This page has been translated from English

标签存档|“中东和平进程”

在房间里的粉色大象

在房间里的粉红大象

是什么使巴勒斯坦人的起义从其他阿拉伯革命的不同? 大卫·阿罗诺夫斯基,蒙大拿州的总法律顾问和法律和教育学院的兼职教师成员大学,在今年的萨顿座谈会问这个非常具有挑衅性的问题。 研讨会,接待了来自全国各地的不同群体的小组成员,来到一个相当不舒服的停顿。 一两分钟后,雷切尔VanLandingham中校指出保罗·威廉斯教授的领带(与粉红色的大象装饰),并宣布,“在这个房间里有一个粉红色的大象。”

粉红色的大象,当然是以色列。

以色列和美国有着亲密的关系。 自1985年以来,美国已提供了近3亿元美元的赠款,每年向以色列 以色列在联合国安理会也享有广泛的保护美国的否决权,以及威胁削减财政支持,以任何卫星的联合国机构,考虑巴勒斯坦建国的思想,认为美国的权力。

The pink elephant in the room

在房间里的粉色大象

这种亲密的大部分联邦法律编纂。 继巴勒斯坦最近加入到联合国教育,科学及文化组织(教科文组织),例如, 奥巴马政府立即停止支付超过该机构的资金总额的五分之一 (高达60万美元)。 为什么呢? 因为根据第103次会议于1994年在美国国会通过立法,禁止美国承认巴勒斯坦解放组织(巴解组织)的成员国地位,任何联合国机构提供资金。 行政强制执行的法律,因为在这种情况下,巴解组织主席阿巴斯提交教科文组织承认巴勒斯坦的原始请求。

为什么联邦法律挑出巴解组织,特别是从国际上的认可呢? 可能源于一个事实,即巴解组织被视为恐怖组织 ,直到1994年的奥斯陆协定“由美国国务院的异化。 国会非常好,可能是决定除名巴解组织为恐怖组织,但仍想以确保它永远不会得到国际承认巴勒斯坦建国的形式。 有趣的是,内塔尼亚胡的利库德集团也有恐怖主义的根源。 这些根辨认的是伊尔根组织,这是一个准军事组织负责臭名昭著的大卫王酒店轰炸年在英国巴勒斯坦任务。

奥巴马总统已经不那么热衷于尊重其他联邦和宪法法律,但是。 这包括在利比亚西部的参与。 可以说,在利比亚最近在北约入侵美国的干预,但“战争权力决议案和限制总统的行政权力的宪法规定禁止。 利比亚是巴勒斯坦人,因为他们没有自己的以色列对付不同。 但奥巴马总统有权力执行联邦法律的樱桃挑?

假设,arguendo, 是一个单纯的军事游览1973年通过决议,支持 ,那么,美国否决安理会决议,迫使以色列遵守国际法成为美国在利比亚的干预 奥巴马总统,在一定程度上澄清了这一立场在他3月份的地址的国家对美国在利比亚的干预。 他澄清说,美国的责任,以保护(“R2P”)是在她的国家利益的队伍 随后,他讨论了中东的民主的重要性。

看来,奥巴马总统声称,海外的民主国家是美国的国家利益,无论是在思想和安全方面。 这种说法的作品,现在,以配合其效忠以色列有始有终。 毕竟,许多PEG效忠以色列,以色列是中东唯一的民主的概念。

或者是它吗?

继成功地在突尼斯,埃及和利比亚的革命,它看来,以色列是块的民主不是唯一的孩子了。

此外, 以色列似乎要朝相反的方向:一个崛起的阿拉伯-以色列的人口 ,并在约旦河西岸和加沙正在成为不可持续的存在 ,以色列是快速接近的地步将不得不选择是一个合法的民主或一个犹太国家。

奥巴马总统的亲民主的立场是否也意味着,突尼斯人,埃及人,利比亚也将享受类似的外国援助和安理会保护包? 如果他们这样做,是什么让突尼斯人,埃及人,利比亚千差万别比对以色列人的巴勒斯坦人,他们反对在自己的人民和他们的普世权利的支持暴力吗?

国际法院本身对以色列的义务明确的国际法,同样,在1973年决议所采取的立场。 也许法院的文告中最著名的是在其2004年对以色列的西方银行墙,其中法院指出的合法性的咨询意见:“ 以色列是绑定到其义务遵守,以尊重巴勒斯坦人民的权利自决和根据国际人道主义法和国际人权义务。 “毫不奇怪,沙龙的反应吵翻拒绝遵守。

东西肯定是在这个责任不对劲,以保护奥巴马总统提出的学说。 不过,现在比以往任何时候都更重要的是,美国采取的粉红色大象的照顾,才变成白色的。

发表玛哈·卡迈勒 ,的TVFA文章 评论(0)

来源:福克斯新闻,洛杉矶时报,华盛顿邮报“

新闻邮报:以色列继续定居点建设

Sources: Fox News, LA Times, Washington Post

来源:福克斯新闻,洛杉矶时报,华盛顿邮报“

自1967年以来, 耶路撒冷一直是以色列和巴勒斯坦之间有争议的领土的一部分。 以色列占领的城市和吞并该地区,以巩固其控制的圣城。 尽管以色列吞并耶路撒冷不被国际承认的以色列领土或声称未来巴勒斯坦的首都。 9月27日,以色列批准建立1100吉洛,在东耶路撒冷的犹太飞地的房屋发展计划。 批准了一周后,巴勒斯坦寻求在联合国会员国的申办。 建设计划达到1不仅来自巴勒斯坦不赞成放弃,但也从中东“四方” -美国,联合国,欧盟,俄罗斯

巴勒斯坦的联合国会员国上周的出价之后,四方呼吁以色列和巴勒斯坦恢复和谈,在三年内首次。 四方设置了两个交战国之间的谈判结束日期2012年 奥巴马政府已不断不赞成巴勒斯坦申办为联合国会员国,国务卿希拉里·罗德姆·克林顿最近发表声明,争的是,以色列批准在东耶路撒冷等房屋单位“ 适得其反致力恢复双方之间的直接谈判。“奥巴马政府是以色列宣布的发展计划“ 深感失望 “。

联合国和欧盟批评的发展计划。 理查德·米龙,在联合国特别协调员在中东东和平进程的发言人,指出,拟议发展“发送,在这个敏感时刻错误的信号。”欧盟的外交政策,行政,凯瑟琳·阿什顿,也发出1声明,以色列的决定“应该是逆转。“中东四方呼吁这两个国家之间的和平解决,但巴勒斯坦方面要求以色列所有的建设为了立即停止任何两国恢复和谈。 巴勒斯坦首席谈判代表埃雷卡特呼吁以色列开发项目“1100没有,是恢复和谈。”

以色列拒绝另一个建设冻结巴勒斯坦的请求后,它没有去年。 以色列总理本雅明·内塔尼亚胡淡化的决定,并认为“[W] E建立在耶路撒冷。 期间 ,以色列政府以同样的方式已经做了多年,自1967年战争结束。 我们建立在犹太居民区 阿拉伯人在阿拉伯居民区建立。 这是这个城市的生活去上和其犹太和非犹太居民的发展一样。“以色列还从1来看后勤点保卫建设,声称,耶路撒冷的” 住房危机 “已经取得的新建筑1必要性。 此次扩建将包括政府大楼,一所学校和一个工业园区

不顾以色列目前的建设计划的赞同联合国安理会1515号决议于2003年的“路线图” 。 “路线图“构成1解决以色列-巴勒斯坦冲突的谈判框架。”许多认为,以色列在东耶路撒冷的计划住房的发展会破坏和平谈判作为中的同意后,路线图,并因此将概述违反国际法通过以色列与巴勒斯坦条约 联合国代表理查德·米龙说: “[S] ettlement活动是”路线图“和国际法的违反和破坏恢复谈判,并达成两个国家的解决冲突的前景 。“尽管以色列可能有新的住房的正当理由在东耶路撒冷的单位,其建议的建设不符合许多国际机构的批准,并计划将面临批评前进。 以色列似乎要坚定不移地在其建设计划,将继续建设,尽管从国际社会的抵制。

DJILP员工 ,的TVFA文章 评论(0)


丹佛大学斯特姆学院法学

文章日期

2012年5月
中号 ţ W ţ F 小号 小号
«四月
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31

@ View_From_Above

资源
访问DJILP新闻

Tag Archive | "Middle East peace process"

The pink elephant in the room

The Pink Elephant in the Room

What makes a Palestinian intifada different from other Arab revolutions?  David Aronofsky, University of Montana General Counsel and adjunct faculty member in the Schools of Law and Education, asked this very provocative question during this year’s Sutton Colloquium. The Colloquium, which hosted a diverse group of panelists from around the country, came to a rather uncomfortable pause. After a minute or two, Lt. Colonel Rachel VanLandingham pointed to Professor Paul Williams’ tie (adorned with pink elephants) and announced, “There’s a pink elephant in this room.”

The pink elephant, of course, was Israel.

Israel and the United States share an intimate relationship. Since 1985, the United States has provided nearly $3 billion in grants annually to Israel.  Israel also enjoys widespread protection by the United States’ veto in the U.N Security Council, as well as the power America holds by threatening cuts in financial support to any satellite U.N agency that contemplates the thought of Palestinian statehood.

The pink elephant in the room

The pink elephant in the room

Much of this intimacy is codified in federal law. Following Palestine’s recent admission into the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), for example, the Obama administration immediately halted payment of more than one-fifth of the agency’s total funding (a whopping $60 million).  Why? Because according to legislation passed during the 103rd meeting of Congress in 1994, the United States is prohibited from funding any U.N. agency that recognizes the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) as being of the same standing as member states.  The administration enforced the law in this instance because Mahmoud Abbas, current chairman of the PLO, submitted the original request for UNESCO’s recognition of Palestine.

Why does federal law single out the PLO specifically from international recognition? The alienation may stem from the fact that the PLO used to be considered a terrorist organization by the U.S. State Department until the Oslo Accords in 1994.  Congress very well may have decided to de-list the PLO as a terrorist organization but still wanted to ensure that it would never gain international recognition in the form of the Palestinian statehood. Interestingly enough, Benjamin Netanyahu’s Likud party also has terrorist roots. Most recognizable of these roots is the Irgun, a paramilitary organization that was responsible for the infamous King David hotel bombing during the years of the British-Palestinian mandate.

President Obama has not been so keen to respect other federal and constitutional laws, however. This includes Western involvement in Libya. Arguably, American intervention in the recent NATO incursion in Libya was all but prohibited by the War Powers Resolution and constitutional provisions restricting the executive power of the president. Libyans are different from Palestinians in that they do not have their own Israel to deal with. But does President Obama have the authority to cherry pick which federal laws to enforce?

Assuming, arguendo, that American intervention in Libya was a mere military excursion supported by Resolution 1973, what, then, becomes of the U.S.-vetoed Security Council resolutions forcing Israel to comply with international law?  President Obama, to an extent, clarified this stance in his March address to the nation on U.S. intervention in Libya. He clarified that America’s responsibility to protect (“R2P”) is contingent upon her national interest.  He subsequently discussed the importance of democracy in the Middle East.

It appears that President Obama was asserting that democracy abroad is of national interest to the U.S., both in terms of ideology and security. This assertion works, for now, to tie the loose ends with its allegiance to Israel. After all, many peg the allegiance to Israel with the notion that Israel is the only democracy in the Middle East.

Or is it?

Following the successful revolutions in Tunisia, Egypt, and Libya, it appears that Israel is not the sole democratic kid on the block anymore.

Moreover, Israel seems to be heading in the opposite direction: with a rising Arab-Israeli population, and what is becoming an unsustainable presence in the West Bank and Gaza, Israel is fast-approaching the point where it will have to choose between being a legitimate democracy or a Jewish state.

Does President Obama’s pro-democracy stance also mean that Tunisians, Egyptians, and Libyans will also enjoy similar packages of foreign aid and Security Council protection? And if they do, what makes Tunisians, Egyptians, and Libyans so vastly different in their opposition to violence directed at their own people and their support of universal rights, than the Palestinians against the Israelis?

The International Court of Justice has made itself clear on Israel’s obligations to international law, a stance similarly taken in Resolution 1973. Perhaps the most famous of the Court’s proclamations is in its 2004 Advisory Opinion on the legality of Israel’s West Bank wall, where the Court stated: “Israel is bound to comply with its obligation to respect the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination  and its obligations under  international humanitarian  law and international human rights.”  Not surprisingly, Ariel Sharon reacted furiously and refused to comply.

Something is definitely amiss in this responsibility to protect doctrine that President Obama proposed. Nevertheless, it is more important now than ever that the United States take care of the pink elephant before it turns white.

Posted in 1TVFA Posts, 2Featured Articles, Maha KamalComments (0)

Sources: Fox News, LA Times, Washington Post

News Post: Israel Continues Settlement Building

Sources: Fox News, LA Times, Washington Post

Sources: Fox News, LA Times, Washington Post

Since 1967, Jerusalem has been part of the disputed territory between Israel and Palestine.  Israel captured the city and annexed the area to solidify its control of the holy city. Despite Israel’s annexation, Jerusalem has not been internationally recognized as Israeli territory or as the claimed future capital of Palestine. On September 27, Israel approved plans to build 1,100 housing developments in Gilo, a Jewish enclave in east Jerusalem.  The approval came the week after Palestine sought a bid for membership in the United Nations. The construction plans met a waive of disapproval, not only from Palestine, but also from the Mideast “quartet” – the United States, United Nations, European Union, and Russia.

Following Palestine’s bid for UN membership last week, the quartet called for Israel and Palestine to resume peace talks for the first time in over three years. The quartet set a negotiation date between the two belligerent states for the end of 2012.  The Obama Administration has continually disapproved of Palestine’s bid for UN membership, and Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton recently released a statement contending that Israel’s approval of such housing units in East Jerusalem is “counterproductive to our efforts to resume direct negotiations between the parties.” The Obama Administration was “deeply disappointed” by Israel’s announcement of the development plans.

The United Nations and European Union have also criticized the development plans. Richard Miron, the spokesman for UN special coordinator for the Middle East peace process, stated that the proposed development “sends the wrong signal at this sensitive time.” EU’s foreign policy chief, Catherine Ashton, also issued a statement that Israel’s decision “should be reversed.” The Mideast quartet has called for peace settlements between the two states, however Palestine has demanded that all of Israel’s construction immediately halt in order for any peace talks to resume between the two countries. Saeb Erekat, the chief Palestinian negotiator, calls Israel’s development project “1,100 no’s to the resumption of peace talks.”

Israel refuses another construction freeze, which it did last year after Palestine’s pleas. Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu downplayed the decision and argued that “[w]e build in Jerusalem. Period, the same way Israeli governments have been doing for years, since the end of the 1967 war. We build in Jewish neighborhoods. The Arabs build in Arab neighborhoods. That is the way the life of this city goes on and develops for its Jewish and non-Jewish residents alike.” Israel has also defended the construction from a logistical point of view, asserting that Jerusalem’s “housing crunch” has made the new construction a necessity. The expansion will include government buildings, a school and an industrial park.

Israel’s current construction plans disregard to the “Roadmap” endorsed by the UN Security Council in resolution 1515 in 2003. The Roadmap “constitutes a negotiating framework for the resolution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.” Many argue that Israel’s planned housing developments in east Jerusalem would undermine peace talks as outlined in the agreed upon Roadmap and therefore would violate international law via Israel’s treaty with Palestine. UN representative Richard Miron stated that “[s]ettlement activity is contrary to the Roadmap and to international law and undermines the prospect of resuming negotiations and reaching a two-state solution to the conflict.” While Israel may have valid reasons for its new housing units in east Jerusalem, its proposed construction has not met the approval of many international authorities and its plans will be faced with criticism going forward. Israel appears to be steadfast in its construction plans and will continue to build despite resistance from the international community.

Posted in 1TVFA Posts, DJILP StaffComments (0)


University of Denver Sturm College of Law

Posts by Date

December 2018
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Resources