to drive compliance with these important international agreements.

Initiatives that mirror airport security measures designed to deter infiltration of the security infrastructure at airports may also offer anti-piracy solutions. While increased port security may be less effective than its airport counterpart, ports may serve as checkpoints to determine whether ships are outfitted to implement piracy-deterring strategies, such as internationally recognized Best Management Practices (BMPs). Currently, it is believed that shipping companies do not always employ BMPs as suggested by maritime security experts. As ships remain vulnerable to piratical acts and attacks continue to be successful, the piracy problem is perpetuated.

Economic sanctions that have been used to fight airline terrorism may also being used to target financers of piracy crimes. Such measures have already be implemented to some degree on the domestic level through the United States Department of Treasury Office of Foreign Assets Control, which administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on foreign policy and national security goals. An Executive Order issued by President Obama on April 12, 2010, authorized sanctions on “those who engage in or support acts of piracy off Somalia’s coast, including those who provide weapons, communication devices, or small boats and other equipment to pirates.” While this approach is encouraging, sanctions may have limited effect because pirates often operate with liquid assets.

Communication between various stakeholders affected by the piracy crisis may also be informed by the international airline security regime. Some commentators have suggested that the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and its role in air transportation could serve as a model for security cooperation that could translate in the maritime commons through existing bodies such as the International Maritime Organization. In particular, ICAO’s success may serve as a model for an international agency to support an enhanced global framework for international maritime situational awareness and security cooperation.

Any solution to effectively address the maritime piracy crises off the coast of Somalia must be comprehensive. While port security to ensure compliance with BMPs, economic sanctions targeted at piracy financers, and enhanced communication among stakeholders are important considerations, the problem of piracy is unlikely to be eradicated while national navies continue to catch and release piracy suspects. Civil aviation security law provides an applicable example of the international community’s capacity to enforce prosecution or extradition of terrorists and hijackers. Anti-piracy stakeholders, including national governments, the shipping industry, and international organizations tasked with ensuring international peace and security, should consider these successes in limiting airline hijackings through legal accountability as they work together to reign in piracy in the Gulf of Aden.

This post was adapted from the Oceans Beyond Piracy working paper entitled “Borrowing from Civil Aviation: Does International Law Governing Airline Hijacking Offer Solutions to the Modern Maritime Piracy Epidemic off the Coast of Somalia?” Please contact Richard L. Kilpatrick, Jr. with comments or questions at rkilpatr@tulane.edu.

2 Responses to “Maritime Piracy: Borrowing from Civil Aviation”

  1. Dan St. John says:

    Since maritime piracy violates a peremptory norm of international law, I wonder what role international tribunals could play in controlling piracy. An international naval task force is already operating on the Gulf of Aden, so when pirates are captured, they could be sent to an international tribunal. Perhaps the International Criminal Court or an ad hoc Tribunal for Piracy could hear piracy prosecutions. This would seem to address the jurisdictional concerns. Although, the cost of establishing a new tribunal or referring cases to the ICC would make this somewhat impractical given the large number of “small time” pirates.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. RLK says:

    Cost is a major problem for the international tribunals. That said, the ICTR (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda) is expected to wrap things up in the next couple of years and the facilities in Tanzania used for those proceedings could potentially house an internationalized piracy tribunal in the region which could consequently cut costs. The Secretary General report that came out in July discussed this to some degree. See here: http://daccess-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/N11/358/22/PDF/N1135822.pdf?OpenElement

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors