This page has been translated from English

الصينية وجهات نظر الجزء 5 : حقوق الإنسان

Protester in China

متظاهر في الصين

مثل التنمية المستدامة ، وينظر الصينيون تعزيز حقوق الإنسان ، كما تسبب على حد سواء وعملية -- واحد التي ينبغي السعي في جميع الأوقات ، ولكن مع اتباع نهج تدريجي مما أدى إلى التغييرات التي سيكون بطيئا في المقبلة. في العقود الثلاثة الماضية ، عملية الصين الانفتاح رفعت 300 مليون شخص من براثن الفقر . هذا بقدر ما هو تحقيق حقوق الإنسان كما هي اقتصادية. زيادة نجاح الصين الاقتصادي جنبا إلى جنب مع الاصلاحات الدستورية والإدارية ، والمشاركة في أنشطة الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان ، والتطورات في نظام العدالة الجنائية الصينية تشير إلى أن الأمة هي جادة في إدخال تحسينات على سجلها في مجال حقوق الإنسان. لكن الصين تصر على ان وجهة نظره في بعض وسائل مختلفة عن تلك التي intractably الغرب فيما يتعلق بحقوق الإنسان.

هناك أربعة التطورات الدستورية الرئيسية التي حدثت خلال العقدين ونصف العام الماضي ان لديها القدرة على تحسين وضع حقوق الإنسان في الصين. أولا ، أدى إلى تعديل الدستور عام 1988 لإضفاء الشرعية على الاقتصاد الصيني خاصة في وجود تحسن في الوضع الإنساني ، على الأقل بالنسبة لأولئك القادرين على المشاركة في التوسع الاقتصادي اللاحقة. وقد عزز هذا التطور في عام 1993 ، عندما تم تعديل الدستور الصيني على تأييد رسمي اقتصاد السوق. استغرق الثالث تغيير دستوري مهم في عام 1999 عندما تم رسميا المكرسة لسيادة القانون في الدستور. أخيرا ، في عام 2004 ، والصين أيدت صراحة بحقوق الإنسان على هذا النحو عندما تم ادراج بند في الدستور قائلا ان "الدولة تحترم وتحمي حقوق الإنسان".

من هذه التطورات الأربعة ، وخلص القاضي شيويه أن حقوق الإنسان هي الآن مبدأ أساسي من مبادئ النظام القانوني الصيني. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن أبدا أن الدستور الصيني أن تطبق بشكل مباشر ، الهيئة التشريعية الصينية ، المؤتمر الشعبي الوطني (مجلس الشعب) ، يجب أن تصدر جميع القوانين التي تتعامل تحديدا مع حقوق الإنسان. وبالتالي ، يمكن إدراج الهيئة التشريعية الصينية في الأساس "وعلى الرغم من الدستور" في جملة التشريعات التي تخالف الدستور نفسه مباشرة. هذه الميزة يجعل من التطورات التشريعية الدستورية المذكورة أعلاه أقل بكثير مما كانت مرضية يكون قد تم وضعها في التشغيل الدستور باعتباره القانون الأعلى للبلاد.

التطورات الإدارية الصينية ، من ناحية أخرى ، يبدو أن حققت نتائج ملموسة أكثر من ذلك بكثير. في عام 1982 ، أصدرت الصين قانون بشأن الإجراءات المدنية ، والتي شكلت بداية لنظام القانون الإداري الصينية. قانون الإجراءات المدنية يسمح للمواطنين مقاضاة أجهزة الدولة. منذ اعتماد القانون ، وكانت هناك أكثر من 900،000 دعاوى ضد الدولة. وفقا للقاضي شيويه ، و 40 في المئة من هذه الدعاوى مع نهاية ولاية خسارة ، و 25 في المئة من نهاية تناسب مع الدولة دفع تعويضات. هذا النظام الإداري ينص على آلية لفضح عدم الكفاءة والفساد ، والذي بدوره يؤدي الى تشكيل حكومة وأكثر قدرة على تعزيز حقوق الإنسان لمواطنيها.

واستشهد القاضي شيويه أيضا زيادة في المشاركة في أنشطة الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان دليلا على أن الصين ملتزمة بحقوق الإنسان. على الرغم من تاريخها من استبعادهم من المجتمع الدولي ، صدقت الصين معظم المعاهدات والاتفاقيات الدولية ذات الصلة بحقوق الإنسان. بل هو دولة طرف في اتفاقية مناهضة الفساد ، وحتى بدأت في معاهدة حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. لضمان استمرار الامتثال لهذه الاتفاقات الدولية ، والصين تقدم تقارير منتظمة إلى هيئات الرصد.

من جميع المناطق التي ذكرها القاضي شيويه في محاضرتها حقوق الإنسان ، كانت أكثر انفتاحا بشأن أوجه القصور في نظام العدالة الجنائية الصينية. على الرغم من انها لاحظت ان الصين حققت تقدما كبيرا في هذا المجال ، وبخاصة ما يتصل على القانون الجنائي ، وعقوبة الإعدام ، واعترفت بأن نظام العدالة الجنائية "لا يزال لانتقادات في الداخل والخارج".

وجاء هذا التطور الإيجابية الأولى في نظام العدالة الجنائية الصيني في شكل التحديث من القانون الجنائي التي وقعت في عام 1997. استبدال تعديلات 1997 على قانون ممارسة "الجريمة عن طريق القياس" مع مبدأ أكثر من الوضعية لا عقوبة بلا نص ليج -- الفكرة القائلة بأن بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من خلال تحديث قانون ، و "من دون القانون ، لا توجد جريمة". تبنت الحكومة الصينية أفكار التناسب بين الجريمة والعقاب والمساواة أمام القانون والسعي لتجسيد هذين المبدأين في جميع أنحاء القانون الجنائي.

وبالمثل ، فإن التطورات المتعلقة بعقوبة الإعدام تشير إلى أن الحكومة الصينية تأخذ حقوق الإنسان في الاعتبار عند اتخاذ القوانين. في عام 2007 ، أقر مجلس الشعب مشروع قانون يقضي بأن يعاد النظر في جميع حالات عقوبة الإعدام من قبل المحكمة العليا ، والتقليل من عمليات الإعدام نأمل الخاطئة. في السنوات القليلة الماضية ، قد أزيلت جرائم ثلاثة عشر عضوا من قائمة الجرائم رأس المال ، ولقد تم إلغاء عقوبة الإعدام تماما للأشخاص فوق سن ال 75. وكانت هذه التطورات بمثابة استجابة مباشرة للتغيرات الرأي العام فيما يتعلق بحقوق الإنسان -- وهو الرأي الذي يجادل القاضي شيويه الحكومة الصينية يتم ضبطها بدقة عالية وسرعة الاستجابة.

ومع ذلك ، أنهى القاضي شيويه مناقشتها لعقوبة الاعدام مع الإحصائية ، والذي يدعو إلى التشكيك في طبيعة العلاقة بين الحكومة الصينية للرأي العام عندما قالت ان دراسة صينية وجدت أن 99 في المئة من سكان الصين كان ضد إلغاء عقوبة الإعدام. الإحصائية أن أكثر شبها الدعاية من المكتب السياسي من العلوم الاجتماعية السليمة ، كما أن هناك بعض المواقف السياسية التي من 99 ٪ من الناس في الاتفاق. قضية مثيرة للجدل مثل عقوبة الإعدام من غير المحتمل أن يكون واحدا منهم. نقلا عن هذه الإحصائية هي المرة الوحيدة التي كنت ، وكثير من زملائي في الأكاديمية الذين تحدثت إليهم ، شكك في صحة العرض القاضي شيويه ل.

أدلى القاضي شيويه هذه الإحصائية مشكوك جانبا ، وإجراء تقييم دقيق للاختلافات بين النهج الصيني والغربي لحقوق الإنسان ، وعرضت الانتقادات المشروعة للمنظور الغربي.

الموقر القاضي شيويه ما تعتبره الفرق بين النهجين الصيني والغربي لحقوق الإنسان عندما قالت ان الحكومة الصينية تعتقد أن "حقوق الإنسان ليست مبدأ السماوية ، ولكن مجموعة من السياسات الفعلية." في رأيها ، الغربية علاج لحقوق الإنسان هو أقرب إلى تشوبها أخطاء في كثير من الأحيان اقتباس نسبت زورا إلى ماري أنطوانيت خلال الثورة الفرنسية أنه "إذا كان [الفلاحون] ليس لديهم خبز ، والسماح لهم أكل الكعكة." وعلى الرغم من تحريف التاريخية ، والفكرة من وراء هذا الاقتباس هو أن الغرب ، وغير قادر على التعاطف مع واقع بلد من البلدان النامية ، ويدعو لإجراء تحسينات فورية في ما تعتبره حالة حقوق الإنسان أمر غير مقبول من جهل وموقف غير واقعي. انها ببساطة لا معنى لشرط الاعتراف الدولي على الإعمال الكامل لحقوق الإنسان أنه لا يوجد بلد حقق الكامل بجميع حقوق الإنسان لجميع مواطنيها. في الواقع ، فإن مثل هذه الإعمال الكامل حتى لا يكون ممكنا.

وقد أدى هذا الفهم الجوهري بين العالمين النامي والبلدان المتقدمة إلى ما شيويه القاضي صفها بأنها "تسييس" لحقوق الإنسان. ويتجلى هذا التسييس من حقيقة أنه ، في حين أن "قط أي بلد غربي عقوبات" من جانب الامم المتحدة عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان ، وقد تم طرح الاقتراحات eleven ضد الصين. قدم أحد عشر من صفر صدرت الاقتراحات ، مما يوحي ، وفقا للقاضي شيويه ، أن الاقتراحات جاءت نتيجة لضغوط سياسية داخلية.

جادل القاضي شيويه ان الدول الغربية الاعتراف بمشاركة الصين في مجال حقوق الإنسان ، لكنها تتبنى وجهة نظر غربية كما أن مضمون تلك المشاركة ، والنظر إلى الصين باعتبارها تحديا للقيم الغربية المهيمنة حتى الآن. هذا الموقف في الخاطئة ، تابعت ، لأن موقف الصين حول النسبية الثقافية ليست تحديا للقيم الغربية ، بل هو التأكيد على أن ما قد يكون مثاليا لثقافة واحدة وسوف تكون ناقصة بالنسبة للآخرين.

الصين ملتزمة المضي قدما في مجال حقوق الإنسان من خلال الالتزام في اتباع نهج متوازن بين حقوق الإنسان وواجباته في المجتمع ، والتأكيد على الظروف المحلية. الصين تؤكد حقها في تطوير في مجال حقوق الإنسان ، والتي تشمل الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية ، وإشراك جميع جوانب المجتمع الصيني. انها تصر على أن تفعل ذلك في الطريقة التي يعمل في سياق الثقافة الصينية والتاريخ. في ختام محاضرتها ، والقاضي شيويه ناشد جمهورها أن نضع في الاعتبار حقيقة أن يرتبط دون منازع للغاية على وضع معايير حقوق الإنسان لثروة الأمة. على هذا النحو ، لا يمكن للغرب أن نتوقع زيادة في حماية حقوق الإنسان في المستقبل.

آخر إلى تويتر

ترك الرد

@ View_From_Above

زيارة مركز الأنباء DJILP

المشاركات حسب التاريخ

أغسطس 2011
M T W T F S S
«يوليو
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
جامعة دنفر شتورم كلية القانون

Categorized | Jon Bellish, TVFA Posts

Chinese Perspectives Part 5: Human Rights

Protester in China

Protester in China

Like sustainable development, Chinese promotion of human rights is seen as both a cause and a process – one that should be pursued at all times, but with an incremental approach resulting in changes that will be slow in coming.  In the past three decades, China’s process of opening up has lifted 300 million people out of poverty.  This is as much a human rights achievement as it is an economic one.  China’s economic success combined with constitutional and administrative reforms, increased participation in UN human rights activities, and developments in the Chinese criminal justice system suggests that the nation is serious about making improvements to its human rights record.  However, China is adamant that its perspective is in some ways intractably different from that of the west with regards to human rights.

There are four principal constitutional developments that have taken place over the last two-and-a-half decades that have the potential to improve human rights in China.  First, a 1988 amendment to the Chinese constitution legitimizing the private economy resulted in an improvement in the humanitarian situation, at least for those able to take part in the subsequent economic expansion.  This development was bolstered in 1993, when the Chinese constitution was amended to formally endorse a market economy.  The third important constitutional change took place in 1999 when the rule of law was officially enshrined in the constitution.  Finally, in 2004, China expressly endorsed human rights as such when a provision was added to the constitution saying, “The state respects and protects human rights.”

From these four developments, Judge Xue concluded that human rights are now a fundamental principle of the Chinese legal system.  However, the Chinese constitution can never be applied directly; the Chinese legislature, the National People’s Congress (NPC), must promulgate all laws dealing specifically with rights.  Thus, the Chinese legislature can essentially insert a “Notwithstanding the constitution” clause into pieces of legislation that directly contravene the constitution itself.  This legislative feature makes the above-mentioned constitutional developments much less satisfying than they would be had they been contained in a constitution operating as the supreme law of the land.

Chinese administrative developments, on the other hand, seem to have produced much more concrete results.  In 1982, China passed its law on civil procedure, which marked the beginning of the Chinese administrative law regime.  The civil procedure law allowed citizens to sue state organs.  Since the adoption of the law, there have been over 900,000 suits against the state.  According to Judge Xue, 40 percent of these suits end with the state losing, and 25 percent of the suits end with the state paying damages.  This administrative system provides for a mechanism to expose inefficiency and corruption, which in turn leads to a government more able to further the human rights of its citizens.

Judge Xue also cited an increase in participation in United Nations human rights activities as evidence that China is committed to human rights.  Despite its history of being excluded from the international community, China has ratified most international treaties and conventions related to human rights.  It is a state party to the Convention Against Corruption and even initiated the Treaty on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.  To ensure continued compliance with these international agreements, China submits regular reports to monitoring bodies.

Of all the areas mentioned by Judge Xue in her lecture of human rights, she was most open about the shortcomings of the Chinese criminal justice system.  Though she noted that China has made substantial progress in this area, especially as it relates to the criminal code and capital punishment, she acknowledged that the criminal justice system “remains under criticism, both at home and abroad.”

The first positive development in the Chinese criminal justice system came in the form of the modernization of the Criminal Code that took place in 1997.  The 1997 amendments to the code replaced the practice of “crime by analogy” with the more positivist principle of nulla crimen sine lege – the notion that “without the law, there is no crime.”  Additionally, through the modernization of the code, the Chinese government embraced the ideas of proportionality between the crime and the punishment and equality before the law and sought to embody these two principles throughout the Criminal Code.

Similarly, developments related to capital punishment suggest that the Chinese government takes human rights into consideration when making laws.  In 2007, the NPC passed a law requiring all death penalty cases to be reviewed by the Supreme Court, hopefully minimizing erroneous executions.  In the last several years, thirteen crimes have been removed from the list of capital offenses, and capital punishment has been abolished altogether for persons over the age of 75.  These developments were a direct response to changes popular opinion with regards to human rights – an opinion to which Judge Xue would argue the Chinese government is finely tuned and highly responsive.

However, Judge Xue finished her discussion of capital punishment with a statistic, which calls into question the nature of the Chinese government’s relationship to public opinion when she stated that a Chinese study found that 99 percent of the Chinese population was against abolishing the death penalty.  That statistic more closely resembles propaganda from the politburo than sound social science, as there are few policy positions with which 99% of people are in agreement.  An issue as controversial as the death penalty is not likely to be one of them.  Citing this statistic marked the only time that I, and many of my colleagues at the Academy with whom I spoke, questioned the veracity of Judge Xue’s presentation.

This questionable statistic aside, Judge Xue made an accurate assessment of the differences between the Chinese and western approaches to human rights and offered a legitimate criticism of the western perspective.

Judge Xue distinguished what she sees as the difference between the Chinese and Western approaches to human rights when she said that the Chinese government believes that “human rights is not a heavenly principle, but an actual set of policies.”  In her view, the western treatment of human rights is akin to a frequently misstated quotation falsely attributed to Marie Antoinette during the French Revolution that “If [the peasants] have no bread, let them eat cake.”  Despite the historical misrepresentation, the idea behind the quote is that the west, unable to sympathize with the realities of a developing country, calls for instantaneous improvements in what it sees as an unacceptable human rights situation from an uninformed and unrealistic position.  It simply does not make sense to condition international recognition on full realization of human rights because no country has fully realized all human rights for all of its citizens.  Indeed, such a full realization may not even be possible.

This fundamental misunderstanding between the developing and developed worlds has led to what Judge Xue described as a “politicization” of human rights.  This politicization is evidenced by the fact that, while “no western country has ever been sanctioned” by the United Nations for human rights violations, eleven motions have been tabled against China.  Zero of the eleven tabled motions were passed, suggesting, according to Judge Xue, that the motions were the result of domestic political pressure.

Judge Xue argued that western countries recognize China’s participation in the field of human rights, but they take a western view as to the substance of that participation, seeing China as a challenge to heretofore-dominant western values.  This position in wrongheaded, she continued, because China’s position on cultural relativism is not a challenge to western values, but rather an assertion that what may be perfect for one culture will be imperfect for others.

China is committed to moving forward in the area of human rights by adhering to a balanced approach between human rights and duties to society and emphasizing local conditions.  China asserts its right to develop in the realm of human rights, which encompass economic, social, and cultural rights and involve all aspects of Chinese society.  It insists on doing so in a way that works in the context of Chinese culture and history.  In concluding her lecture, Judge Xue implored her audience to bear in mind the unchallenged fact that the development of human rights standards is highly correlated to the wealth of a nation.  As such, the west can expect an increase in human rights protection in the future.

 

One Response to “Chinese Perspectives Part 5: Human Rights”

  1. Vina says:

    Why does this have to be the ONLY rilealbe source? Oh well, gj!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors