This page has been translated from English

标签存档|“海洋法”

盗版势头不减

盗版势头不减

Somali Piracy

索马里海盗

全球海盗袭击和日益严重的威胁,国际航运的激增确实惊人。 国际海事局(IMB),国际商会的一个独立兵种,海盗和海上抢劫事件,在2010年达到445,较2009年的400,而在2008年有293攻击的报告。盗版举报中心2007年和2006年分别为中和263和239。 在2011年的第一个五年内有过这类事件273 - 几乎比2010年多50%。 所有劫机事件在2010年的92%,在索马里海岸。

海盗的全球经济成本估计在7-12元之间的每年30亿,到2010年12月由一个地球“未来基金会”的报告。 该报告发现,向索马里海盗支付赎金,从2005年的平均15万美元在2010年增加了540万美元。 海盗杀害了几名人质,未支付赎金被。

国际社会已对这种盗版日益严重的威胁,特别是在亚丁湾和索马里海域,进行海上作战,北约,欧盟的协调下,和以美国为首的一个联盟,除了几个国家经营自己。 有人曾建议武装船员,但是这并没有得到船公司的青睐,也许这是比较可行的使用私人保安公司,是在某些情况下进行。 尽管所有这些努力,盗版的祸害,继续向国际社会是一项重大挑战。 最主要的原因是,索马里是一个失败的国家,它拥有非洲最长的海岸线,跨越3,025英里,而在于它的地理位置旁边关键的航线,连接红海和印度洋。

盗版构成违反国际法的行为,被认为是公海航行的所有国家构成威胁的犯罪。 美国诉史密斯 ,司法故事,在一个1820美国最高法院的判例,法院的书面声明说:“有是几乎没有一个国家法律,谁不暗示,作为一个结算和确定性质的犯罪盗版的作家。 “因此,普遍管辖原则适用于侵权盗版行为。 根据这项原则,任何国家在其国内法院起诉的侵权盗版行为,不论这些行为发生的地方,无论肇事者是谁。 因此,一个国家可以依靠这一原则,抓住并起诉在公海从事盗版的索马里海盗。 然而,大多数国家都定期发布捕捉他们,因为他们试图在本国法院有关的问题后,海盗 - 费用,缺乏足够的证据,并担心庇护海盗“部分的索赔。

一些国家的法院起诉海盗已经开始。 肯尼亚已进入欧盟,美国,英国,中国,和其他几个国家的若干协议,代为保管,并在本国法院起诉海盗。 塞舌尔也已在本国法院起诉海盗嫌疑人。 此外,在2010年11月下旬,弗吉尼亚联邦地方法院被裁定联邦盗版收费5索马里海盗。 ,也有一些欧洲法院认为审判索马里海盗。 在这些法院中,荷兰已率先。

除了国际习惯法,这两个条约是相关的,一个国家可以逮捕和起诉海盗在本国法庭。 该公约是联合国海洋法公约“(”海洋法公约“)和联合国制止反对(SUA)的海上航行安全非法行为公约”,“。 “联合国海洋法公约”呼吁所有国家合作,以镇压在公海或任何国家管辖范围以外的任何其他地方的犯罪的最大范围内,以打击盗版,虽然只军舰,军用船舶,或其他工艺品政府服务允许抢占他们。

1992年制止危及海上航行安全非法行为目前有150个缔约国,目的是解决在公海的暴力和恐怖主义的担忧。 虽然它没有明确取缔盗版,根据制止危及海上航行安全非法行为的罪行是,如果一个人心甘情愿地以武力或恐吓夺取控制船舶的一部分,使用暴力对个人,对影响船舶安全船舶,或损害的船舶在这样一种方式,它影响船舶的航行安全。 企图在这些海盗的行动,协助或教唆海盗,或威胁犯强盗行为也包括在内。 “制止危及海上航行安全非法行为公约”的规定,以确保刑事起诉在位于其境内的罪犯的状态,即使是不愿或不能起诉,引渡罪犯。 此外,国际海洋法法庭也可能提供补救盗版审判的论坛。

联合国安理会根据“宪章”第七章采取行动,已通过若干决议,自2008年以来,以打击海盗和海上武装抢劫。 它已授权会员国采取即使在索马里领海打击海盗行动,并呼吁各国和区域组织部署海军舰艇,武器和军用飞机,扣押和处置在这些罪行委员会中使用的船只和设备。 它还呼吁各国根据其国内法“的行为定为刑事罪行的盗版行为,并积极考虑起诉和监禁海盗嫌疑人。

目前还没有一个索马里在索马里或在另一个区域应用索马里法律的国家的领土坐在法庭的可能性。 请问下“联合国宪章”第七章安全委员会是可行的成立一个地区法庭或国际法庭? 建立这样一个国际司法机构所面临的挑战是巨大的,但它是值得认真考虑这种可能性。

-

VED南大是约翰埃文斯特聘教授,丹佛大学;汤普森G.马什教授法律和董事,国际法律研究计划,丹佛斯特姆法学院大学

在发表TVFA帖子VED南大 评论(2)

索马里海盗的人力成本

索马里海盗的人力成本

The Human Cost of Piracy

人力成本的盗版

海员面对日益增加的暴力,他们过境亚丁湾,阿拉伯海,印度洋,但它们具有有限的法律保护或在海上对他们犯下的罪行的追索权。 海盗关闭非洲之角的复苏在2007年以来,数以百计的船只被劫持,成千上万的海员以寻求获得丰厚的赎金的索马里人被劫持为人质。 在我们的分析, 索马里海盗的人力成本,我们发现了被索马里海盗对海员的暴力行为不断升级,但很少被公开测量和记录这些罪行。

海洋是由多个利益相关者与分歧,甚至相互矛盾的利益。 船上或船舶对所犯的罪行是受船旗国法律,但是一些船旗国可能没有能力或政治意愿,通过检察机关和执法,充分保障海员。 此外,发生在公海的活动,不属于任何一个国家的司法管辖权;法律保护的海洋,那些对他们的工作,因此需要一个合法的国际法律框架,伴随着国内实施国际义务。

国际海事法的存在根据联合国海洋法公约“(”海洋法公约“)和为制止对航海(SUA),这两者都广泛批准的安全非法行为公约”。 根据“海洋法公约”,各国有责任合作,通过积极的措施打击盗版活动,并制止危及海上航行安全非法行为,需要各方引渡或提交起诉的罪犯其主管当局。 相结合,出现这些公约要求各国起诉海盗。 尽管这表面上强大的起诉海盗的法律制度,少数国家实际上已经这样做了。 因此,有没有有效的法律威慑盗版,离开海盗免费提交海上犯罪,几乎没有拘留的危险。
为了充分了解被索马里海盗所犯下的罪行,这些行动的成本海员,我们量化的攻击或者被劫持为人质的海员总数。 我们的研究结果表明,在2010年的过程中:

  • 4185海员枪支和火箭筒袭击
  • 342海员在加强安全室避难(“城堡”),当海盗登船,从它们由海军部队救出
  • 1090海员被劫持为人质,平均5个月的俘虏举行
  • 516海员被用作人体盾牌
  • 多达488海员遭到虐待或酷刑

盗版的成本是高的海员。 即使在“不成功”的攻击,海盗未能劫持船只的情况下,海员仍然暴露武器开火和炸药的直接目的是在其工作地点。 如果海盗船上,船员可能能够在一个城堡的住房;然而,这,太,是一个危险和创伤性经验,其中船员等待救援少则数小时到数天,而海盗试图暴力迫使他们在里面。 如果海盗成功捕获的船舶,船员都违背自己的意愿举行个月结束,在这期间,他们面临着来自身体和心理暴力的海盗,获得食物和水,自己的命运的不确定性,和死亡的风险有限。

由于安德鲁,美国助理国务卿夏皮罗,明确在2011年3月发表了讲话,“攻击是更无情,更猛烈,更广泛的范围。 人质已被折磨和用作人体盾牌。“不过,官方数据仅在初始事件,无论是攻击,登机,或劫持。 这有限的海盗活动分类低估海员面临的危险和创伤,限制了他们的苦难的描述,“劫持”。

限制保护海员的一个障碍是缺乏一个单一的,可靠的消息来源通知海员和如何对待海员在圈养其他人,并广泛滥用的战术如何在各类盗版团伙。 海员应该知道过境盗版水域时,他们面临的风险程度。 在一个海员的MV UBT的海洋,被海盗四个多月举行,在此期间,机组人员被据说遭受酷刑和虐待的话,“所有的海员必须充分认识到这种危险和风险,在穿越印度海洋。“虽然开源的新闻报道和采访提供足够的信息来确定滥用或用作人体盾牌的海员的大致数量,也没有办法独立核实,如果这些数字代表的真实程度的滥用。 我们的研究明确指出,滥用的是惊人共同的,但缺乏更全面的报告,防止被理解的真实成本。

发展与盗版的受害者的国际协定和加强保护的可靠遵守,是特别困难的,因为航运业是按国籍分散在各个层面。 船东,船舶管理,船旗国,货主和机组人员可能全部来自不同的国家。 例如,在2010年被劫持为人质的海员来自至少30个不同国家,其中大部分是发展中国家。 作为这个伟大的多样性,其中许多不同的行动者和利益相关者承担监测和保护海员的责任,没有一个国家或集团被追究责任。 最终的结果是,作为一个整体的海员,没有一个中央的,可靠的组织法律保护。

在发表一个地球的未来TVFA 评论(1)


@ View_From_Above

访问DJILP新闻

职位日期

2011年9月
中号 T W T F 小号 小号
«八月
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30
在丹佛斯特姆法学院大学

Tag Archive | "law of the sea"

Putting political convenience aside, pirates are simply not terrorists

While running through my piracy news roundup yesterday morning, I came across this piece by Robert Young Pelton of Somalia Report. In it, Pelton criticizes a report by Australia’s Lowy Institute that deals with the use of privately contracted armed security personnel (PCASP).

I took particular interest in a small tangent within Pelton’s piece that reflects an incorrect sentiment that I have seen repeated many times by non-attorneys (and even by some attorneys): that modern pirates should be considered terrorists.

As Pelton’s Somalia Report piece primarily concerns PCASP, the terrorism issue is only mentioned in a passing parenthetical:

“Pirates are criminals, (never terrorists because that would prevent the payment of ransoms) so it makes sense that a direct response by putting armed guards on ships was the most logical and so far, the most effective response to the pirate attacks.”

From this statement, I gather that Mr. Pelton is of the view that a key reason that the global anti-terrorism network has not been brought to bear against Somali pirates is that such an arrangement would force states to “negotiate with terrorists” once the pirates have seized the vessel and taken hostages. He appears to lament this fact. A similar view has been expressed by former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations John Bolton and others who argue that relaxed rules concerning due process and state sovereignty as they are applied to terrorists would make the piracy fight a much easier one to win.

Are they terrorists? Certainly not.
(EUNAVFOR)

The oft-expressed desire to equate pirates with terrorists likely stems from several superficial similarities between the two groups. First, as Ambassador Bolton points out, “the same crippling evidentiary and procedural constraints” apply to both terrorists and pirates. Also, both groups consist of non-state actors operating in a truly international fashion to the detriment of the broader international community. Finally, both groups tend to base their operations in the Middle East/North Africa region.

Yet international law is clear as to the respective motives necessary to make one a terrorist or a pirate, and the facts on the ground suggest that, no matter how convenient it may be from a policy standpoint, pirates are not terrorists.

Judge Antonio Cassese, presiding over the Appeals Chamber at Special Tribunal for Lebanon, announced last year that a definition of terrorism has emerged under customary international law. Included in this definition is the requirement that the terrorist has “the intent to spread fear among the population (which would generally entail the creation of public danger) or directly or indirectly coerce a national or international authority to take some action, or to refrain from taking it.”

Conversely, it is well-documented that, although piratical intent is not limited to the desire to rob, for an act to be considered piratical, it must be committed for private ends. This requirement is explicitly laid out in UNCLOS art. 101, as well as its predecessor, 1958 Geneva Convention on the High Seas.

A terrorist’s intent must be to incite mass fear or coerce a government, both purely political motives; a pirate’s motive is strictly limited to making money.

In a smart piece on piracy-law.com couching this definitional issue in terms of a potential defense available to alleged pirates, Roger Phillips rightly notes that, although in theory it is possible to have both political and pecuniary motives, the political motive appears absent in Somali pirates, who choose not to attack well-protected ships or kill hostages simply because it would be less profitable to do so. It seems like a stretch to argue that the pirates’ modus operandi of attacking a privately-owned ship in the middle of the ocean is somehow carried out in order to coerce a government or frighten the public at large by placing them in danger.

Though Roger covered it thoroughly, this definitional point bears repeating because the terrorist theme has gained so much traction in non-legal commentary on the issue of maritime piracy. As tempting as it is to “talk tough” about pirates and the international community’s response to piracy by evoking the specter of terrorism, there is very little merit to the claim that the two terms can, at least presently, be used interchangeably to describe Somali pirates or their West African counterparts.

Respect for the rule of law – apart from being perennial advice given by developed countries to countries like Somalia – requires taking the law as it is written (or trying to change it through legitimate processes) rather than molding it to fit one’s immediate policy preferences. Unless evidence of pirates taking a less profitable course in favor of a strategy with large political payoff emerges – or the definitions of piracy and/or terrorism change – the “pirates as terrorists” slogan will continue to be just that – a slogan.

Jon Bellish is a Project Officer at the Oceans Beyond Piracy project in Boulder, Colorado (though all of his views are his own), and he has experience in United States piracy trials. He just got on Twitter.

Posted in Jon Bellish, TVFA PostsComments (0)

Somali Piracy

Piracy Continues Unabated

Somali Piracy

Somali Piracy

The surge of piracy attacks worldwide and their increasing threat to international shipping are indeed alarming.  The Piracy Reporting Center of the International Maritime Bureau (IMB), an independent arm of the International Chamber of Commerce, reports that incidents of piracy and robbery at sea reached 445 in 2010, compared with 400 in 2009, while there were 293 attacks in 2008, and 263 and 239 for the years 2007 and 2006, respectively.  In the first five months of 2011 there have been 273 such incidents — almost 50 percent more than in 2010.  92 percent of all hijackings in 2010 were off the coast of Somalia.

The global economic cost of maritime piracy is estimated at between $7-12 billion per year, according to a December 2010 report by the One Earth Future Foundation.  The report found that the ransoms paid to Somali pirates had increased from an average of $150,000 in 2005 to $5.4 million in 2010.  Pirates have killed several hostages when ransoms were not paid.

The international community has responded to this growing threat of piracy, especially in the Gulf of Aden and off the Somali coast, by undertaking naval operations, coordinated by NATO, the EU, and a coalition led by the United States, in addition to several countries operating on their own.  It has been suggested to arm crew members, but this has not won favor from the shipping companies; perhaps it is more feasible to use private security companies, as is being done in some cases.  Notwithstanding all these efforts, the scourge of piracy continues to be a major challenge to the international community.  The major reason is that Somalia is a failed state, it has Africa’s longest coastline, spanning 3,025 miles, and its geographical location lies next to key shipping routes connecting the Red Sea and Indian Ocean.

Piracy constitutes a violation of international law, a crime that is considered a threat to all nations navigating the open seas.  In an 1820 US Supreme Court case, US v. Smith, Justice Story, writing for the Court, declared that “there is scarcely a writer on the law of nations who does not allude to piracy as a crime of a settled and determinate nature.”  Consequently the principle of universal jurisdiction applies to acts of piracy.  Under this principle, any nation may prosecute acts of piracy in its domestic court, no matter where these acts occurred and no matter who the perpetrator is.  Accordingly, a nation could rely on this principle to seize and prosecute Somali pirates engaged in piracy on the high seas.  However, most countries have routinely released the pirates after capturing them because of the problems associated with trying them in their own national courts — expense, lack of adequate evidence, and the feared claim of asylum on the pirates’ part.

Some national courts have begun prosecuting pirates.  Kenya has entered into several agreements with the European Union, the United States, the United Kingdom, China, and several other countries, to take custody of and prosecute pirates in its courts.  Seychelles has also been prosecuting suspected pirates in its national court.  Also, in late November 2010, the Virginia Federal District Court convicted five Somali pirates on federal piracy charges.  Some European courts, too, have considered trying Somali pirates.  Among these courts, the Dutch have taken the lead.

In addition to customary international law, two treaties are pertinent, under which a state could arrest and prosecute pirates in their national courts.  The conventions are the United Nations Law of the Sea Convention (UNCLOS) and the United Nations Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts against the Safety of Maritime Navigation (SUA).  UNCLOS calls upon all states to combat piracy by cooperating to the fullest extent in repressing this crime on the high seas or any other place outside the jurisdiction of any state, although only warships, military ships, or other crafts of government service are permitted to seize them.

The 1992 SUA currently has 150 state parties and is aimed at addressing concerns about violence and terrorism on the high seas.  Although it does not expressly outlaw piracy, an offense under SUA is committed if a person willingly takes part in seizing control of a ship by force or intimidation, uses violence against an individual on a ship affecting the safety of a ship, or damages a ship in such a way that it affects the ship’s safe navigation.  Attempts at these piratical actions, aiding or abetting a pirate, or threatening to commit piratical acts are also included.  The SUA Convention provides for extradition of offenders to ensure that a criminal is prosecuted even though the state in whose territory the offender is located is unwilling or unable to prosecute.  In addition, the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea may also provide a remedy as a forum for a piracy trial.

The United Nations Security Council, acting under Chapter VII, has adopted several resolutions since 2008 to counter piracy and armed robbery at sea.  It has authorized member states to take action against pirates even in Somalia’s territorial waters and has called upon states and regional organizations to deploy naval vessels, arms and military aircraft and seize and dispose of vessels and equipment used in the commission of these crimes.  It has also called on states to criminalize piracy under their domestic laws, and to favorably consider prosecuting and imprisoning suspected pirates.

There is currently no possibility of a Somali court sitting in Somalia or in the territory of another regional state applying Somali law.  Could a regional tribunal or an international tribunal established by the Security Council under Chapter VII of the UN Charter be feasible?  The challenges of creating such an international judicial body are enormous, but it is worthwhile seriously considering this possibility.

Ved Nanda is the John Evans Distinguished University Professor, University of Denver; Thompson G. Marsh Professor of Law and Director, International Legal Studies Program, University of Denver Sturm College of Law

Posted in TVFA Posts, Ved NandaComments (3)

The Human Cost of Piracy

The Human Cost of Somali Piracy

The Human Cost of Piracy

The Human Cost of Piracy

Seafarers face increasing violence as they transit the Gulf of Aden, the Arabian Sea, and the Indian Ocean, but they have limited legal protection or recourse from the crimes committed against them at sea. Since the resurgence of maritime piracy off the Horn of Africa in 2007, hundreds of vessels have been hijacked and thousands of seafarers taken hostage by Somalis seeking to secure lucrative ransom payments. In our analysis of the human cost of Somali piracy, we found that violence against seafarers by Somali pirates is escalating, but little is being done to openly measure and document these crimes.

 

Oceans are used by multiple stakeholders with divergent and sometimes conflicting interests. Crimes committed aboard or against vessels are subject to the laws of the flag state, however some flag states may not have the capacity or the political will to fully protect seafarers through prosecution and law enforcement. Furthermore, activities occurring on the high seas fall outside the jurisdiction of any single nation; legal protection for the oceans and those who work on them therefore require a legitimate international legal framework accompanied by domestic implementation of international obligations.

International maritime law exists under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) and the Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts against the Safety of Maritime Navigation (SUA), both of which are broadly ratified. Under UNCLOS, states have a duty to cooperate through active measures against piracy, and SUA requires parties to extradite or submit offenders to their competent authorities for prosecution. In combination, these conventions appear to require states to prosecute pirates. Despite this ostensibly robust legal regime for prosecuting pirates, few nations have actually done so. As a result, there is no effective legal deterrence to piracy, leaving pirates free to commit crimes at sea with little to no risk of detention.
In order to understand the full extent of the crimes committed by Somali pirates and the cost of those actions to seafarers, we quantified the total number of seafarers attacked or taken hostage. Our study’s findings indicate that during the course of 2010:

  • 4,185 seafarers were attacked with firearms and rocket propelled grenades
  • 342 seafarers took refuge in a reinforced security room (“citadel”) when pirates boarded, from which they were rescued by naval forces
  • 1,090 seafarers were taken hostage and held captive for an average of five months
  • 516 seafarers were used as human shields
  • As many as 488 seafarers were subjected to abuse or torture

The cost of piracy is high for seafarers. Even in the case of an “unsuccessful” attack where pirates are not able to hijack the vessel, seafarers are still exposed to weapon fire and explosives aimed directly at their place of work. If pirates board a vessel, the crew may be able to take shelter in a citadel; however, this, too, is a dangerous and traumatic experience in which the crew awaits rescue for anywhere from hours to days while pirates try to violently force their way inside. If pirates successfully capture a ship, seafarers are held against their will for months on end during which time they face physical and psychological violence from the pirates, limited access to food and water, uncertainty about their fate, and risk of death.

As Andrew Shapiro, US Assistant Secretary of State, made clear in a speech in March of 2011, “the attacks are more ruthless, more violent, and wider ranging. Hostages have been tortured and used as human shields.” However, official data is only available on the initial incident, whether it is an attack, boarding, or hijacking. This limited categorization of pirate activities undervalues the dangers and trauma faced by seafarers by limiting the description of their ordeal to “hijacking.”

One obstacle that restricts the protection of seafarers is the lack of a single, reliable source to inform seafarers and others of how seafarers are treated during captivity, and how widespread abusive tactics are amongst the various pirate gangs. Seafarers deserve to know the full extent of the risks they face when transiting pirated waters. In the words of a seafarer from the MV UBT Ocean, which was held by pirates for more than four months, during which time crewmembers were reportedly tortured and abused, “all the seafarers must be fully aware of this danger and risk in crossing the Indian Ocean.” While open source news stories and interviews provided enough information to determine the approximate number of seafarers abused or used as human shields, there is no way to independently verify if these figures represent the true extent of the abuse. Our study makes clear that the abuse is alarmingly common, but the lack of more comprehensive reporting prevents the true cost from being understood.

Developing reliable compliance with international agreements and increased protection for the victims of piracy is especially difficult because the maritime industry is fragmented by nationality at every level. Ship owner, ship manager, flag state, cargo owner, and crewmembers may all come from different countries. For example, seafarers taken hostage in 2010 came from at least 30 different countries, the majority of which were developing nations. As a result of this great diversity wherein many different actors and stakeholders bear responsibility for monitoring and protecting seafarers, no single country or group is held accountable. The end result is that seafarers as a whole do not have a central, reliable organization to turn to for legal protection.

Posted in One Earth Future, TVFA PostsComments (2)


University of Denver Sturm College of Law

@View_From_Above

Resources
Visit the DJILP Newsroom

Posts by Date

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Translator

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

TVFA Contributors